We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb”

The Britannia Inn & Waves Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 24 Restaurants in Par
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$32
Cuisines: Seafood, Pub, Grill
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Superb”
Reviewed 24 March 2014

VERY busy for a Thursday lunchtime but the service and food could not be faulted. Have visited several times in the last couple of years and this was the busiest I have seen it. Ordered for five, at the bar, food of excellent quality (and choice) served piping hot within ten minutes. Very highly recommended in my humble opinion. Will be visiting again.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 156747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

609 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    338
    197
    45
    20
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
st.austell
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“enjoyable evening for everyone!”
Reviewed 15 March 2014

The waves restaurant was the booking of choice for my husbands birthday, the atmosphere was just right and the staff couldn't have been more helpful. The food was beautifully cooked to everyones liking and reasonably priced too! We had a really lovely evening and will be going back for mothers day lunch,without a doubt.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wells26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Average.”
Reviewed 13 March 2014

Average. Could be better. Wish you could have real chips not frozen as it is a busy restaurant and real chips are not really expensive and make such a difference. I work in a fish and chip shop and can tell the difference. We don't eat out very often and expect a good meal but are often disappointed by the basics.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BritanniaManagement, Manager at The Britannia Inn & Waves Restaurant, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Thank you for providing us with your review. We are sorry that our chips were not to your liking and we take your point on board. Unfortunately it would not be financially viable to prepare our own chips all year round due to the massively high volume that we serve. We serve between 75-150 kilo's of chips per day (seasonal) and we just wouldn't be able to afford the labour costs to prepare these nor have the facility or space to store them either. Thanks once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Austell, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The Brit”
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Good quality food and very accommodating, I have eaten here on several occasions and have never had anything but a 1st class experience, very clean dining areas, happy helpful staff loads of parking excellent children's outside play area, but what you want the most is good tasty food and it has it.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SteveRS2K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Bones in a curry style sauce?”
Reviewed 8 March 2014

never had chicken drum sticks and other parts of a chicken attached to bones in the sauce hardly any butternut squash or rice, the steak was terrible fat laden sinewy and incorrectly prepared, asked for a blue steak and dint get it....definitely not worth the £30 spent and the Doom Bar pint was watery.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Meia5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Britannia Inn & Waves Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The Britannia Inn & Waves Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing