We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Family Weekend Break” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Britannia Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Britannia Inn
Ranked #3 of 18 Par B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
london
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Family Weekend Break”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

This Hotel has excellent accommodation and very friendly staff. It only has a small number of rooms but they are well equipped , newly decorated and we were well looked after. Breakfast was excellent. Excellent place for a short break

Room Tip: Carlyon Room is a good family room - sleeps 4 comfortably
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CraigS0106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    22
    5
    5
    0
See reviews for
26
50
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
162 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2013

This hotel is well located for visiting the many West Country sites (Such as Eden Project, Heligan etc). It is by far the best quality quality place we have ever stayed in in England and on a par with the quality places at the same price we have stayed in in Southern Germany. Excellent value for money with recently furnished rooms to a very high standard. The restaurants serve good restaurant and or pub food at good pub prices. Friendly helpful service from all the staff. All in all very hard to fault, we were not disappointed as we so often are with places we have stayed in this country!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SOGofBrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights, whilst visiting The Eden Project and The Lost Gardens of Heligan. Very convenient for both and for visiting beautiful Fowey. Our room was large, comfortable, very clean and well appointed. Serice in the bar and at breakfast was very friendly and portions of food were enormous ! Great value and great location, we were very pleased with our stay.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Greenie54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2013

We can only agree with all the previous reviews, thanks to these we booked for two nights and we were not disappointed. We were made most welcome by friendly, knowledgeable staff, here customer care is paramount and we felt as though we had been here weeks the way we were always greeted.
Book with confidence, book a table to eat in as the food is excellent and generous.
Very good value for money. Would stay again and would recommend.

Room Tip: Carlyon spacious room with large double bed, plus quality single with pop-up single beneath. Shower...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights with my husband in the Pridmouth room. The room was immaculate and well looked after and very comfortable. We ate in the lounge bar and the meal was very delicious, good menu and the specials also very good. The staff were friendly and provided great service, really enjoyed the stay. The Britannia is a great location for exploring Fowey, Mevagissey and the Eden Project. We both will be returning again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank duesouth2345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2012

i chose to stay at the britannia because my school reunion was being held there and i'm very pleased i did.the hotel was beautiful the room and ensuite absolutely immaculate,very spacious very clean and extremely comfortable.the meals were wonderful and to start the day with breakfast in the cosy lounge bar was great.the staff were very friendly,always had a smile and nothing was too much trouble for them.this was the first time i travelled back to cornwall on my own since my husband's recent passing and i felt very safe there as secrurity in the hotel was excellent.i will be stay there again any time i return to cornwall thats for sure.

Room Tip: i think any room would be a good room,they have all recently been refurbished so i believe and they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pauline B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Braunton, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2012

booked via a latebooking website. Impressed with the 4* hotel. Absolutely immaculate - I would most definitely recommend a stay.
We visited the Eden Projuect for the day and wanted somewhere near to stay overnight , and The Britannia is literally just around the corner - 5 minutes drive!! Perfect! When we pulled up I was a bit unsure of the position, right on a very busy road , and not being used to traffic thought it would mean a sleepless night . Perfect night's sleep was had by all 3 of us , the sofa bed was comfortable too!
The evening meal in the lounge bar was delicious as was the beer and wine! A nice choice for breakfast. My only complaint was the coffee at breakfast - couldn't drink it!
Someone else commented on the air freshners in the room - we had to turn it off, a bit sickly! And if we were staying longer we would've had to sort the heating out , turn it down, it was too warm.
These are simply little things that are personal preferences and nothing wrong with the hotel!
The staff were very polite , friendly and very obliging!!

Room Tip: All rooms are immaculate! But choose rooms away from road!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sally A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Par
2.8 mi away
The Cornwall Hotel Spa and Estate
0.7 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,412 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Pier House Hotel
The Pier House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Charlestown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Premier Inn St. Austell Hotel
0.2 mi away
Boscundle Manor Hotel Restaurant and Spa
2.3 mi away
The White Hart
The White Hart
#5 of 9 in St Austell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Britannia Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Britannia Inn

Property: The Britannia Inn
Address: St. Austell Road, Par, St Austell PL24 2SL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Austell > Par
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Par
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Britannia Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Britannia and its friendly team continue to welcome all visitors from young to the young at heart since 1982! Easy to find and favourably located Freehouse, family owned & established for 30 years featuring Waves restaurant, spacious and relaxed dining area including carvery (new 2012), 5 stylish and comfortable en suite guest rooms (new 2012), traditional lounge bar with original 16th century fireplaces, modern main bar with great selection of real ales & fine wines also providing televised sports and scheduled live entertainment. Bar snacks, great pub favourites and a la carte menu provides every dining choice preferred. Our function suite offers private and spacious refinement for meetings, seminars, weddings, birthdays and large party bookings. Outside boasts a large free car park with good disabled access, beautifully kept secure and sheltered beer garden, various patio dining areas and a large children's play area. An all year round heated and covered smoking area is available as is an outside bar and BBQ in the summer months. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Book Direct Rooms, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your The Britannia Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Britannia Inn Par, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing