We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Britannia Inn
Nearby Hotels
US$204
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$173
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Carlyon Bay(St Austell)
US$214
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$247
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn St. Austell Hotel(St Austell)(Great Value!)
US$87
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The White Hart(St Austell)
US$187
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$60
Travelodge
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Fowey Hall(Fowey)
US$254
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$182
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$213
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$191
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$182
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (113)
Filter reviews
113 results
Traveller rating
73
25
9
6
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
73
25
9
6
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslounge bareden projectlot of traffic noisefantastic showerlovely foodbeer gardenan ideal locationstayed here for one nightfollowing morningwould stay againbeautiful roommain roadfish and chipsan evening mealb bswarm welcomesuite
Filter
Updating list...
73 - 78 of 113 reviews
Reviewed 19 October 2013

We found the eating experience in the Lounge bar a little odd as it felt that we had gone back in time. However, the food portions were large and quite pleasant regarding taste. Drinks were expensive for such an ordinary venue.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Stanley74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013

We travelled down to Cornwall my husband and I for an anniversary weekend. We hadn't booked any accommodation and found the Britannia inn through late rooms. It cost us £100 per night we phoned the Inn to see if we could get a better price booking directly but later rooms was cheaper. When we arrived we were welcome to our room which turned out to be top deck Suite one. This suite had only been recently built and therefore standard of the room was stunning. Large shower, Comfy bed And spotlessly clean. There was noise coming from the road outside the hotel but generally only rush hour from 8am so didn't bother me!! first night we had dinner in waves restaurant. I heard the Cornish brie and husband had the pâté. We both had the steak mushroom and ale pie with big chunky chips Which was very tasty and good value for money. The breakfast wasn't the best didn't particularly like sausages but plenty of choice! The service there was good! they are particularly attentive in Waves and bar staff rarely kept you waiting! We went to Eden Project Which was 10 minute drive away so location for that was perfect! Genuinely thought we had a good little place for reasonable money and at only 30 mins notice! Would definitely stay here again!!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natalie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013

The Britannia Inn was a lovely stay for us. The room was of a high spec, and all of the the staff were friendly and lovely! We also found this to be a great location 5 mins drive from various ports and bays, the Eden project and only 40 mins drive for Padstow. The breakfasts were lovely, as well as the food served in the restaurant. We really enjoyed our stay here and would stay again, However something we were not aware of until we got there was the fact on our first night there would be a live band playing in the pub from 9pm - 11pm. Whilst it was good we were informed upon arrival, it did feel like the band were playing in our room. Therefore I would recommend checking if any bands are playing before you book your stay if this is something that would bother you.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelly P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013

Was supposed to stay at the Britannia Inn for three nights which turned into two as we couldn't wait to get out of the place. In fairness the decoration of the room was good quality and clean, but it lacked character and comfort. Although aware that the Inn was situated next to a road, for the £100 a night king size room that we stayed in, I wasn't expecting our ''luxury room'' to be overlooking a busy road. The room upon arrival had a strange smell, that was masked with a plug in air freshener. The various WiFi connections provided didn't work on our laptop which was a shame as it meant we couldn't find out more about the local area.

Little details were forgotten when our room was cleaned like fresh water and coffee, you also had to state whether you wanted your room cleaned which for a £100 a night should be mandatory in my opinion. The first member of staff we spoke to was moody and requested me to pay the balance before seeing the room or making sure it was up to my expectations. Personally I prefer to pay the bill upon leaving as standard in most BnB's.

Bottom line perhaps I should of been wiser before booking an ''Inn'' but if the price had been halved then I probably wouldn't be complaining. Price does not reflect the type of stay you get.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank TWager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013

We took a mid-week break in Cornwall with two good friends and stayed at The Britannia Inn, Par between 27/8 and 30/8. The hotel was lovely, the rooms were spacious and spotless, well equipped and extremely comfortable. The staff were friendly and polite, and no request was too much trouble for them. Breakfast was hearty and delicious, and our waitress always made us feel welcome and relaxed. The Britannia Inn is well situated for days out, but a taxi is needed to get to the nearest town for evening dining. Having said that we ate in their restaurant twice, and the food and value were exemplary. They welcome families too, and are most definitely a gem of a find, and we will most certainly be going back.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews