We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Return to Britannia Inn, Par Cornwall, still same high standards”
Review of The Britannia Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Britannia Inn
Ranked #3 of 16 Par B&B and Inns
Reviewed 25 August 2014

We first stayed at this hotel back in August 2012 and we wrote a review on Trip advisor dated 23rd of August 2012 page 5 of these reviews titled " Family weekend away" (please read) and I have to say it most certainly did not disappoint a 2nd time.

Still the same high standards the rooms, the food, the staff and cleanliness.

In our previous review we said that we would stay longer next time and we DID and everything we said in our previous review still stands.

Full English breakfast is more than enough to last you till dinner in the evening. We have two teenage boys and anyone who has two teenage children knows how much and how often they go through food and it was enough to satisfy them till then. One caution of advice if you want dinner in the evening PRE-BOOK you have been warned, they are very busy and get fully booked fairly quickly probably due to the fact the dinner menu is really good.

Reasonably priced beer ! especially when your used to paying over 4 quid a pint, so paying £3.55 for a pint Tribute at the Britannia Inn isn't so bad after all. Ok understand that NOT everyone is an ale drinker but still cheaper than paying Surrey bar /pub prices.

All members of staff very, very friendly, very accommodating and provide exceptional service to make the stay more enjoyable than it already is.

Everything is so central. Eden project less than 5mins away, Perranporth 50 mins, St Mawes 50 mins away, Pandora Inn 50 mins away.

Needless to say we are already planning to go back next year round the same time and again for longer again.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (109)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 109 reviews

Reviewed 24 August 2014

This is a perfect base for visiting the Eden Project and the surrounding area. We stayed in the Carolyn room which was clean, bright &,spacious, and very well presented. This room is at the front of the hotel but we did not find any problem at all with noise from the main road.

There was a good choice for breakfast and we had dinner in the restaurant which was thoroughly enjoyed.

The staff were very friendly right from my first telephone call when booking, to arriving and being taken to our room, service in the bar and restaurant and checking out.

Cannot fault this hotel at all and would thoroughly recommend it. It's a perfect location to explore the surrounding area then return here in the evening to great food and a very comfortable room.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank EvS64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

My partner and I stayed in this hotel for two nights, when we first arrived we were greeted with friendly staff and a calm atmsophere in the general restaraunt/bar area. The rooms are up flights of stairs and depending on which floor you're in carrying up heavy bags/suitcases could potentially be a nightmare so we opted to leave our bags in the car and just bring up essentials to save back ache. When we entered the room it was absolutely NOTHING like the pictures we had seen on the website.. the room was A LOT smaller and a lot darker than the pictures had shown. The tv was small which wouldn't normally be an issue, however, my partner had to wedge in a wad of tissues behind the back of it so as to get signal as the cables had frayed from what we assumed to be poor positioning on the wall! Despite this we soldiered on and just accepted the room for what it was considering it was handy positioning in regards to the Eden Project which was a plus. One of the nights when we returned to the hotel we realised that all the rooms were accessible to the general public minus the Suite rooms as the staircase which leads to the toilets for the diners/bar also leads to the majority of the rooms. We were aware that the door leading to that staircase was shut after 11:30pm but that's still not a lot of security. We did however eat in the hotel one of the nights and had a really good meal... The food and staff were good but the room and set up of the hotel was less than adequate. For the money we paid we were extremely disappointed and felt it just wasn't worth the money for what it actually was. It's a good place to stay if you're inbetween journeys but I wouldn't recommend it if you're looking to stay there longer than a night.

Room Tip: Search up on photos of the rooms to make sure they actually ARE what they look like.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lomauk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

When we arrived and saw it was a pub, my head said that we had made a huge mistake.

We were shown our room and my heart knew that we had made the right decision. The room was big, light and homey. It was clean and tidy. The beds, double for us and two separate singles for our boys instead of a sofa bed were very comfy. The Inn is based just outside of St Austell but we found it very central to most tourist locations.
Our beds and bathroom was cleaned daily and brilliantly done. The bed had little scatter cushions which were a lovely touch. The restaurant served wonderful tasty food and it was served hot and quickly. We will be visiting again next year and I would recommend The Britania Inn to everyone who likes a goo d bargain and a home from home feel when on holiday.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank smileyjo718
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

The Britannia Inn looks like a pub from the outside and we were wondering if we had made a mistake, especially as this was a family stay. We had nothing to worry about, the room that we stayed in was large, spotlessly clean, and very well appointed. Felt more like a grown up hotel in London than a B&B in deepest Cornwall. Both our children had proper beds (rather than a lumpy horrid sofa bed) to sleep in which was lovely and we felt looked after from the moment we arrived. Yes, the room did face a road that was busy, but we honestly did not notice it, plus you didn't have to open the double glazed windows as there was air conditioning in the room as well. We were warned that there were couple of functions taking place on the night of our arrival, once again honestly didn't notice it at all.

The staff were helpful and friendly even when they were busy, and the service was always quick. The room cleaning was excellent and completely unobtrusive.

The location makes this place an ideal base for all of Cornwall with most attractions no more that an hour and a half away, with the Eden Project right on the doorstep.

The breakfasts were of very good quality, although portion sizes do oddly vary from day to day, and although we only ate one evening meal at the Britannia that too was good.

As a B&B you will no doubt find cheaper alternatives, however if you want somewhere that has a luxury feel, is very relaxing, and central to everywhere in Cornwall, I would recommend the Britannia Inn every time. We are already planning our return for next year.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
Thank Jim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

We wanted to stay near the Eden Project and the Lost Gardens of Heligan and 'The Brit' fitted very well. There are only seven rooms, all newly furnished etc, very comfortable and well appointed. The food is great - very generous helpings and plenty of choice. If you intend to eat there make sure that you book a table as it does get very busy. The staff are all very friendly and helpful and it also looked to be a very family friendly place. We will definitely return as there is plenty to explore in the area and the Brit is a great base for doing just that.

Room Tip: Book early!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trish D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Myself and my wife stayed here last night and I feel compelled to write a review as soon as I have arrived home. This was our second stay at The Britannia, and it didn't fail to live up to the extremely high standards set by our first stay. The only downfall was that we didn't have time to eat in the fabulous Waves Restaurant this time as we were attending a wedding at the local Carlyon Bay Hotel. Everything was perfect, from arrival/check in, to check out. We were made to feel extremely welcome by the manager Phil and his family. We were lucky enough to stay in the master suite on the top deck, a real treat with the exposed wooden beams in a luxurious light and airy room which is very spacious with lots of well thought out additions, such as the sofa, complimentary goodies, and beautifully equipped ensuite. There is even an additional sitting room and outside roof decking area exclusive for the top deck guests. The cooked English breakfast was lovely and the service in the restaurant matched. We would definitely recommend a stay here short or long, and we look forward to our next visit to the area so that we can stay again! Thank you once again Phil and all of your team!

Room Tip: Go the little extra for the master suite on the top deck!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marcoandclaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Par
2.8 mi away
The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate
0.7 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
1,630 reviews
2 mi away
Premier Inn St. Austell Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Boscundle Manor Hotel Restaurant and Spa
2.3 mi away
The White Hart
The White Hart
#3 of 9 in St Austell
398 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Pier House Hotel
The Pier House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Charlestown
532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Britannia Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Britannia Inn

Address: St. Austell Road, Par, St Austell PL24 2SL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Austell > Par
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Par
Price Range: £78 - £136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Britannia Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Britannia and its friendly team continue to welcome all visitors from young to the young at heart since 1982! Easy to find and favourably located Freehouse, family owned & established for 30 years featuring Waves restaurant, spacious and relaxed dining area including carvery (new 2012), 5 stylish and comfortable en suite guest rooms (new 2012), traditional lounge bar with original 16th century fireplaces, modern main bar with great selection of real ales & fine wines also providing televised sports and scheduled live entertainment. Bar snacks, great pub favourites and a la carte menu provides every dining choice preferred. Our function suite offers private and spacious refinement for meetings, seminars, weddings, birthdays and large party bookings. Outside boasts a large free car park with good disabled access, beautifully kept secure and sheltered beer garden, various patio dining areas and a large children's play area. An all year round heated and covered smoking area is available as is an outside bar and BBQ in the summer months. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Book Direct Rooms and Ebookers so you can book your The Britannia Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Britannia Inn Par, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing