We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely part of the world”
Review of The Royal Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Royal Inn
Ranked #2 of 17 Par B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bangor
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely part of the world”
Reviewed 1 September 2014 via mobile

Had an overnight stay recently wish we could have stayed longer, rooms very spacious, good value, pleasantly surprised, food excellent , staff very friendly and efficient , would definitely stay again, community bar area where you get a feel for the locals great atmosphere, loved it :))

Stayed September 2014
Helpful?
Thank Carolmayst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    155
    84
    22
    1
    4
See reviews for
43
138
14
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2014

Booked this hotel because it was close to the Eden Project and had 4 AA star symbol. On arrival I was not too sure of the initial impression but I soon discovered a warm and friendly welcome. The room was on the 1st floor and in excellent condition. There are ground floor rooms available if you have any mobility needs. The restaurant had a very good choice of meals available and the service was perfect, the quality of the food and the size of portions were very good.

Room Tip: If you have any mobility needs ask for ground floor room which are identical to the ones above but y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
essex
Level Contributor
50 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2014

this has to be the best well run pub we have stayed in also one of the cheapest i have only praise for the staff everything ran like a well oiled machine room was beautiful lovely bed en suite was large and clean food was delicious served quickly and hot we were very impressed and would recommend this pub to all as a great stopover for visiting some of the lovely surrounding gardens country houses and beaches

Room Tip: all rooms are currently being upgraded so will be even better
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank buster099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2014

ordered a steak and ale pie and a mixed grill the food was served excellent and looked yummy
however when we ordered we asked for no extra salt on our food as we both have high blood pressure after we made this comment the waiter asked us to re choose our meals all the salt had been added in the meal already my wife had to leave half the meal as it was to salty to continue
the food would most probably of been excellent if very little salt was added as we requested but the royal seem to have little difficulty understanding about customers needs

Room Tip: ok if you like salty food
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tracy k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Midlands
Level Contributor
78 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2014 via mobile

This was my fourth visit in as many years, but this time it was as a family on holiday, rather than while working. Had a Superior Room at the side of the Inn, very quiet, extra space with a sofa, large bed, good sized bathroom with bath and shower. Ideal location for travelling by train (Par station over the road), and for touring South East Cornwall. Only 5 minutes from Par Sands Beach. As always food was something to look forward to, both the breakfast and Evening Meals - cooked to order, worth waiting for - very tasty and filling, and inexpensive. Helpful staff in both restaurant and bar. We just missed the start of the Pub Quiz (held on Wednesday), and there is a Poker Night and live band during the week. Would happily stay again if in the area.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank GWRTSSY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

What a fantastic stay. The room was large and clean with all the facilities you would want. I have never stayed at a hotel or guest house where all the staff were cheery and so eager to go that extra mile. The standard of the food was exceptional and the restaurant menu is very well priced. So long as you have a car this is an exceptional holiday destination.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We stayed here because we wanted to visit the gardens of Cornwall and thought it would be a good base. The room was ok although the shower was very weak, but the bed was comfortable and it was a fairly quiet room on the side overlooking the car park. We ate in the pub the first night and had the fish and chips which was very good indeed, the fish was fresh and the chips were home made. Unfortunately the same cannot be said about the second time we ate there, we both had the stroganoff which seemed to take an age to be served but it looked nice when it eventually arrived but there was something missing, the meat! each strip was mainly fat and when we informed the waitress all we got was a cursory "sorry" needlessly to say we ate elsewhere after that. As a real ale fan I was disappointed with the beers on offer, just three and all were weak and they were not what I would class as true real ales, the bar itself lacked atmosphere but unfortunately there was no other pub or restaurant in the vicinity. The staff did what was necessary but did not go out of there way to make the stay memorable.
Overall a bad choice for us.

Room Tip: Side rooms overlooking the car park are quieter especially when live music is being played in the ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank holidaymad8449
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Par
4.2 mi away
Travelodge St Austell Hotel
4.1 mi away
The White Hart
The White Hart
#5 of 9 in St Austell
362 reviews
4.6 mi away
The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Boscundle Manor Hotel Restaurant and Spa
2.1 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
1,517 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Old Quay House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Inn

Property: The Royal Inn
Address: 66 Eastcliffe Road, Par, St Austell PL24 2AJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Austell > Par
Amenities:
Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Par
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Royal Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Royal Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Inn Par, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing