We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous weekend break.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Trenython Manor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Trenython Manor
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Par
Certificate of Excellence
Seaton, Devon
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fabulous weekend break.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2013

We stopped off for 2 nights at this hotel in October 2013 on the way back from a break in north Cornwall and it was the perfect end to our holiday! The decoration and setting of the hotel was gorgeous we had a sea view from our room and there were walks and countryside around as well. The rooms themselves were a good size with comfortable beds, good facilities, lovely furniture (wardrobes etc) large en - suite and tv and DVD player was an added bonus. We stayed on a Saturday night and the hotel put on entertainment in the main bar area which was a great laugh. The staff were nice and helpful. The character to this hotel made it all the more interesting. The only thing that could have made our visit better is the fact that we found the room at times unbearably hot even with the window open, the heating was turned up. Would definitely visit again though as I loved the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yasminee-Leighh39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

554 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    234
    185
    84
    28
    23
See reviews for
146
302
4
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013 via mobile

The view from our Cabin was breath taking. The peacefulness, the privacy, the beauty of it all. Worth the price we paid, defenately coming back and revcommend. Cabin was clean and full equipped with movie surround sound, 2 amazing bath tubs. Thank you for a lovely 4 days.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Catarina N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawlish, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2013

We came for a two night relaxing stay. We had booked Dinner, room and breakfast for the 1st night then just room and breakfast for the second night - and were glad we did!
Our welcome was lovely, although it isnt clear where to park your car. Scaffolding across the front of the hotel - no mention of this when we booked. Receptionist very friendly and kind, showed us to our lovely room on the second floor - no mention of lift - but we didnt mind. Our room was spacious and well furnished. DVD player was a bonus as we realised we werent close to local pubs without a car ride.
Light on the wall in the bathroom wasnt working and wasnt fixed during our stay. Lovely shower gel and very powerful shower!
We booked Dinner for 8.15pm, after borrowing a DVD from the massive library in reception. We were shown to our table straight away, I already had a drink but my partner didnt and we were only asked if we wanted water! Had to ask for the wine list. A little while later we ordered our starter and main courses. Lovely selection of bread rolls offered shortly after. Noticed another table waiting for food - they were offered bread rolls as their main course came! Another table got them after they had started their starters! Our starters were fine - not amazing. Main course was served promptly, waitress asked if we wanted any sauces - we said no, my partner started to say he would like a glass of wine - he was ignored - so never got any! Tried catching someones eye but no joy - werent table checked at all so didnt get a chance to say anything.
We were too full for dessert and asked if we could take it up to our room for later (as we can order takeaway we thought this would be ok) were told no. Shame as we had paid for 3 courses we would have liked it!
Our bed was massive - very comfortable, plenty of pillows, slightly loud noises the morning after we arrived plumbing and what sounded like someone on the roof!
We walked through the woodlands on the path the hotel have done - very nice walk although more signs are needed throughout the walk, not just the beginning and end! Nice to see the childrens vegetable patch and giant rabbits in the grounds.
The swimming pool area was lovely, sauna not quite hot enough, but everything else was lovely - just shocked that you have to go out side to get there - given robes and towels in the room - wouldnt have wanted to go downstairs to find out you have to go outside to go!
Breakfast was nice - shame everything is in steam holders - soggy hash browns, nice selection of cereals - could have done with freshly cut fruit.
All in all a lovely stay - would stay again - but on a room and breakfast basis.

Room Tip: Rooms on the corners of the building are larger
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Smg3916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2013

This is a lovely place, well furnished and the perfect getaway location. Good food and clean rooms, some of which are a bit quirky but it's a characterful old house noit a chain hotel.

I have to comment on the attitude of James in the restaurant: we were early for breakfast one morning - completely our mistake - but being shouted at by a waiter isn't acceptable. Poorly considered reactions towards guests undo all the hard work of everyone else who works at a location because all guests remember is the negative.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank The_curious_limper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon UK
Level Contributor
69 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013

Checked in easily , car parking space next to our cottage, wonderfully clean, nice size and well equipped kitchen .
Good sized bedroom and nice lounge.
Good swimming pool and spa , didn't use any of the hotel facilities except we borrowed some DVDs
We looked at the premium lodges and they were fantastic , we have booked one for an early Christmas break .
Reception staff were very helpful .

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank denise m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcsatle upon tyne
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013

Looking to find somewhere good to stay in the area of the Eden Project in Devon, we hit uponTrenython Manor. This large estate of a Victorian Manor (the hotel) and several well sited chalets to rent, proved to be just that. Our large, well equipped room on the first floor, in this lovely old house was excellent. Eating in the panelled restaurant was an experience to savour combining an excellent choice, in a great room, with attentive service. In addtion there was an great Bar and lounge area in which to read and relax with - or without - a glass of wine and with food if required.

Research your route ( if no satnav ) as it is situated out in the countryside and probably hard to find after dark. (We arrived in early afternoon and were able to check in straight away.) However once there comfortable ambience is the name of the game. The staff everywhere we went were very friendly and helpful. Plenty of walks in the well kept grounds including a childrens play area.

As to the Eden Project - the hotel has detailed instructions for the short if slightly complicated journey...there and back - a great day out, quite amazing!

We took advantage of an Eden Projects Break package which helped us with hotel choice, admission charges and discounts at Eden.

Go for it!
I and K

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CLCWorld, Guest Relations Manager at Trenython Manor, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. We do believe that the Manor is rich in both architecture and history and I was delighted to see that you enjoyed your dining experience for food, service and surroundings. I have passed on your kind comments to our staff - it is always much appreciated when our guests remark on the team’s hard work and friendliness. We have very good links with the Eden Project, which offers a fascinating day out and is easily reached from the hotel.

Resort Manager, Trenython Manor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
reading
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013 via mobile

My sister and I stayed for 3 nights in October this year and we had the most amazing stay. The hotel is beautiful and the staff were fantastic. They were so kind, helpful and happy people it made our stay extra special. Our room was gorgeous, it was the one in their pictures that is decorated in green with the sea view. It was a very comfortable room, and very comfortable beds with lovely plush duvets. The bathroom was great with high water pressure making running a bath super quick, and shower great, but be careful not to wet the floor. The buffet breakfast was the best with a great selection and everything perfectly cooked, and also great quality produce. And the evening meals in the restaurant were delicious with a great selection to choose from, and the servings were very generous so you definitely get your money's worth in quality and quantity. We looked forward to our meal every evening and was never disappointed. The grounds were lovely and made for enjoyable walks, and we noticed they had plenty for kids to do too. All in all we had a wonderful stay and can't fault the hotel at all. The only concern we had was if you were going with the emphasis on your stay being a spa break then in our opinion you would be disappointed. My sisters treatments were definitely not worth the money and left her very disappointed, though the girls were lovely, she felt they we're let down by the lack of equipment. But in every other respects the hotel experience was 10/10 and would highly recommend a stay there.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank greentraveller66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Par
3.3 mi away
Boscundle Manor Hotel Restaurant and Spa
3.3 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,486 reviews
5.9 mi away
The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
The Fowey Hotel
The Fowey Hotel
#3 of 3 in Fowey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,291 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Old Quay House Hotel
4.1 mi away
The Pier House Hotel
The Pier House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Charlestown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trenython Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trenython Manor

Property: Trenython Manor
Address: Tywardreath | Near Fowey, Par, St Austell PL24 2TS, England (Formerly Trenython Manor Hotel & SPA)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Austell > Par
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Par
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Trenython Manor 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in beautiful landscaped grounds overlooking St. Austell Bay, Trenython Manor has earned the reputation of being one of the premier locations on the Cornish Riviera for fine dining, luxurious accommodation and total relaxation. The elegant manor house itself has tremendous character, featuring many exquisite Italian details, particularly in the magnificent entrance hall. Tastefully renovated to the highest standards, the resort skilfully combines Italian architecture with English charm to offer an oasis of tranquillity and a truly unique holiday experience.The extensive range of on-site facilities includes a fully equipped gymnasium, sauna and indoor swimming pool, while the treatment rooms offer the ultimate in relaxation and rejuvenation, specialising in Elemis spa-therapy face and body treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Trenython Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trenython Manor Hotel And Spa
Trenython Manor Par, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing