We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Trenython Manor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Trenython Manor
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Par
Certificate of Excellence
Trowbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We are a family of 5 and we stayed in one of the lodges in the hotel grounds in April 2014. Overall, we were very impressed. The location is quiet and peaceful, and the manor house is fabulous with a really interesting history, connected with the unification of Italy in the 1800's. The lodge was perfect for us, rooms were spacious and clean and you could park alongside the lodge. We used the manor house for an evening meal and the restaurant was excellent, great service and good food. The view from the terrace is superb, overlooking the bay in the distance.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank glyncoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

554 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    234
    185
    84
    28
    23
See reviews for
146
302
4
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sheerness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014

Having travelled 6 hours from east Kent to get to Trenython Manor we had a great reception with complementary glasses of champayne.We were allocated lodge 302 which is one of the 2 lodges with a hot tub on the patio(also 301). The lodge was well decorated in a comtemporary decor, a double bedroom with bathroom next door with a whirlpool bath and seperate shower, a twin room with ensuite bathroom with shower over a large bath, and ,a large sofa bed, the kitchen was well equipped with dishwasher, washer/dryer(dryer part was useless), microwave and all the usual utensils. The dining area had a large 8 seater table and chairs.The base was great to get to different places and we went to Flambards theme park and to Pendennis Castle and had great times there.Trenython Manor was nice and quiet, with a kids club, woodland walk,large rabbit enclosurse, play area. It had a swimming pool, jacuzzi ,steam room and sauna.There were board games to use and free use of an extensive dvd library.
The only negatives were the sofa bed was a bit uncomfortable when used as a sofa and no wifi in the lodge(manor house only).

Room Tip: go for lodges 301 or 302 which has the tot tub on the patio
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chrissilver123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Wirral, UK
Level Contributor
198 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 399 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

We recently visited Trenython via our membership of Club la Costa. We had a 2 bed lodge with Jacuzzi on the large patio. Can't fault the accommodation and the fixtures and fittings were very good. Obviously there were some minor signs of wear and tear, but nothing that you would not get in any other accommodation. The kitchen was excellent and had a washing machine, dishwasher, microwave, full oven and hob and large upright fridge and freezer. Plenty of cutlery and crockery provided, along with washing up liquid, dishwasher and washing machine tabs. Coffee, teabags, sugar etc., were also supplied as well as a basic grocery pack. Both bedrooms had an en-suite and the main double bedroom has a Jacuzzi bath and separate shower. Hot water was constant. Couldn't fault the accommodation at all and the area was very peaceful and quiet. There was adequate parking. The main hotel/manor house was a few minutes walk away, where there was a cosy bar and good restaurant. The manor house has been sympathetically restored and decorated and was a lovely place to relax over a drink. Maid services and clean towels 3 times a week. The only thing that would have made this perfect was free wi/fi availability in the lodges. It was, however, free in the bar and reception areas. Club la Costa need to address this as it is now deemed to be standard in most other places. Will definitely be booking to go back as the area is lovely and there is plenty to do and see. We made the most of walking the South West Coast Path whilst there and covered quite a bit, but there is still a lot we need to cover. There is a really good pub in the village called The New Inn and the food is reasonably priced. Would advise booking as the little dining room/bistro does not have many covers. Don't expect modern décor as this is an old pub with a long history. Good service and happy customers with friendly hosts.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wilsonjenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CLCWorld, Guest Relations Manager at Trenython Manor, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We welcome feedback from all our guests and it is always good to hear from our members. I am glad to see that you enjoyed the area and we look forward to welcoming you back so you can continue exploring. . We are currently exploring options with BT about how to extend our wi-fi footprint to cover our lodges and hope to successfully resolve this in the near future.
Resort Manager, Trenython Manor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Myself and my wife stayed here for our wedding anniversary and were very very happy with the choice.
The room we stayed in (108) was stunning- beautifully decorated and well appointed. The shower was wonderfully powerful, and the whole room spotlessly clean.
The bed was huge and very comfortable- lovely crisp clean linen.

Wonderful surroundings- with Fowey a short drive away and all the splendour of Cornwall on your doorstep.

Breakfast was all well cooked and tasty- there is a buffet style breakfast of cereals, fruit etc, as well as all the staples to make a full English. There are items to order from a select menu- we had the smoked salmon and poached eggs and they were stunning!

The spa facilities were great- lovely relaxing pool/sauna/spa tub- and had we had more time we would have wanted to try one of the treatments on offer. Overall we loved the hotel and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clayton171987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed for a week, staff, facilities, room, restaurant all very nice and comfortable. The restaurant was particularly good, good choice of food well presented and well cooked. Very good value for money when compared to the three other places that we ate where we paid restaurant prices for pub food and we were only in a pub once!
Will go again when the weather is a bit better and does't put a dampener on walks and visits.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jeffnfood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Trenython Manor between the 21st - 27th March and have to honestly say it is a beautiful place. We were fortunate enough to have a room with a balcony and the view over St Austell Bay was amazing. The only problem with the room was the amount of stairs to get there lol. We had a variety of meals in the bar and restaurant and can thoroughly recommend it. The staff could not do enough for us and understood the different dietary requirements. Overall it is a lovely place and a good base to explore that part of Cornwall .

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Brookiesgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CLCWorld, Guest Relations Manager at Trenython Manor, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I was pleased to see that you enjoyed dining in our award winning restaurant, where the staff are very happy to do what they can to meet individual requirements and I have passed on your kind comments. Our beautiful manor house was constructed in 1972, featuring a great hall entrance and wide, sweeping staircases which give easy to navigate access to the upper floors. It’s a listed building, which means that we have to observe strict planning laws, and are unable to introduce a lift, but we do offer a porter service, and while we recognise that the stairs can be testing we believe that the historic nature of the building and its location more than compensates! And of course we also offer luxury self-contained, self-catering lodges set in the grounds of the hotel, which enjoy the facilities of the hotel and are at ground level with no stairs.

Resort Manager, Trenython Manor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipplepen, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Our top floor room gave us a delightful view from our balcony but we found the very many steps to reach it very hard! We certainly wish we had taken up their offer of a porter for our cases! Car parking is away from the hotel although the car can drive to the door to unload and load luggage.

Room Tip: If staying as we were in the hotel, which is really the only current choice for couples, ask for a r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Par
3.3 mi away
Boscundle Manor Hotel Restaurant and Spa
5.9 mi away
The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate
3.3 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
1,485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
The Fowey Hotel
The Fowey Hotel
#3 of 3 in Fowey
1,290 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Old Quay House Hotel
4.1 mi away
The Pier House Hotel
The Pier House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Charlestown
454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trenython Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trenython Manor

Property: Trenython Manor
Address: Tywardreath | Near Fowey, Par, St Austell PL24 2TS, England (Formerly Trenython Manor Hotel & SPA)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Austell > Par
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Par
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Trenython Manor 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in beautiful landscaped grounds overlooking St. Austell Bay, Trenython Manor has earned the reputation of being one of the premier locations on the Cornish Riviera for fine dining, luxurious accommodation and total relaxation. The elegant manor house itself has tremendous character, featuring many exquisite Italian details, particularly in the magnificent entrance hall. Tastefully renovated to the highest standards, the resort skilfully combines Italian architecture with English charm to offer an oasis of tranquillity and a truly unique holiday experience.The extensive range of on-site facilities includes a fully equipped gymnasium, sauna and indoor swimming pool, while the treatment rooms offer the ultimate in relaxation and rejuvenation, specialising in Elemis spa-therapy face and body treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Trenython Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trenython Manor Hotel And Spa
Trenython Manor Par, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing