We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Utterly disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
CLC Trenython Manor
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Par
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Utterly disappointing”
Reviewed 25 May 2014

My partner and I stayed at the Trenython Manor around Easter. At this price tag (£140 night/ double room) and star rating (4 stars) we had the right to expect a bit of luxury, which we however were denied. Our room (no 209) turned out to be a shoebox room: it was tiny, there was hardly any space between the bed and the desk (see my photos) making it difficult to move around, and if I was to use the desk, I would need to sit directly on the bed as the chair wouldn't fit. There was no hook in the bathroom to hang the shower hose and there were separate taps for hot and cold water with no mixer (oh come on!). But what disappointed us the most was the poor quality bedding. Never before have I slept on a mattress so soft it offered no support whatsoever. On a positive note, the room was fresh and clean.

As for the breakfast, it lacked any finesse. It was for the first time that we stayed at a 4-stars hotel that didn't serve any fresh bread. All one could get were toasts! Hotel's management like to underline (see their responses to other posts) how delicious food they serve using locally sourced produce. Well, I didn't see any of that served for breakfast: no Cornish cheese to taste, no locally made preserves or anything similar that would help make our meal memorable experience. In fact the only local produce I could taste were fried eggs - possibly sourced from local chickens...

A visit to the spa came as another disappointment. Everything there was dated and unwelcoming. The gents changing room resembled that of my youth - the same unmistakable soviet style as in the primary school in my native Poland!

Overall this hotel was quite unacceptable for the cost we paid and we cannot recommend it to other travellers.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank trste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CLCWorld, Guest Relations Manager at CLC Trenython Manor, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
I was sorry to see that you were disappointed by your stay with us. The manor house is historically rich and has been sympathetically converted, but of course that does mean that, unlike a purpose built hotel, the bedroom sizes are not all uniform. However, we take care to ensure that each room is welcoming and comfortable and we do find that mattresses are a matter of taste. I was disappointed to see that your remarks about breakfast were so at odds from our usual feedback but it is important to us to maintain our high standards and I have noted what you said.
Resort Manager, Trenython Manor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

562 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    237
    186
    86
    29
    24
See reviews for
146
306
4
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Alton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

We stayed on 21st and 22nd May in a 2 bed lodge which was nicely situated with sea views.
It was comfortable and quiet . However we booked a table for dinner and were very disappointed with the food having eaten there successfully a few weeks ago. My wife had the vegetarian option of breaded aubergine parmesan slices which were very greasy and unimaginative. When are UK hotels going to get to present decent vegetarian meals! I had the Trenython sausage and mash and received 3 chipolata sausages instead of full size sausages . We complained to the young waitress about my wife's meal to be told that the kitchen would be told. Nothing further was said . Needless to say we ate out the next evening.

Room Tip: Laurel was in a nice position to see the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Brian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

We have just come back from 4 nights in a two bedroom lodge WOW.............. First time staying here being CLC members we are used to a good standard but was really surprised by our lodge when we arrived and went to check in I saw one of the lodges above where we were standing and Pointed it out to my Husband as it had a huge decked area with table and chairs and said wow, when we went to check in we were to early as the lodge wasn't ready so went to do some shopping, they took a mobile number off us and said they would phone when it was ready, which they did. When we got to the lodge it was the one that I had seen and the surprise was there was a hot tub on the decking which I hadn't seen (although didn't get to use it ) re: weather and doing other things. Everything you need and more in the lodges, and lovely and clean. I would definitely go back and stay here.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 942traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CLCWorld, Guest Relations Manager at CLC Trenython Manor, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. We welcome feedback from all our guests as it helps us to maintain our standards, and it is always good to hear from our CLC World members. I am glad you enjoyed your first stay with us and we hope to welcome you back.
Resort Manager, Trenython Manor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Looe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

I went to the Fowey festival and really enjoyed the event in what are beautiful grounds. It might have been better if all of the events had been put closer together but none the less a great day out and I would definitely recommend a stay at the hotel it is very well presented.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sylverwytche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

We stayed at Trenython Manor so we could explore Cornwall. Within a 10 minute drive of Fowey, the hotel offers fabulous accommodation, food,and stunning views. We stayed in one of the lodges in the grounds which was very clean & comfortable.
The highlight was having a pint of their well kept Doombar on the terrace. Fantastic.
Great value for money, would definitely recommend and stay again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Evs_33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014 via mobile

Our first stay, although had visited for a cuppa before.
Our lodge was large and had everything we needed. The childrens outdoor play area was a big hit with our 5 yr ols, along with the pool. We all enjoyed the woodland walk.
This venue is a great location for Par Beach.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Anita B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We stayed in a (free upgrade) room overlooking the gardens with a view of the sea. Really lovely. Lovely entrance hall and grand stairs to the hotel. Wifi available. We had pre dinner drinks in the lounge before dinner. The food was really good, as were the breakfasts. We used the spa, enjoyed the pool. Loved the gardens with rabbits and bird watching area and woods. Would go again.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bron65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Par
3.3 mi away
Boscundle Manor Hotel Restaurant and Spa
5.9 mi away
The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate
3.3 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
1,517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Fowey Hall
Fowey Hall
#2 of 3 in Fowey
638 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Fowey Hotel
The Fowey Hotel
#3 of 3 in Fowey
1,331 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Old Quay House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CLC Trenython Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CLC Trenython Manor

Property: CLC Trenython Manor
Address: Tywardreath | Near Fowey, Par, St Austell PL24 2TS, England (Formerly Trenython Manor Hotel & SPA)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Austell > Par
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Par
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — CLC Trenython Manor 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in beautiful landscaped grounds overlooking St. Austell Bay, Trenython Manor has earned the reputation of being one of the premier locations on the Cornish Riviera for fine dining, luxurious accommodation and total relaxation. The elegant manor house itself has tremendous character, featuring many exquisite Italian details, particularly in the magnificent entrance hall. Tastefully renovated to the highest standards, the resort skilfully combines Italian architecture with English charm to offer an oasis of tranquillity and a truly unique holiday experience.The extensive range of on-site facilities includes a fully equipped gymnasium, sauna and indoor swimming pool, while the treatment rooms offer the ultimate in relaxation and rejuvenation, specialising in Elemis spa-therapy face and body treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your CLC Trenython Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trenython Manor Hotel And Spa
CLC Trenython Manor Par, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing