We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (675)
Filter reviews
675 results
Traveller rating
301
215
98
33
28
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
301
215
98
33
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviews club la costa sales pitch steam room st austell bay spa facilities changing rooms time share bedroom lodge pool table woodland walk main building bar and restaurant hotel grounds eden project sea view self catering washing machine
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 675 reviews
Reviewed 5 January 2019 via mobile

We booked a lodge here back in October. We stayed in January. It was not until our third and last day that we noticed the bar and restaurant had been shut down for refurbishment. There was no mention of this on booking or on check-in. When I complained nobody was willing to do anything about it. I was very disappointed.

Date of stay: January 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank summerhols2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CLCWorld, Guest Relations Manager at CLC Trenython Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2019

Dear summerhols2010,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at CLC Trenython Manor. I ‘m disappointed to learn that we were unable to meet your expectations to the fullest.

However, the following information was very clearly marked on your booking page under the main photographs, and the rate was significantly reduced to reflect the restaurant refurbishment:

Check if this accommodation has something planned that may affect your stay

The following facilities will remain closed between January 4, 2019 and January 14, 2019 (dates subject to change):
• Bar / lounge
• Fitness center
• Swimming pool
• restaurant
• Spa
• meeting rooms
• Sauna
• Hydromassage
• One of the restaurants

Please be assured your concerns will be taken on board as we constantly strive to achieve the highest level of guest satisfaction.

All the best and I wish you well on your future travels.

Resort Manager, CLC Trenython Manor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2018

Heard about this place but never been. We went on a Sunday and booked in advance after checking the online bar menu. Lots to take our fancy so was tempted by the baked potato - something which doesn't seem readily available in Cornwall. We were told the bar menu was available on Sundays. We arrived, shown to a table and placed an order for said baked potato but was told not available. this was no issue to the friendly bar staff as this could be ordered. Had a hot spud with the best tangy Coronation chicken in the world. Loads of salad to accompany it. The other meal was a Sunday roast which apparently was excellent and given the veg and additional stuff it came with was good value for money.

Overall, a lovely meal, great surroundings, clean, and friendly service both at the bar and from the servers.

Looking forward to the next time when we can take full advantage of the bar menu so will go on another day to get the best choices possible.

Only criticism is that the bar menu wasn't available in full on a Sunday but given we were able to get what we came for there is of course no complaints whatsoever.

Room tip: Only went for food so no ideas about the rooms or amenities, sorry!
Date of stay: December 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Service
Thank CiderMonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CLCWorld, Guest Relations Manager at CLC Trenython Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2018

Dear CiderMonkey,

Thanks for your review of our facilities at CLC Trenython Manor. We are so pleased you enjoyed your meal and have passed your kind comments on to our staff. We hope to see you again soon.

Resort Manager, CLC Trenython Manor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2018 via mobile

As a family we enjoyed our stay at Trenython hotel. Very clean place and quiet facilities are excellent. I never tested the food at this hotel.I recommend anyone looking where to go for a short holiday just book.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank frabbe11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CLCWorld, Guest Relations Manager at CLC Trenython Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2018

Dear frabbe11,

Thank you for your positive review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and have passed on your kind comments to our staff.

Resort Manager, CLC Trenython Manor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2018

Had the pleasure of staying at this grand hotel with a friend recently, who is a CLC member. It is very beautiful with lovely grounds and spectacular views and numerous Lodges. The place is well kept and the rooms large, with comfortable beds and a large clean bathroom with a powerful shower. The staff too were very friendly and professional - Matthew who checked us in was very helpful and Grace and James who served us dinner including the Restaurant manager were nice, polite and very professional. Nothing was too much trouble for them. The Sauna and Steam room were very clean and the Swimming Pool too was big and well maintained. Breakfast and Dinner meals were tasty and very good as well. We booked the Lost Gardens of Heligan tour with David Hogg, who came round and chatted to us. What a lovely man who went out of his way to help us and took my friend and I with another couple to the Lost Gardens! Please note that you need to book a taxi to the hotel if you are going by Train as there is no Taxi Rank outside Par Station. I will visit again in the near future!

Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vykye2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CLCWorld, Guest Relations Manager at CLC Trenython Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2018

Dear vykye2000,

Thank you for your warm comments and I’m delighted you enjoyed your stay.
It will be my pleasure to pass on your compliments to the staff and David Hogg.
All the best and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Resort Manager, CLC Trenython Manor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2018 via mobile

Stayed here to celebrate my birthday, kids loved the pool, at 12m long it's not big but perfect for little kids. We got a self catering cottage which was really clean and had everything we needed. Big enough for a family of four with little kids, even with only one bedroom. The sofabed was a bit worn out however, really our only complaint.

We got a really good deal so can't complain too much, beautiful views from the cottage as well, and it's in a very good location for access to Fowey and Eden.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank globetrotter4989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CLCWorld, Guest Relations Manager at CLC Trenython Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2018

Dear globetrotter4989,

Thank you for your review and I’m delighted you enjoyed your birthday visit.
As you say, the resort is ideally located for the Eden Project, Fowey and more.
All the best and we hope to see you again.

Resort Manager, CLC Trenython Manor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews