We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”

Penarth Guest House
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Penarth Guest House
Ranked #5 of 17 Par B&B and Inns
Stowmarket, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Great place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2013

We arrived on 20th June, both rather damp after a very wet motorcycle trip along the coast. Unfazed by having a pair of soggy bikers dripping on his floors, Mike happily supplied extra (dark) towels to lay the wet stuff on and helped carry the not-inconsiderable amount of bike luggage up to the room which was a good size with a king-size bed and a lovely shower room. Oh, and Mike's breakfasts will have you dribbling. What more could you ask for? In our case it was to extend our stay from 2 days to 4. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marianne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    5
    0
    2
    0
See reviews for
13
55
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2013

We were looked after as if we were friends, the rooms were spotless and breakfast was wonderful especially the hogs pudding! We wish we could have stayed longer. We would recommend Mike and Penarth to everyone.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2013

I spent two great nights at the Penarth and the room was well decorated, very clean and and had lovely finishing touches which made me feel very at home. Mike is a fantastic host, he picked me up from Par rail station and was extremely welcoming and helpful. He cooks a great breakfast and i would recommend this B&B to anyone staying in the St Austell area of Cornwall.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2013

We stayed at Penarth for 2 days and found the whole experience a delight. The room was very comfortable and the bathroom was clean and spacious. Mike cooked a lovely breakfast and made us feel very welcome. We have no hesitation in staying there again or recommending this B&B. We had a nice meal at the Polgooth Inn in Recketts Road Polgooth.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrewtracy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brescia, Italy
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2013

We spent 2 nights in the B&B with the Eden Package. The House was recently refurnished and is very nice and clean. The twin bedroom is well furnished and the bathroom is incredibly spacious. Mike, the owner, is willing and kind. The weather during the days we spent was incredibly raining and Mike piked us from station at our arrival, the day after brought us to Eden and at our departing brought us to the station. I think this is the onlyone B&B in the world in which the owner pick you up at the arrival and departure with a Jaguar XJ...
Furthermore Mike is an incredible cook and prepares incredible, tasty and plentyful breakfasts...and in the breakfast choosing-form you can choose everything!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorenzo_B_travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampton in Arden, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2012

We stayed on the Eden Project package which was excellent value for money. Unlike another reviewer our voucher for the Britannia Inn was for £20 so was a good contribution to the bill and we found the food to be very good. Very convenient position for Eden and we would recommend a visit to Charlestown for an interesting museum and pretty harbour. Mikes breakfasts get a mention in every review and we can endorse that. We had the king-size room and both room and shower room were plenty big enough. I have already recommended to friends and would do so to others.

Room Tip: Carlyon is the king size, choose that if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2012

We spent 2 nights in the guest house which was perfectly clean and Mike the owner was very welcoming. Room was small but had everything you need in it and the breakfast was great. We would visit again and would recommend to others.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank helen i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Par
2.1 mi away
Premier Inn St. Austell Hotel
0.5 mi away
Boscundle Manor Hotel Restaurant and Spa
2.7 mi away
The White Hart
The White Hart
#5 of 9 in St Austell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,486 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate
1.4 mi away
The Royal Inn
The Royal Inn
#2 of 17 in Par
4.5 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Penarth Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penarth Guest House

Property: Penarth Guest House
Address: Penarth St. Austell Road | St Blazey Gate, Par, St Austell PL24 2EF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Austell > Par
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Par
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Penarth Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Penarth Guest House is a spacious detached house with three high quality ensuite guest rooms set in its own grounds at the edge of the village of St Blazey Gate just 5 minutes’ drive from the Eden Project. This part of the south Cornish coastline between the River Fowey to the east and the River Fal to the west is known as the Cornish Riviera for its beautiful gardens, palm trees and fine weather. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Book Direct Rooms, Traveltool, S.L.U., Ebookers, LateRooms and HotelQuickly so you can book your Penarth Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Penarth Guest House Par, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing