We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“visit 13th august 3 nights” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Penarth Guest House

Penarth Guest House
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Penarth Guest House
Ranked #5 of 17 Par B&B and Inns
wolverhampton
1 review
“visit 13th august 3 nights”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

We found the Penarth very clean excellent double guest bedroom with ensuite, the breakfasts were amazing with plenty of choice & set you up for the day, Mike the host was very friendly & hospitable, always willing to offer help and advise on local places to visit & places to eat we will be staying again if we visit the area

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank terry f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    5
    0
    2
    0
See reviews for
13
55
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leeds
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2013

The Penarth Guest House is an excellent bed and breakfast The place is cleaner than a hospital and the breakfast is excellent. All the food is from local suppliers and is top quality.
It is situated on a main road giving easy access to anywhere in Cornwall. There is ample parking and Mike the owner is very accommodating without being intrusive.
There are any number of decent places to eat locally either at Budget price or higher end restaurants. I would have no hesitation in recommending it to anyone.

Room Tip: The large front bedroom where we stayed was very nice. It overlooks the main road but it is quiet at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank williefromwatford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

I can't recommend this b&b enough. We stayed for 2 nights for our first Cornwall trip from Lincolnshire and will be staying again!
Excellent host, from the moment we walked in we felt welcome, relaxed and comfortable.
We stayed in the Double suite and it was spotless. The breakfast was incredible and really enjoyed speaking to our host Mike, who had excellent knowledge of the area.
Really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LaurenEmilyClarke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sutton Surrey
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2013

Reading all the reviews posted here, I think we might have encountered the host on not such a good couple of days. We didn't experience the "charisma" that has been described, and I'm not sure that he would have put himself out for us, but maybe he was tired at the end of a long holiday season. However, we did stay in a beautifully clean room with a lovely shower, crisp white sheets and the most beautifully soft fluffy towels. Overall, a very good stay, but let down by a slightly indifferent attitude.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Surrey_resident
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

What a find!

I visited Cornwall for a week as working in the area & stayed at the Penarth Guest House for 4 nights.

The Guest house was beautiful & owner fantastic! Spotlessly clean, beautifully furnished & very comfortable. My bed was lovely & power shower super! Breakfast was wonderful & cooked to my taste. I can highly recommend the Scrambled Eggs & bacon & rhubarb & ginger jam on thick sliced granary bread.

Secure,Ample Off road parking & a good fast WIFI was also very beneficial.

I Highly recommend. :-)

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woking, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

Stayed once again with Mike, We had stayed earlier in May this year and as before great hospitality from Mike and his breakfast are fantastic they keep you going all day, lovely rooms and facilities would recommend to all.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

Spent two nights here last week. The accommodation is spotlessly clean and beautifully appointed. The bed was very comfortable in the Biscovey room. Mike is a superb host and a charismatic character...very helpful. He even offered us a lift home from the pub. I would definitely return to this little gem.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joplumbuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Par
0.9 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,470 reviews
0.5 mi away
Boscundle Manor Hotel Restaurant and Spa
2.7 mi away
The White Hart
The White Hart
#5 of 9 in St Austell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Premier Inn St. Austell Hotel
0.0 mi away
The Britannia Inn
The Britannia Inn
#3 of 17 in Par
4.5 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Royal Inn
The Royal Inn
#2 of 17 in Par
4.5 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Penarth Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penarth Guest House

Property: Penarth Guest House
Address: Penarth St. Austell Road | St Blazey Gate, Par, St Austell PL24 2EF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Austell > Par
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Par
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Penarth Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Penarth Guest House is a spacious detached house with three high quality ensuite guest rooms set in its own grounds at the edge of the village of St Blazey Gate just 5 minutes’ drive from the Eden Project. This part of the south Cornish coastline between the River Fowey to the east and the River Fal to the west is known as the Cornish Riviera for its beautiful gardens, palm trees and fine weather. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms and Ebookers so you can book your Penarth Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Penarth Guest House Par, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing