We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“so much to see!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Geevor Tin Mine

Geevor Tin Mine
Ranked #1 of 5 things to do in Pendeen
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This preserved mining site features a museum, underground tour and visitor center all perched on the rugged cliffs of Penwith, offering magnificent coastal views high above the crashing surf below.
Fife, Scotland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“so much to see!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

We visited the Tin Mine in June 2014 and had a wonderful time wandering around all the exhibits. It was really interesting and the guide who showed us round the mine was very knowledgeable. The cafe served delicious cakes too. Geevor Tin Mine is very good value for money.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank FifeFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

755 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    556
    167
    25
    5
    2
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
horndean
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Should you go down in a pit today”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

Nothing to dislike about the place, plenty to see and do. The opportunity to explore the place and understand how important the mining was to Cornwall and its impact on people and the countryside. The opportunity to go underground should not be missed and with a good guide to explain it all. If you are tall the hard hat is a blessing and if you are off ample proportions then start dieting. A great place to visit.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Keith M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Sussex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Very interesting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014 via mobile

Great place to go, I see Cornwall in a whole different light now. They know there facts and the tour was a good education. Great gift shop too. Not to expensive to get in we spent about 3 hours there plus coffee.

Helpful?
Thank storm r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“NOT wheelchair friendly!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

We had wanted to visit Geevor for some time. We visited today with our elderly mother in a wheelchair as we were led to believe that the cafe and exhibits were accessible for wheelchairs. Yes, there is a lift in the cafe and museum, but inside the museum there are several sets of double doors which do not stay open, so unless there is someone to help, most of the museum is off limits to wheelchair users. The pathways outside are full of ruts and tramlines to get stuck in and there are some very steep hills. We needed a ramp just to get out of the reception and a guy came with two pieces of wood which worked but not very professional. Time they bought some proper ramps.To add further humiliation, we were made to wear hard hats even though we were nowhere near the mine itself. Not very nice and totally unnecessary for an 84 year old with Alzheimers. The cafe was adequate but cramped with a wheelchair. The pasties were ok but a bit dry. All in all we were very disappointed and will not be returning.

Helpful?
1 Thank tiddlywink1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah N, Manager at Geevor Tin Mine, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
We are really sorry that you did not have a pleasant time during your visit to Geevor. We would like everybody to be able to visit us and enjoy the site, and to this end, we always welcome anyone with limited mobility or visual impairments to contact us to discuss any requirements for a visit.
The reality is that until recently Geevor was an operating mine and is built on a slope. As indicated in our on-line access statement, unfortunately some areas of the site are not accessible to those with mobility or visual impairments. We had an independent accessibility audit carried out on the site, and much of the upper section of the mine site was considered as accessible ‘with a carer’.
In reply to some of your other observations: as you correctly state the museum, shop and café are accessible to wheelchair users ( as are many of the other significant mine buildings). Use of the doors in the museum does require assistance for the wheelchair user as these doors have to be kept closed when not in operation as the rooms are temperature-controlled.
Geevor is a listed monument and around the shaft area and leading to the museum there are the original mine railway tracks embedded in concrete; however, there is a marked suggested route to the museum that minimises contact with the rails.
The ramps used to access and exit buildings were constructed on site as each building has differing step dimensions, are sturdy, and we have not previously had any adverse comments.
With regards to the wearing of hard hats it is a requirement for every visitor to wear a hard hat while on site; there is never an intention to ‘humiliate’. To access the museum it is necessary to pass the mine headgear which was and is designated as a hard hat area.
We have found from observation that the wearing of hard hats is part of the ‘visitor experience’, part of the fun of visiting.
We want everyone to be able to experience Geevor, and we welcome contact from anyone with mobility or visual impairments to discuss your needs.
Mike Simpson
Mine Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“industrial archeology at its best.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

Great place if you are interested in industrial archaeology. Delighted to see the shop had pocket money price souvenirs for children to buy in addition to some fascinating ideas for gifts for adults. The cafe was fabulous, food top quality and service good. The staff throughout the attraction were enthusiastic, friendly and extremely helpful. Will be back within the year for another look and to share a pasty and cream tea.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bill T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Geevor Tin Mine also viewed

 

Been to Geevor Tin Mine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing