We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A warm and welcome rest awaits”
Review of The Field House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pendeen
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Field House
Ranked #4 of 5 Pendeen B&B and Inns
Reviewed 1 November 2013

- after a long walk from St Ives, the Fieldhouse was a warm and welcoming sight. Welcomed by the owner Viv, we were shown to the guest suite that takes up the three very spacious rooms on the second floor. We declined the offer on an English tea, opting instead for the comfort of hot showers and a freshen up, a single shower mind you and a bit on the tight side, but it did the trick. Our bags had arrived from the transfer company and were upstairs awaiting our arrival.
- Guest suite had fridge, couch, chair tables, coffee service, TV with “Sky” and full Wi-Fi access with lots of speed. Bed was comfortable with double doors leading off to patio over the back part of the house with views across the “Field” and down to the Atlantic. Bed was a comfortable clean double with duvet
- Exceptional morning breakfast, both hot and continental, with wonderful fresh fruit salad, French press coffee, cold cereals, juices, yogurt etc
- Situated right across from the Trewellard Ams pub/hotel, and an easy 500m from the Coastal Path
- A wonderful place to stay during our walking journey, could not have hoped for anything better.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CanDo_55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (35)
There are newer reviews for The Field House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 35 reviews

Reviewed 6 October 2013

This is a lovely B and B in Cornwall where guests have their own sitting room, bedroom and bath. Viv, our host, had just made scones for a cream tea when we arrived weary after hiking from Zennor. We had recently stayed at some less than superb B and Bs so we were delighted to see how large and lovely our accommodations were at The Field House. Breakfast was delicious and Viv is a most gracious host.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Candace603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Just got back from a lovely 3 night stay at the Field House. Great room with own sitting room and roof terrace. We ate in the cafe the first night and the food was delicious. Best to reserve a table in advance as it does get booked up.
All in all a fab break.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Funnybee75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

We visited the Field House for a meal. What can i say it was fantastic. As soon as you enter you are made to feel welcome. You are shown into the lounge area which is decorated beautifully, given glasses to pour your own wine. You have time to look at the menu then you give your order and shown through to the restaurant which is equally as welcoming as the lounge.
The food is outstanding and home cooked. The service is outstanding and friendly. If i am in the area again i will definitely visit.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank jacktorwilts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2013

We arrived late afternoon after a lovely day around Penzance. Viv greeted us upon our arrival and we shown to our room. We were welcomed with an offer for a cream tea so whilst we got our bags into our room, Viv made a start on the tea. We went into the sitting room where we had a delightful cream tea. We were offered a WIFI code, handy when signal is quite bad in some parts. The room we had was lovely, separate living area, great size bedroom with our own sun terrace leading from the bedroom. We did managed to catch a sunset. Lovely breakfast....and music to listen whilst starting the day.

Ideal place to stay for the area and would certainly recommend and stay there again. Thank you Viv, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay with you.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MiltonKeynesWhoosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2013

My daughter and I were warmly greeted by Viv on a cold April evening after an 8 hour walk from St Ives. In spite of it being well past tea time, we still enjoyed our 'cream tea on arrival' in front of the fire in the sitting room. As described, the room with adjacent sitting room is excellent and just what we needed to relax before our next day's walk. The only regret was that we weren't there long enough to enjoy the sun terrace (and it was still cold!). Many thanks too for an excellent breakfast and delicious packed lunch.

Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
Thank Carol G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2012

My wife and I recently had a very enjoyable stay at this establishment. We where greeted by Viv upon our arrival for our five night stay, and shown to our room or should I say rooms because the guest accommodation actually consists of a sitting room, bedroom and en suite shower room and a Sun terrace leading off from the bedroom with fantastic views to the Atlantic ocean. Sky tv and tea and coffee making facilities are provided. After unpacking we where treated to a complimentary Cornish cream tea with home baked scones. Breakfasts are beautifully served at meticulously laid out tables with fresh fruit cereals toast and assorted marmalade's, honey and jams the cooked Cornish breakfast is delicious and substantial and all washed down with a nice pot of tea or coffee if you prefer. There is lots to do in this beautiful part and remote of Cornwall we went to the minnack open air theatre, spent a day touring on an open top double decker bus and visited lands end. Penzance and St Ives are are just a short drive away. On Thursday and Friday nights the Field house is open to non residents to come and dine and and for a set price you can enjoy a delicious home cooked 2 or 3 course meal, the establishment is not licenced to serve alcohol but you can take your own bottle of wine. We would thoroughly recommend this bed and breakfast for a comfortable and relaxed stay in beautiful surroundings.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank oilslicknick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pendeen
0.0 mi away
Cape Cornwall Golf & Leisure
0.0 mi away
The Commercial
The Commercial
#1 of 9 in St Just
282 reviews
0.0 mi away
Wintara B&B
Wintara B&B
#1 of 1 in Botallack
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Field House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Field House

Address: | Trewellard, Pendeen TR19 7ST, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Pendeen
Amenities:
Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Pendeen
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We welcome you to our lovely coastal home, cool contemporary edged decor, lovely guest rooms with views across fields to the ocean and fabulous sunsets over the sea. Delicious breakfasts with finest local produce and a welcome Cornish cream tea on arrival. The Field House has fantastic views to Poldark country, as we are set just above the cliff tops of Levant and Botallack mines where much of the filming took place. The main guest room has a great roof top terrace and this is a charming alfresco space to relax and truly soak in this amazing unspoilt coastal location and wide atlantic vista, this room also has a private adjoining sitting room. We also have a second charming guest room with sea view. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Field House Pendeen, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing