We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, helpful owners and a big breakfast, what more could you want?”

The Stepping Stones
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$3 - US$19
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Local Family run, open all year with Friendly service offering great breakfasts, tasty lunches. Daily roasts and delicious dinners. Or just come in for a nice hot cuppa with a toasted teacake or a lovely Cornish Cream Tea or a slice of cake. Wheelchair access. Dog friendly Booking advised for Sunday Lunch Fully licensed to serve drinks with your meal. We cater for private parties in our restaurant.
Newchurch, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Friendly, helpful owners and a big breakfast, what more could you want?”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We discovered the Stepping Stones on our first day in Perranporth when we were looking for somewhere to eat breakfast. They couldn't of been more helpful, the breakfast was great and a very good price (that included tea or coffee) and the service was brilliant. The cafe/bistro was busy during our visit, but there plenty of staff to attend to the orders and our breakfasts arrived quickly.
We visited again the next day and ordered sandwiches and cake to take away. The owners were most helpful suggesting places to go for a picnic and even provided us with a map!
We will definitely be back next time we are in Cornwall......I'm thinking a ploughmans followed by a cream tea maybe.
If your visiting Perranporth you must pop in!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Raeiow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chapelrock, Manager at The Stepping Stones, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Thank you for such a great review.
It was great to see you both and we are so glad you enjoyed your visits to The Stepping Stones and that you had a great time touring Cornwall. We hope to see you again soon.
Best wishes Lynda and Sean
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    175
    25
    4
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Halesowen, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Friendly and very helpful”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We called in on the off chance and sat outside they could not have been more friendly or helpful. They brought all we ordered outside to us the service was brilliant.To top it all they make the best cup of tea and it is very affordable will always go there when on holiday. Well done everyone

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Janet A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chapelrock, Owner at The Stepping Stones, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Thank you for your kind review and glad you enjoyed your cuppa. Looking forward to seeing you all again when you are next in Perranporth
Kind regards from Lynda Sean and the Stepping Stones Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great breakfast”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Lovely food and great service. Fresh food and home cooked. I will be trying the lunch menu very soon. Anyone visiting Perrenporth must give it a try

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tropfish2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chapelrock, Owner at The Stepping Stones, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a nice review. We are glad you enjoyed your breakfast and hope to see you again soon.
Kind regards from us all at The Stepping Stones
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Girl who smelt my food.”
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

Great food. Found when seeking a carvery near newquay. On outside looks like a cafe. But on inside looks lovely and clean. Food was great. Lovely roast. Good price. Drinks menu. And normal bistro menu also gud. Four all had roast and drink and 2 puddings. £48 for lovely food and great service. If the roulade is on menu have it!!! Amazing. Killed my diet nicely! Thanks you. From the girl who smelt her food.

Helpful?
1 Thank Charlotte C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chapelrock, Owner at The Stepping Stones, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a great review. It was lovely meeting you all and we know you enjoyed the Cornish Clotted Cream ha ha Best wishes from us all at The Stepping Stones.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perranporth, United Kingdom
1 review
“Best Sunday Roast”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

I highly recommend Stepping Stones for Sunday Roast all freshly cooked vegetables and proper roast potatoes , veggies served seperatly and cooked to just right degree of soft not hard just cooked and not over cooked. I had turkey and the stuffing was obviously chefs own recipe mmm it was gorgeous and turkey cooked perfectly, my partner had pork and it was cooked to perfection not thick sliced not thin sliced just perfect and it fell apart beautifully tender, cannot recommend it enough well done

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Linda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chapelrock, Owner at The Stepping Stones, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Thank you for your lovely comments and we are so glad you enjoyed your Sunday lunch. You will have to try breakfast one of these days. Looking forward to seeing you both again. Best wishes from us all at The Stepping Stones
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Stepping Stones also viewed

Perranporth, Cornwall
Perranporth, Cornwall
 
Perranporth, Cornwall
Perranporth, Cornwall
 

Been to The Stepping Stones? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing