We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect stay at Perranporth YHA”
Review of YHA Perranporth

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
YHA Perranporth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 July 2013

I have just had a great week at Perranporth Youth Hostel. Unrivalled position on top of the cliff overlooking three miles of golden sand. No TV, no mobile phone signal, but great views and helpful staff. I would particularly like to thank the Managers Phil and Becks for their help and support during my stay. They provided good advice and the use of the office phone for booking local events. Hostel very clean and tidy, like a new pin when I returned to it after a long day walking, swimming, sea kayaking or visiting Knee High Theatre company at the Hall for Cornwall in the evening. All in the best traditions of the good old YHA, and with lots of interesting fellow guests! I’m already looking forward to my return visit!

Room Tip: Biggest swimming pool in the world just at the bottom of the cliff with some of Britain's bigges...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SJB999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (67)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 67 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2013

Took a youth group, lovely place amazing scenery and area, youths so happy to be on vacation, they were up all night chating with each other in their rooms,as the feeling was so great to be away. we occuppied 18 places of the hostel while the hostel takes 24 places, phil who runs the hostel stormed into our rooms demanding we keep quiet, we were shocked as we were just being normal but it seemed we disturbed the other people staying. in the morning i spoke to phil and we sorted the matter, but i feel YHA hostels need to educate themselves on youths/groups as we had to continue our stay like in prison,tip toeing all the time till we left.
YHA should understand that children are only away to be educated and to have fun and memories which they will treasure forever, but on this occasion we felt so trapped and pressured inorder to keep the peace, definatly a written appology is inorder, youths will definatly remember their stay as a nagative not a postive, but area in cornwall is a great place to visit, maybe after this Yha perranporth will educate themselves about youth groups.

Room Tip: all rooms are alike excep 2 are larger rooms of 8 bunk beds, very dusty rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AabElguerbouzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phil M, Manager at YHA Perranporth, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2013

Hi Aab,
I’m really sorry that you and your group feel this way.
Indeed YHA Perranporth is a lovely place to stay, with some amazing scenery and areas to explore.
We were very glad your teenage boys were happy to be here, and so excited that they wanted stay up all night chatting. After all it’s a really spectacular location, and it’s not often you get the chance to share a room with such a large group of friends.
I know you were hoping to book the hostel for sole use, which would have been ideal, however other guests had already booked to stay.
We do our very best to offer friendly communal accommodation, where multiple groups, families and individuals may stay at any one time. Many youth groups return year after year to this special place. For this reason we hope all guests are respectful and considerate of one another, and mindful of the noise they make especially in the early hours of the morning.
YHA has a wealth of knowledge and experience in accommodating all kinds of groups, especially young people who are at the heart of our charitable objective and mission statement: http://www.yha.org.uk/about-yha/charitable-object Values that we also believe in very passionately at YHA Perranporth.
So I’m sorry once again, and hope your group enjoys a more positive experience with YHA in the future.
Kind regards,
Phil

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Views you'd pay a kings ransom for ! cosy common room for being sociable ! Phil and Bex looking after you! Great place to celebrate and enjoy the surf ! 4 bed rooms are small but that doesn't detract from this being an A1 hostel as far as we and our group of teenagers are concerned.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jane t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2013

Just spent the last four days staying here with a group of 15 very lovely nutters that i call my friends. YHA is such a sweet little place, all the facilities were great and the staff were lovely and very tolerant and helpful!!! Thanks so much we had the best time!!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lauren P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2013

Myself and another girl and 3 guys stayed here for 7 days and it was a lot nicer than we thought! I have been to Perranporth for most of my life and had never even knew this was here! Short walk into the town and amazing view from the top of the cliff. The staff were very friendly and willing to help at all times.
Only issue would be trying to get up the hill with our suitcases on the day we got there!
Apart from this we were very happy and would be willing to stay here again!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rebecca P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2013

What a find! This place is tucked away high above Perranporth and the amazing 3 mile beach, with endless views out across the sand and ocean. We stayed during the spring tides and manager Phil encouraged us to explore the newly exposed rockpools and borrow the free oldskool wooden bellyboards...groovy!
Even in a very cold March the hostel offered a snug retreat from the prevailing wind. After getting thoroughly windswept watching a pod of dolphins swimming with the surfers, we headed in to the lovely living space to read National Geographics and play Monopoly.
The rooms are neat and tidy, as cosy as you may expect from a budget hostel. Showers powerful, hot and always clean. We'll be back again soon. Thanks!!

Room Tip: The larger dorm rooms have the sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bellyboarder99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2013

Brilliant cliff top location with views out to see and over the beach. Facilities are showing their age, and some damp, and the dorm's are quite small - but it is a hostel! Spacious kitchen and communal areas to relax. Phil was an excellent host. If you get the sunsets as well it'll be the icing on the cake! Whilst ther read the testimonials to see the excellent work done by Phil and his colleagues.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ken s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phil M, Manager at YHA Perranporth, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2013

Hi Ken,
Thanks for your positive and honest review.
We're always striving to improve our facilities, so all your comments are gratefully received.
This month we're decorating and dry lining the hostel, so that should help give the place a fresher feel and new lease of life.
So, even if there's a good sea breeze, you'll be able to enjoy the stunning ocean view (and hopefully a beautiful sunset!) from the warmth and comfort of our panoramic lounge window.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Perranporth hotels
1.2 mi away
Perran Sands Holiday Park - Haven
0.7 mi away
St George's Country House Hotel
0.3 mi away
Seacroft
Seacroft
#6 of 8 in Perranporth
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Leycroft Valley Holidays
Leycroft Valley Holidays
#2 of 8 in Perranporth
402 reviews
1.8 mi away
Red Fox Barn
Red Fox Barn
#2 of 10 in Perranporth
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to YHA Perranporth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YHA Perranporth

Address: Droskyn Point, Perranporth TR6 0GS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Perranporth
Amenities:
Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Speciality Lodging in Perranporth
Hotel Class:2 star — YHA Perranporth 2*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
YHA Perranporth is a cliff-side, single storey former admiralty building surrounded by low fencing with a garden. This simple accommodation has truly magnificent views across two and a half miles of golden sands. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
YHA Perranporth Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing