We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to hide from a storm”
Review of YHA Perranporth

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
YHA Perranporth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Some friends and I stopped here for a couple of nights to ride out a storm during our walk down the coast. The staff were friendly, the kitchens were full of equipment for cooking (for 9 people!), the beds were clean and comfy and there was enough space in the living/eating area for all of us plus a couple of other groups. It overlooks one of the prettiest beaches in the area and is less than a mile from perranporth.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AilishDavis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phil M, Manager at YHA Perranporth, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2013

Hello!
Thank you for your lovely review, this is indeed a super duper storm watching spot! The wind is raging as we speak (and the sea is looking MAD!).
Perhaps we'll see you again next season? And maybe there will be less of a storm!
Love from the cliff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (65)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 65 reviews

Reviewed 24 September 2013

We made a last minute booking with YHA Perranporth as a storm threatened our backpacking trip along the South West Coast Path. Warden was extremely helpful, even booking those he couldn't fit in the hostel into a nearby B&B. We arrived exhausted after squashing 2 days' walking into one and were given a warm welcome by warden and other guests alike. The next day we were allowed to wait out the storm in the hostel's living area all day.

This is a proper no-frills youth hostel up on Droskyn Point about half a mile from the centre of Perranporth. It is a small hostel with 24 beds, self catering kitchen and communal living and dining area packed into an old research base. This was quite cosy when 9 of us descended all at once, but nobody seemed to mind the close quarters as everyone was so friendly. Toilets and showers were plentiful and functional. Drying room served us well and it was nice to restart the walk with dry tents and sleeping bags. Kitchen facilities great and we ate well - although I must apologise to whoever I inadvertantly stole a loaf of bread from; I genuinely thought it was ours! Bedrooms quite small with hard mattresses (personally something I liked) and easy to walk into the wrong one...oops.
Views were fantastic especially watching gannets diving and waves breaking during the storm.

Truly brilliant place, couldn't reccommend it enough to walkers.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PLoDRS_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phil M, General Manager at YHA Perranporth, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2013

Ahoy!

So glad you enjoyed your stay here at Perranporth (although a little while ago now! We've had a busy season and so are now only just getting round to replying to some things, whoops!).
The storms are getting up again, however our drying room continues to do us proud - dry toasty wetsuits for all! Wahoo!

Hope the rest of your walking travels were wondering,

Cheers!

Us lot at YHA Perranporth.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

Just come back from a week at Perranporth Youth Hostel with wife and two young boys we had a fantastic time met some really great people and would recommend it to any families who fancy an activity week. The location is fantastic perched overlooking the bay watching the surf and the occasional Dolphin. The Hostel is also on the Coastal path allowing easy access to great walks and views. There are also caves to search and plenty of other stuff to do.

The Hostel is run by a great bloke called Phil and supported by Becks, both are great and will do anything to make the stay enjoyable - they were also very tolerant as at times we had 4 kids running around and making lots of noise!! The facilities are of a good standard and well maintained and very clean.

Anyhow if you want a good Youth Hostel in a great location and don't mind mixing with others this is the place to go.

The Oddie West Yorkshire

Room Tip: The rooms are typical YHA, suggest you book early if you want a family room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vicky O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phil M, First mate. at YHA Perranporth, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2013

Hello!

So glad you had a super duper time, and we hope to see you again – perhaps next year!
It was really great to see the boys running around and having fun with the other kids, always lovely to see lots of socialisation going on (with you adults, too!).
The sea is continuing to be beautiful turquoise, and the sun is still shining…
Thank you for your brightly glowing review,

Bex @ Perranporth 

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2013

Great overnight stay at Perranporth, fantastic vista. Lovely little place, really helpful staff. Family loved it, despite rock hard beds, we were so tired after are days surfing in the fantastic waves. Well worth a visit even though it is one of the smaller Youth Hostels. No TV, no wifi. Great walks, views and fish and chips

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rich B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

The youth hostel is in a stunning location on top of the cliff where you can see the whole beach which is great for surfing! Right next to the youth hostel are rocks which are great for climbing on at high tide.The atmosphere in the hostel is lovely and the staff Phil and Bex where lovely and so helpful, I would recommend it to anyone and cant wait to come back soon.

Room Tip: The private rooms are quite small but the whole hostel and location make up for this.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claire J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phil M, General Manager at YHA Perranporth, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2013

Aloha from the cliff top perch!

So glad you enjoyed your stay with us here, the views are still wonderful though definately Autumnal now what with big waves & even bigger winds...

The two little rooms are indeed small (though we hope the hostel is more on the side of "small and perfectly formed" rather than "small and pokey"!!).
We do also have two bigger rooms which can be booked privately, or alternatively you can book out the whole hostel exclusively for yourselves, perhaps for a party! Wahoo! 24 beds full of great views... ahhh...

Cheers much!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2013

I have just had a great week at Perranporth Youth Hostel. Unrivalled position on top of the cliff overlooking three miles of golden sand. No TV, no mobile phone signal, but great views and helpful staff. I would particularly like to thank the Managers Phil and Becks for their help and support during my stay. They provided good advice and the use of the office phone for booking local events. Hostel very clean and tidy, like a new pin when I returned to it after a long day walking, swimming, sea kayaking or visiting Knee High Theatre company at the Hall for Cornwall in the evening. All in the best traditions of the good old YHA, and with lots of interesting fellow guests! I’m already looking forward to my return visit!

Room Tip: Biggest swimming pool in the world just at the bottom of the cliff with some of Britain's bigges...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SJB999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2013

Took a youth group, lovely place amazing scenery and area, youths so happy to be on vacation, they were up all night chating with each other in their rooms,as the feeling was so great to be away. we occuppied 18 places of the hostel while the hostel takes 24 places, phil who runs the hostel stormed into our rooms demanding we keep quiet, we were shocked as we were just being normal but it seemed we disturbed the other people staying. in the morning i spoke to phil and we sorted the matter, but i feel YHA hostels need to educate themselves on youths/groups as we had to continue our stay like in prison,tip toeing all the time till we left.
YHA should understand that children are only away to be educated and to have fun and memories which they will treasure forever, but on this occasion we felt so trapped and pressured inorder to keep the peace, definatly a written appology is inorder, youths will definatly remember their stay as a nagative not a postive, but area in cornwall is a great place to visit, maybe after this Yha perranporth will educate themselves about youth groups.

Room Tip: all rooms are alike excep 2 are larger rooms of 8 bunk beds, very dusty rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AabElguerbouzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phil M, Manager at YHA Perranporth, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2013

Hi Aab,
I’m really sorry that you and your group feel this way.
Indeed YHA Perranporth is a lovely place to stay, with some amazing scenery and areas to explore.
We were very glad your teenage boys were happy to be here, and so excited that they wanted stay up all night chatting. After all it’s a really spectacular location, and it’s not often you get the chance to share a room with such a large group of friends.
I know you were hoping to book the hostel for sole use, which would have been ideal, however other guests had already booked to stay.
We do our very best to offer friendly communal accommodation, where multiple groups, families and individuals may stay at any one time. Many youth groups return year after year to this special place. For this reason we hope all guests are respectful and considerate of one another, and mindful of the noise they make especially in the early hours of the morning.
YHA has a wealth of knowledge and experience in accommodating all kinds of groups, especially young people who are at the heart of our charitable objective and mission statement: http://www.yha.org.uk/about-yha/charitable-object Values that we also believe in very passionately at YHA Perranporth.
So I’m sorry once again, and hope your group enjoys a more positive experience with YHA in the future.
Kind regards,
Phil

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Perranporth
14.0 mi away
YHA Treyarnon
YHA Treyarnon
#3 of 14 in St Merryn
167 reviews
18.3 mi away
YHA Eden Project
YHA Eden Project
#6 of 37 in St Austell
373 reviews
17.0 mi away
YHA Boswinger
YHA Boswinger
#1 of 1 in Boswinger
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
St George's Country House Hotel
22.6 mi away
YHA Coverack
YHA Coverack
#2 of 3 in Coverack
44 reviews
5.7 mi away
MOR
MOR
#36 of 78 in Newquay
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to YHA Perranporth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YHA Perranporth

Address: Droskyn Point, Perranporth TR6 0GS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Perranporth
Amenities:
Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Speciality Lodging in Perranporth
Hotel Class:2 star — YHA Perranporth 2*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
YHA Perranporth is a cliff-side, single storey former admiralty building surrounded by low fencing with a garden. This simple accommodation has truly magnificent views across two and a half miles of golden sands. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
YHA Perranporth Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing