We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great venue for concerts”
Review of The Watering Hole

The Watering Hole
Ranked #9 of 48 Restaurants in Perranporth
Cuisines: European
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Saw ‘scouting for girls’ here on Friday night . Great little venue for live music. Well organised. Security present and were polite. Drinks were not overpriced. Went back following evening for ‘sundowners’ and there was a wedding reception taking part in part of the venue but it did not effect our enjoyment.

Thank MandSSquire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Watering H, Public Relations Manager at The Watering Hole, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi There,

Thank you for your lovely feedback! We are happy to hear you enjoyed one of our many music events and we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Many Thanks,
The Watering Hole Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,255)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 20 of 1,255 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Good food, good choice of drinks. Nice setting on the beach, plenty of outdoor seating. Nice to watch the sunset.

Thank forestforestforest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Watering H, Public Relations Manager at The Watering Hole, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi There,

Thank you very much for your kind review! We look forward to you joining us again soon for another of our beautiful sunsets!

Many Thanks,
The Watering Hole Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Ideally placed on the beach with loads of passing trade we stopped for coffee one day. We found the coffee portions, well the milk in it, fine, but the coffee, or lack of it was pitiful. The bean to cup machine (Cimbali) was so badly set up to produce an anywhere near decent espresso it was hot brown liquid put into a cup in 5 to 6 seconds. As a trained barista it breaks my heart to see such poor offerings and as for having an extra shot in the drink at £2 + I don't think so. Not for us, but if you like your drinks big and milky, enjoy.

1  Thank tallgcg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Watering H, Public Relations Manager at The Watering Hole, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi There,

Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to hear you did not enjoy a coffee here with us. We actually have 2 brand new barista-grade (not Cimbali) coffee machines in place which have been installed within the last 2 weeks and we are happy to provide a high-quality coffee experience, offering a variety of milk and syrups.

Also to make you aware, our price for an extra shot is 60p not £2. We hope you will visit us again soon and give us another try.

Many Thanks,
The Watering Hole Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2018

We stopped in for a dinnertime drink on the beach. The beer selection was good and we were pleased to find Cornish Korev on draught. (However, we think this should be on the main pumps display at the front of the bar and not hidden around the side - Cornish businesses should do all they can to promote each other). The bar service was quick and efficient. Although we didn't eat, the food selection looked good. The big let down was that tables were not being cleared after customers had left, which soon attracting several squadrons of seagulls, swooping down and creating mayhem. Customers were forced to clear tables away themselves to remove the threat. A little more dedication from the staff to keep the tables clear must be a priority to reduce the seagull threat. This can easily be sorted to ensure this venue is one that Cornwall can be proud of.

    • Value
    • Service
Thank Allison H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Watering H, Public Relations Manager at The Watering Hole, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Allison,

Thank you for your feedback. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your time with us and received good service. We are also happy to hear you enjoyed a Korev with us - We are very proud to promote Cornish businesses which is why the 4 pumps on the front of our bar (which happen to be Ale only pumps) are all Cornish made Ales. We also have Cornish Rattler on our side pumps but as our bar is rounded we find that they all are proudly displayed.

As for the tables and seagulls, I am sorry to hear that during your visit this seemed to be neglected. As we are on the beach we do try very hard to ensure that we can get to the clearing before the gulls, however this is sometimes out of our control. I will pass on your comments to the managers and I hope you will visit again soon.

Many Thanks,
The Watering Hole Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2018

The Watering Hole will always get a good score because of the location and the vibe. Perfect after a dog walk along the sands. Last year i adked for Tarquin’s gin and they didn’t sell it, despite having the umbrellas outside. My review was responded to, saying come back, we will have it next time. So, with confidence I asked for a Tarqs and Tonic and they’d sold out! Apparently, it’s very popular! So once again, I was disappointed not to enjoy my favourite tipple in this stunning location and thus, one star deducted. Third time lucky?

Thank Doobles61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Watering H, Public Relations Manager at The Watering Hole, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi There,

Thank you for your feedback, we are very happy to hear you enjoy our beautiful location and bar. We are sorry to hear you missed out on your favourite drink with us... As we get incredibly busy sometimes this is out of our control either due to demand or waiting for deliveries. Please don't let this put you off as we usually do have a well-stocked supply of Tarquins and now in many different flavours!! So please come visit again soon.

Many Thanks,
The Watering Hole Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Watering Hole also viewed

Perranporth, Cornwall
Perranporth, Cornwall
 

Been to The Watering Hole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing