We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Yet another excellent weekend - thank you!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
St George's Country House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 11 Perranporth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Surrey
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Yet another excellent weekend - thank you!”
Reviewed 15 August 2011

Great company, great food, great atmosphere and comfy beds. Sharon and Sue always make us very welcome, they are fantastic with our children too. Just what is needed for a relaxing trip! Great location too.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    160
    42
    10
    4
    4
See reviews for
49
110
8
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oldham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2011

We chose this hotel due to its proximity to Perranporth and wanted somewhere small to celebrate our joint birthdays.
This hotel did not disappoint, it is a beautiful old house but has the most amazing new bathrooms, my hubby especially liked the facilities next to the bar especially the personal touches.
We stayed in the four poster room with what should have been great views ( cornish weather, scuppered this) .My one critisism would be that the bed looked fab but it was too firm for me, my hubby reports it was the best sleep he had in ages ( obviously personal choice).
Service was excellent, nothing was too much trouble, Sue and Sharon where wonderful telling us to make ourselves at home which we duly complied with.
Breakfast was good, full English if that's what you want, cereal, toast fresh fruit, enough to keep you going for the day.
The Bistro food was exceptional, all fresh local food, my hubby enjoyed the last of the pork from their own reared pig.
I also enjoyed watching the chicks hatch that Sharon and Sue keep for their eggs.
It was by far one of the most relaxing breaks we have experienced and Sue and Sharon where exceptional hosts.
The only concern during our stay was that the water was luke warm in the mornings, I showered in the afternoons so didn't have a problem however Sue and Sharon acknowledged the problem and managed it appropriately.
We had an amazing break and would definitely return in the future and recommend to friends.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MENTALMUM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kings Lynn
1 review
Reviewed 14 July 2011

Nice comfortable room with very good view over the garden & countryside. Friendly, peaceful and relaxed atmosphere. Wide variety of very good quality food, including plenty of veggie options.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SheilaKingsLynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Altos, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2011

As soon as we entered the house, we felt completely at ease and welcomed. Since we were on a bicycle tour, we decided to have dinner at St. Georges rather than ride to a restaurant. It was a great decision since the meal was wonderful, and at the end of the evening, we had a wonderful conversation with Sue and Sharon about UK and American politics, travel, education and life. We would definitely return and recommend friends to this establishment.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 4FromCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level Contributor
51 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2011

We stayed at the St George for two nights in June, and, as most of the reviews have already stated, we can't fault it, either for the welcome we received or for the accommodation.

Sue and Sharon are professional but welcoming hosts and the hotel itself is more like a large, comfortable family home than a hotel. The King Spa room we stayed in (5) was not huge, but it was well-appointed, very pleasant, scrupulously clean with lovely bedlinen and it just has the most remarkable bathroom (all tiled, lovely spa bath). But the best of it was - the food was excellent. With its location - just a couple of minutes from the coastal walk to Perranporth and St Agnes, and with a bus that stops outside and takes you to St Ives - we found it to be a perfect place for a relaxing break.

The delight was in the details - the bowl of fresh strawberries at breakfast; the fresh coffee and cafetiere in the room (a very unusual detail in my experience); the lovely homemade bread with a taste of caraway seeds; the fresh eggs from the cornfed chickens running about outside... it felt like being very well looked after, and we certainly were!

We ate two breakfasts (very good - lots of choice and served in a light, pretty dining room) and we also had a dinner. There was a good menu but we for our main we chose a splendid fresh crab linguine which Sharon made specially, having asked us what we fancied in the morning. As I said, it was like being looked after as a friend, rather than a guest, but discreetly, efficiently and without any fuss. And it was very reasonable!

So, we had a wonderful relaxing time... and although we would like to keep the secret all to ourselves, we just feel that Sue and Sharon have it right. They well deserve their success, and to be first in accommodation in this area.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tandannik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 26 May 2011

My husband and I are walking the South west Coast path and chose this hotel as it is on the route. We had a 5 night stay and were treated to a wonderful meal each evening cooked by Sharon and Sue and stupendous breakfasts to set us on our way each morning.
Our room was very comfortable with an enormous bed, although my husband found the en-suite a bit tight, but the shower was great and everything was very clean.
We were made very welcome, the bar seemed to be open just when we wanted it to be too.
We will definitely be returning later in the year.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janeytob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minster, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 13 May 2011

On our arrival we were toasted with champaigne as it was our 40th anniversary and made very welcome in a hotel with a really relaxed and great family atmosphere by Sue and Sharon who knew their job and the area very well. They had loads advice about where to visit during our stay. The meals were delicious. The room was great with nice en suite. Definetley recommended.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TopTeddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Perranporth
2.8 mi away
Beacon Country House Hotel
1.7 mi away
Rose in Vale Country House Hotel
2.0 mi away
The Driftwood Spars B & B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
2.3 mi away
St. Agnes Hotel
St. Agnes Hotel
#3 of 4 in St Agnes
198 reviews
5.9 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#5 of 38 in Newquay
1,299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St George's Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St George's Country House Hotel

Property: St George's Country House Hotel
Address: St George's Hill, Perranporth TR6 0ED , England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Perranporth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Perranporth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — St George's Country House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The St George's Country House Hotel is a small B&B located in top of the hill overlooking Perranporth and the countryside. We have wonderful panoramic views and the Southwest Coastal Path is just a hop away. We offer a full English Breakfast. We also offer home cooked dinner for travellers who wish to dine in. All the rooms are en suite and have free wifi. We have a full bar and lounge with comfortable seating. Our holiday cottage ' The Shed out Back' is a new one bed cottage which sleeps 2 adults. It can be rented for a minimum of 3 nights. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your St George's Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Georges Country Perranporth
Hotel St Georges Country
St George's Country House Hotel Perranporth, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing