We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcoming guest house with fabulous food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
St George's Country House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 11 Perranporth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Sharon and Sue made us feel very welcome from the moment we arrived.
Our room was adequately sized for a family of 3 and very clean. The beds were very comfortable and due to the countryside location it was perfect for a good nights sleep.
The food was fresh, most of it was home made (particularly the bread, which we miss already) and the choice of fresh fruit, cereal and full English was amazing.
Nothing was too much trouble for Sharon and Sue and the whole stay was just what you want for a conveniently placed country house. They were also full of local knowledge which helped us to plan our holiday activities.

Room Tip: Room no'8 at the top, has a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WPonder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stgeorgeCornwall, Owner at St George's Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2013

Thank you for your lovely review.. It was great to meet you this Summer. Doesn't it seem an age ago? Sorry we have taken so long to reply. We hope you will be back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (251)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

140 - 146 of 251 reviews

Reviewed 15 August 2013

Nothing was too much trouble for Sharon and Sue, the two charming ladies who run the St. Georges Country Hotel. From the home made bread every morning, the delicious home cooked meals in the evening, to the supply of recipes on request of a chocolate puddle pudding that was truly historic!
The beds were comfortable, the linens good quality and the family room we stayed in sparking clean. My children were really delighted to find a huge range of board games in the comfortable sitting room, and with a well stocked very reasonably priced bar we were also happy!
There are pretty little quail in the garden, a very friendly dog and at only a couple of short minutes drive to the fabulous beach at Perranporth I don't think I can think of a better place to stay. We will certainly be returning the next time we are in the area. Thank you so much Sharon and Sue.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fiona H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stgeorgeCornwall, Owner at St George's Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2013

It was really lovely to meet you all this Summer. It has been a very busy one, hence the reason for the lateness of this response for which we apologise. It seems a lifetime ago but we hope that the relaxing benefits of your stay with us lasted a long time and we look forward to seeing you again soon here in Cornwall.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2013

We slept in the four poster room (which I did not ask for so was a nice surprise). A very nice welcome. Room was very clean and looked over the garden. Snug but adequate. We were with our dog for the first time so there wasn't a huge amount to put the dog bed too.
Bathroom was nice. Good hot shower. Slept well! Very quiet. Good mattress.
We didn't eat the special meal offered that night at the restaurant because we had other arrangements. Wifi was good.
Breakfast was very nice. Nice museli and excellent yoghurt. Fried English was good.
Would recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarasweb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stgeorgeCornwall, Owner at St George's Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2013

We are so pleased you enjoyed your first stay at St George's and hope you will come again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

We have just returned from a fabulous weekend in cornwall . It was very last minute because weather forecast was amazing,. we were so lucky to find the St Georges Hotel in Perranporth.
Sharon and Sue the owners are truely lovely welcoming and hospitable people who make every effort to make sure your stay is perfect. Our room was lovely and bright , only slight downside was our bathroom bit small ,but we were only staying 2 nights so now really a problem. The Hotel is very comfortable with a lovely garden,bar with comfy leather sofas very pretty garden to sit outside. the weather amazing and we had dinner outside which was so delicious and freshly cooked and beautifully presented. Breakfast was fabulous. sitting in the sunny dining room very rustic which i loved. Doors open onto decking and a view to die for.!!! gorgeous choice of juices, granola ,greek yogurt, fruit all seasonal strawberries raspberry blueberries etc.the choice of cooked breakfast tea Coffee. Toast. You would need to drive or taxi into perranporth as Hotel on a Hill and no pavement so far down. but we got a cab for £3.50 when going out for dinner so no, problem. cant wait to revisit and so delighted we have found the st Georges Hotel.
Will thoroughly recommend. Helen and David.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank helen s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stgeorgeCornwall, Owner at St George's Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2013

Thank you so much for your lovely review. It is always great to hear that people have enjoyed their stay with us , whether short or long. We do appreciate you taking the time and trouble to write and we hope that you will come and stay again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013

Alan my husband found this hotel on the internet. We were very impressed with the write up about it so decided to book it in January 2013 over the internet which was very easy to do with no problems. We checked at the end of June to make sure everything was still ok with the booking since we had booked some months before. No problems and was looking forward to seeing us
.
We arrived at the hotel at 1.30pmish to be greeted by Sharon one of the owners, who made us very welcome, we were introduced to Sue the other owner a little later. We were shown around the hotel and then shown our room.
We had the room with the 4 poster bed which was very comfy, shower en suite (never without hot water), tea/coffee facilities. The rooms were tidied every day.
We were very impressed in what we had already seen.

We could use the rooms downstairs just as if it was our own house.
Living room with a big television, big sofas and chairs to sit on, books to read board games to play toys for children including DVD's for both children and families to watch.
Room where the breakfast was to be had a bar which had every drink you could think of and plenty or comfy sitting space.

You couldn't fault the breakfast- it would be your own fault if you were still hungry
On offer each morning there was fresh juice, tea, coffee, cereal, yoghurt, toast, and a full English breakfast.
You could have an evening meal for an extra charge as long as you let them know first thing in the morning

Outside was a lovely garden that you could go and relax in either in the sun or in the shade if you wanted.
There's plenty of room to park your car of the road.

Sharon & Sue was very helpful if you wanted to know anything about the area.

We would recommend this hotel to anybody who wants to go somewhere that's like home from home. We will certainly be going back again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Houghton1204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stgeorgeCornwall, Owner at St George's Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2013

We were really happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you so much for your kind and detailed review. It was a pleasure meeting you and we hope that you will come and see us again one day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2013

My husband and I had such a lovely overnight stay at this hotel and the service really was above and beyond the call of duty! We had got lost walking the coastal path and were soaking wet. Sharon came out to find us and took us to the hotel, dried our wet clothes for us and generally did a fabulous job of making us feel welcome.
The lovely lounge and bar area are perfect for meeting fellow guests and the delicious meal provided made it a special evening. Breakfast too was yummy.
The room was lovely and cosy and the bathroom quite adequate.
If we lived closer, we would definitely go back and stay longer.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stgeorgeCornwall, Owner at St George's Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2013

Thank you for your review. We were glad to be of help in that very wet weather. What a pity the heavy rain forced you to abandon the rest of the coastal footpath! Hopefully your extra few days in London made up for it. It was a pleasure meeting you both.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2013 via mobile

I received a Very warm welcome at St George's country house. I stayed in a lovely room, which was spotlessly clean, a good size with a dressing table, plenty of wardrobe space even if two of you were staying for a week, a full length mirror and a box window seat, I checked in at half 2, which was no problem at all, the en suite was beautifully fitted, with a good size shower, large towels & nice toiletries. The real coffee & cafetiere in room were appreciated, together with organic clipper tea, although no biscuits or water were provided. The wifi was great, i was able to complete some work in the evening, with lovely views of the countryside from the window. Perranporth itself is lovely, with a mice beach & plenty of shops to browse, although it is a very long steep hill to walk back up to the hotel, so not suitable for many who wish to be able to walk to & from the town. I had an excellent nights sleep, Very comfortable bed, like sleeping under a cloud!
I dined at the hotel; as a solo traveller I prefer not to have to search for an evening meal, however there were many places that looked appealing in perranporth. The hotel has a set menu which for that night was crab linguine however I am not a lover of crab and so I was offered spaghetti carbonara instead. I also indulged in a desert of bread & butter pudding which was lovely. The bar was very well stocked, and had an extensive wine list. The house rose was very good.
Breakfast was superb, with cereals, fruit & yogurts available to help yourself, my choice of granola, grapefruit & natural yogurt was delicious. There was Apple & orange juice together with coffee available for you to help yourself to. Pots of Tea were served to the table if that is your preference together with toast made from homemade bread, jam & marmalade. You can then choose any combination of cooked breakfast, again all delicious.
The only downside of my stat, whilst i couldn't hear people in the other rooms, my room was situated above the kitchen and I could hear talking, singing, playing music etc. not a major issue as it was during the evening and had I been part of a couple no doubt I would not have heard it as we would have been talking ourselves.
This is a lovely hotel, with beautiful gardens that I did not get the chance to enjoy, however I will return, perhaps with my family. I would thoroughly recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gemma O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stgeorgeCornwall, Owner at St George's Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time, in what must be a very busy life, to write such a lovely and detailed review of your stay with us. We really enjoyed meeting you and learning about your interesting job and your beautiful family. We do hope that you will visit us again, whether it be for work or not. Apologies for the singing in the kitchen. Sharon is trying hard to control the urge to join in with Emily Sande while cooking!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Perranporth
1.7 mi away
Rose in Vale Country House Hotel
2.3 mi away
St. Agnes Hotel
St. Agnes Hotel
#3 of 4 in St Agnes
219 reviews
5.8 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Beacon Country House Hotel
5.9 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#6 of 37 in Newquay
1,402 reviews
6.5 mi away
Hotel Sunnyside Newquay
Hotel Sunnyside Newquay
#20 of 37 in Newquay
365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St George's Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St George's Country House Hotel

Address: St. Georges Hill, Perranporth TR6 0ED, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Perranporth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Perranporth
Price Range: £98 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — St George's Country House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The St George's Country House Hotel is a small B&B located in top of the hill overlooking Perranporth and the countryside. We have wonderful panoramic views and the Southwest Coastal Path is just a hop away. We offer a full English Breakfast. We also offer home cooked dinner for travellers who wish to dine in. All the rooms are en suite and have free wifi. We have a full bar and lounge with comfortable seating. Our holiday cottage ' The Shed out Back' is a new one bed cottage which sleeps 2 adults. It can be rented for a minimum of 3 nights. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your St George's Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Georges Country Perranporth
Hotel St Georges Country
St George's Country House Hotel Perranporth, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing