We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb location for People who love 'Poldark'!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
St George's Country House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 11 Perranporth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 September 2013

For anyone who loves Poldark and are on the look out for locations this Country Hotel is superbly situated in a beauty spot among the cliffs covered in purple and pink Heather which stretch down towards Perran Sands. Our hosts made my daughter and I most welcome and saw to our needs cheerfully and kindly; while our room was comfortable clean and tidy with superb shower and toilet facilities. It would be hard to find fault with our 6 night stay and so I will not all I can say is that I wouldn't hesitate to recommend Sharon and Sue and their establishment because they did what they could to accomodate our needs and we had a very happy time there. The breakfasts (I began with fruit and yogurt and went on to have a full english breakfast every morning) were delicious and all needs considered and catered for. I particularly enjoyed watching the dog in the garden and waking up and opening the window to reveal the surrounding rugged Cornish countryside...

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stgeorgeCornwall, Owner at St George's Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2013

It was a real pleasure to meet you and your daughter this Summer and we are so glad that you enjoyed your Poldark fix !! Do come back again soon. There is still masses to see.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (251)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

137 - 143 of 251 reviews

Reviewed 30 August 2013

Sue and Sharon are the perfect hosts, we were in a beautifully appointed room with lovely country views, Could not praise enough how happy we were with our stay, we only intended to stay three nights, but we decided on an additional night which was catered for no problem, My wife Enjoyed spending a little time with Jess the young collie,

Room Tip: Room 2 Four poster Bed gorgeous views,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pjc48234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stgeorgeCornwall, Owner at St George's Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2013

We were so glad that we were able to accommodate you for that extra night due to a cancellation. Thank you for your lovely review. Jessie really missed you when you left so you need to come back soon!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2013

This hotel is set in beautiful countryside set on the hill a minute drive above Perranporth. I was staying here for work but I would definitely come back for a holiday and recommend to friends and family.

The room was very clean, recently decorated, with retro vintage styled furniture and a new modern bathroom facilities (always a winner). The full English breakfast was delicious and included delights such as homemade bread, eggs laid by the chickens in the garden and amazing bacon. The owner also does supper if then evening if required (for an additional cost) and meals were equally as sumptuous. The communal spaces include bar and living room. I used the bar area in the evening for wifi/work and it was relaxed and friendly. Overall I thought the atmosphere and service was top notch. This hotel is great value for money. Definitely worth a visit.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stgeorgeCornwall, Owner at St George's Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2013

Thank you for your kind review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope that you will be able to return one day for pleasure rather than work.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Sharon and Sue made us feel very welcome from the moment we arrived.
Our room was adequately sized for a family of 3 and very clean. The beds were very comfortable and due to the countryside location it was perfect for a good nights sleep.
The food was fresh, most of it was home made (particularly the bread, which we miss already) and the choice of fresh fruit, cereal and full English was amazing.
Nothing was too much trouble for Sharon and Sue and the whole stay was just what you want for a conveniently placed country house. They were also full of local knowledge which helped us to plan our holiday activities.

Room Tip: Room no'8 at the top, has a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WPonder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stgeorgeCornwall, Owner at St George's Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2013

Thank you for your lovely review.. It was great to meet you this Summer. Doesn't it seem an age ago? Sorry we have taken so long to reply. We hope you will be back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

Nothing was too much trouble for Sharon and Sue, the two charming ladies who run the St. Georges Country Hotel. From the home made bread every morning, the delicious home cooked meals in the evening, to the supply of recipes on request of a chocolate puddle pudding that was truly historic!
The beds were comfortable, the linens good quality and the family room we stayed in sparking clean. My children were really delighted to find a huge range of board games in the comfortable sitting room, and with a well stocked very reasonably priced bar we were also happy!
There are pretty little quail in the garden, a very friendly dog and at only a couple of short minutes drive to the fabulous beach at Perranporth I don't think I can think of a better place to stay. We will certainly be returning the next time we are in the area. Thank you so much Sharon and Sue.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fiona H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stgeorgeCornwall, Owner at St George's Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2013

It was really lovely to meet you all this Summer. It has been a very busy one, hence the reason for the lateness of this response for which we apologise. It seems a lifetime ago but we hope that the relaxing benefits of your stay with us lasted a long time and we look forward to seeing you again soon here in Cornwall.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2013

We slept in the four poster room (which I did not ask for so was a nice surprise). A very nice welcome. Room was very clean and looked over the garden. Snug but adequate. We were with our dog for the first time so there wasn't a huge amount to put the dog bed too.
Bathroom was nice. Good hot shower. Slept well! Very quiet. Good mattress.
We didn't eat the special meal offered that night at the restaurant because we had other arrangements. Wifi was good.
Breakfast was very nice. Nice museli and excellent yoghurt. Fried English was good.
Would recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarasweb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stgeorgeCornwall, Owner at St George's Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2013

We are so pleased you enjoyed your first stay at St George's and hope you will come again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

We have just returned from a fabulous weekend in cornwall . It was very last minute because weather forecast was amazing,. we were so lucky to find the St Georges Hotel in Perranporth.
Sharon and Sue the owners are truely lovely welcoming and hospitable people who make every effort to make sure your stay is perfect. Our room was lovely and bright , only slight downside was our bathroom bit small ,but we were only staying 2 nights so now really a problem. The Hotel is very comfortable with a lovely garden,bar with comfy leather sofas very pretty garden to sit outside. the weather amazing and we had dinner outside which was so delicious and freshly cooked and beautifully presented. Breakfast was fabulous. sitting in the sunny dining room very rustic which i loved. Doors open onto decking and a view to die for.!!! gorgeous choice of juices, granola ,greek yogurt, fruit all seasonal strawberries raspberry blueberries etc.the choice of cooked breakfast tea Coffee. Toast. You would need to drive or taxi into perranporth as Hotel on a Hill and no pavement so far down. but we got a cab for £3.50 when going out for dinner so no, problem. cant wait to revisit and so delighted we have found the st Georges Hotel.
Will thoroughly recommend. Helen and David.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank helen s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stgeorgeCornwall, Owner at St George's Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2013

Thank you so much for your lovely review. It is always great to hear that people have enjoyed their stay with us , whether short or long. We do appreciate you taking the time and trouble to write and we hope that you will come and stay again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Perranporth
1.7 mi away
Rose in Vale Country House Hotel
2.3 mi away
St. Agnes Hotel
St. Agnes Hotel
#3 of 4 in St Agnes
219 reviews
5.8 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Beacon Country House Hotel
5.9 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#6 of 37 in Newquay
1,403 reviews
6.5 mi away
Hotel Sunnyside Newquay
Hotel Sunnyside Newquay
#20 of 37 in Newquay
365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St George's Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St George's Country House Hotel

Address: St. Georges Hill, Perranporth TR6 0ED, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Perranporth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Perranporth
Price Range: £99 - £121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — St George's Country House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The St George's Country House Hotel is a small B&B located in top of the hill overlooking Perranporth and the countryside. We have wonderful panoramic views and the Southwest Coastal Path is just a hop away. We offer a full English Breakfast. We also offer home cooked dinner for travellers who wish to dine in. All the rooms are en suite and have free wifi. We have a full bar and lounge with comfortable seating. Our holiday cottage ' The Shed out Back' is a new one bed cottage which sleeps 2 adults. It can be rented for a minimum of 3 nights. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your St George's Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Georges Country Perranporth
Hotel St Georges Country
St George's Country House Hotel Perranporth, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing