We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
St George's Country House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 11 Perranporth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
1,913 reviews
215 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 921 helpful votes
“Very good B&B”
Reviewed 14 October 2013

This was our stop-over point after day 2 of 4 walking part of the SWCP from Padstow to St. Ives. Not really the best location as it is some way out of town and meant us walking an extra 1.5 miles on the day (albeit with a consequent reduction on day 3), although it meant we did get some spectacular early evening views. The location would not have mattered so much had the bistro there been open, but Sue & Sharon were out for the evening and so we had to take a taxi into town to find somewhere to eat (where we did come up trumps with the Pavilion Boatshed - great place!).
Their absence probably also contributed to a rather muddled arrival (e.g. there were no towels in our room), but they made up for it in the morning with a great breakfast, with very friendly service and home baked bread.
Importantly the bed was very comfy even if the room was on the small side, so this is a place that we may well visit again and could recommend to others.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GrumpsDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stgeorgeCornwall, Owner at St George's Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and apologise that your arrival coincided with one of the very rare occasion when we had to rely on others to welcome you. We look forward to your next visit when we hope to be able to give you the full St George's experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    182
    43
    11
    4
    4
See reviews for
54
124
9
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
shropshire
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

I drive a Fiat Bravo T-Jet and I love this car but there are some significant problems with it. If St Georges was manufactured it would be made at the same factory......

Just like my Fiat it is incredibly expensive. I have stayed at the Crowne Plaza near Buckingham Palace and paid less for B&B. At my favourite 5* hotel in Majorca I get all inclusive and a swimming pool for a night's B&B at St Georges. The hotel is situated well outside of Perranporth and you cannot walk at night into town. The road is dangerous and the cliff path is very very dangerous. There is a route across the fields but......... So that's most of the bad bits!

Just like my Fiat I really like it though. The hosts are very welcoming and unobtrusive. The hotel is very very comfortable with a delightful lounge, a bar area and well appointed surroundings. When you say King Size bed you really mean massive king size bed. If you eat evening meals at the hotel then you will be spoilt as the cooking is delicious and all freshly prepared. Breakfast is nice too. There's some very friendly dogs around (if you like dogs) and on a sunny warm day you could have breakfast outside.

But still I think..... The ensuite is for those who are not too wide (and the toilet downstairs). You need a quick 100 yard walk up the road to safety if you are going anywhere on foot.

So yes I would love to return but you must go when the nights are still light so you can walk in safety in the evening. If only it was nearer the sea, with a safe route into town at night and 30% cheaper this would probably be my favourite place ever to stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank r2uzenblot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stgeorgeCornwall, Owner at St George's Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Thank you for your review. Being a bit of a car snob I would prefer to liken us to a Volvo - well built, (the house, I mean) reliable, comfortable and offering so much more than most. With the Volvo, as with St Georges, you keep finding the little extras that make it what it is. It is the attention to detail that sets both the Volvo and us apart. Value for money is a very personal thing but we offer a special service and would go out of our way to fulfill any request where possible. Of course you will find deals in London and the all-inclusive hotels abroad, but they don't offer what we offer. It is true we are a little out of town but the taxis are not expensive for the 3 minute drive into town and we charge nothing if we have time to do it. You only need to ask. The coastal path is definitely not dangerous unless, of course, one is foolish enough to attempt it in the dark.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Myself and a friend stopped at St George's during our coastal walk from Padstow to St Ives. After a long days walk in the hot sun, we were looking to a restful place to recoup, ready for the next day. Boy, were we pleased with St George's Hotel.
The room was very clean and comfortable. Shower was powerful, and food was fantastic. Recommend the chop with jacket potato, and fruit crumble for sweet. Stunning.
Five minutes from the coastal path, and set in beautiful Cornish countryside.
I will definitely return, but for longer next time. Fully recommended.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Russell3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stgeorgeCornwall, Owner at St George's Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
The Coastal Footpath walkers form a significant part of our clientele as we are only two minutes off the path. It is, therefore, always good to know that the walkers love it here. Our powerful showers, good food and wine, comfortable beds and relaxing atmosphere usually form the basis of a pleasant stopover. Many, like yourselves, like it so much here that they come back just for a holiday. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Was pleasantly surprised. ST Georges a real home from home hotel, great food and wonderful owners, made to feel very welcome by Sue and Sharon, a lovely relaxed atmosphere, will be our automatic choice when we next visit Perranporth, will be recommending to all our family and friends.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stgeorgeCornwall, Owner at St George's Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back one day soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hitchin
1 review
Reviewed 7 September 2013

We have stayed at St Georges Hotel for the past 4 years summer holidays and the hosts Sharon and Sue could not be more welcoming and we feel we can relax and enjoy the hotel and the food is absolutely excellent. Sue and Sharon are so helpful when finding the special places in the location for days out. We recommend this as a friendly clean and great food Hotel. Mike and Janet

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stgeorgeCornwall, Owner at St George's Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
It is always lovely to welcome you back. Loyal guests like you are such a pleasure to look after. Thank you for your review. We look forward to seeing you next Summer. I feel another musical evening coming on! This year's was great fun.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

After an intense tour of California in June and July, we needed somewhere to relax for a few days with our dog. This place is friendly, welcoming, well located and great value. Rooms good with a powerful shower (very important). Great breakfasts and catered for us fussy vegetarians! Honey, our 8 month old cocker spaniel loved the big garden, and a playmate in Jessie, the resident border collie. Honey loved it so much shes sulked since she got home! Well recommended and would stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stgeorgeCornwall, Owner at St George's Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
We still have happy memories of Jess playing in the garden with Honey. It seems a long time ago and we apologise for taking so long to respond. Thank you for your lovely review. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nantes, Pays de la Loire, France
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

For anyone who loves Poldark and are on the look out for locations this Country Hotel is superbly situated in a beauty spot among the cliffs covered in purple and pink Heather which stretch down towards Perran Sands. Our hosts made my daughter and I most welcome and saw to our needs cheerfully and kindly; while our room was comfortable clean and tidy with superb shower and toilet facilities. It would be hard to find fault with our 6 night stay and so I will not all I can say is that I wouldn't hesitate to recommend Sharon and Sue and their establishment because they did what they could to accomodate our needs and we had a very happy time there. The breakfasts (I began with fruit and yogurt and went on to have a full english breakfast every morning) were delicious and all needs considered and catered for. I particularly enjoyed watching the dog in the garden and waking up and opening the window to reveal the surrounding rugged Cornish countryside...

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stgeorgeCornwall, Owner at St George's Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
It was a real pleasure to meet you and your daughter this Summer and we are so glad that you enjoyed your Poldark fix !! Do come back again soon. There is still masses to see.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Perranporth
1.7 mi away
Rose in Vale Country House Hotel
2.3 mi away
St. Agnes Hotel
St. Agnes Hotel
#3 of 4 in St Agnes
214 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Driftwood Spars B & B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Beacon Country House Hotel
5.8 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
6.5 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St George's Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St George's Country House Hotel

Property: St George's Country House Hotel
Address: St. Georges Hill, Perranporth TR6 0ED, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Perranporth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Perranporth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — St George's Country House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The St George's Country House Hotel is a small B&B located in top of the hill overlooking Perranporth and the countryside. We have wonderful panoramic views and the Southwest Coastal Path is just a hop away. We offer a full English Breakfast. We also offer home cooked dinner for travellers who wish to dine in. All the rooms are en suite and have free wifi. We have a full bar and lounge with comfortable seating. Our holiday cottage ' The Shed out Back' is a new one bed cottage which sleeps 2 adults. It can be rented for a minimum of 3 nights. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your St George's Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Georges Country Perranporth
Hotel St Georges Country
St George's Country House Hotel Perranporth, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing