We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home from home in Cornwall” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of St George's Country House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
St George's Country House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 11 Perranporth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Birchington, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Home from home in Cornwall”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

Four really comfortable nights, a friendly welcome, and the food was quite remarkably good, home cooked, fresh local ingredients, it was uniformly delicious.
The hotel is well situated being close to the beaches at Perranporth, St Agnes and Portreath, This last is a perfect start point to a wide variety of well signposted cycling (or walking) trails, so we were able to pursue our three favourite pastimes! Body boarding, cycling and eating. A great few days that that was made even better by the informal warmth of everybody at the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TomEB193
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    159
    42
    10
    4
    4
See reviews for
49
110
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

Having stayed at a range of B and Bs during a two week day holiday in Devon and Cornwall we found this Hotel very pricey for the standard of the accommodation, although the breakfast was very good. The room and shower room were 'compact' and looked out on the car park and quite busy road, and the sound of the passing cars was intrusive, We didn't find the welcome that friendly and we had to wait for a long time to get bar service in the evening, although had a good chat with the man who eventually served us. The evening meal seemed pricey too so we opted to dine elsewhere. It is only a short walk to the coastal path however and there are very good views there. Overall didn't feel good value and would recommend they bring the room and food prices down.

Room Tip: Try for a room overlooking the garden at back not overlooking the car park and fairly noisy road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Howard D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stgeorgeCornwall, Owner at St George's Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
I am very sorry and shocked that you did not find us friendly. Are you sure you're reviewing the right place? We have rectified the problem of traffic noise on the hot nights when windows are open by providing fans for the two rooms that overlook the road. I am glad that you enjoyed our breakfasts. It is a pity that you did not try our evening meals. They are of the same standard - everything home cooked, locally sourced and of the highest quality and, therefore, not overpriced. We will not be lowering the prices as we feel we offer good value, both in our hospitality and our food. I wonder how many Bed and Breakfast establishments you found in your two week holiday who had such a comprehensively stocked bar and who offered a home cooked evening meal every day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zuid-Beijerland, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

After a long coastal walk we received a warm welcome at St. Georges. We were so glad that we didn't have to walk back for supper. It was delicious!! After supper we sat in the cozy lounge to have coffee. After a good night sleep in a tastefully decorated room, we enjoyed breakfast with local and fresh ingredients. After that we were ready for the next part of our coastal walk.
Highly recommended!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan en Suzanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stgeorgeCornwall, Owner at St George's Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. thank you for taking the time to write a review. We hope the rest of the coastal walk went well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

A big thanks to Sharon and the others for the welcome extended to two tired walkers. Praise due for help with the laundry but especially the home-made chicken pie - and the pudding to follow was memorable. Walk up the hill from the town was more than worth it.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stgeorgeCornwall, Owner at St George's Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Thank you for your kind review. It is always good to know that the coastal walkers found the extra mile well worth it
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

What a lovely place to stay. Felt very welcomed by the owners Sharon and Sue who do an amazing job at running the place, very friendly and eager for you to make the most out of your stay. Very clean, wonderful home cooked dinner, good range of drink choice at the bar, plenty to chose from for breakfast, room was perfect, some sports equipment in the garden to keep the children/adults amused, I would definitely recommend and would stay again. Thank you Sharon and Sue for a lovely time!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steph B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stgeorgeCornwall, Owner at St George's Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
We are very happy that you enjoyed your time with us and look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

Warm welcome and interesting house. We had a large room but tiny bathroom without bath. Didn't have dinner but enjoyed a drink in the large garden. Breakfast was nice. Best thing about it was the relaxed atmosphere, if you want formal don't stay here.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Abigailrose973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
449 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

We are walking the coastal path and all our nightly accommodation has been booked on our behalf, so we were not really sure what to expect. What we found was a lovely establishment tucked away about a mile outside Perranporth. Our welcome was friendly and they seemed to cater for the various whims of long distance walkers! To save you having to walk back into Perranporth either along the coastal path or the main road (no pavement) (neither route to be recommended in the dark), the hotel will prepare you an evening meal and have a fully stocked bar. All the food is prepared on site including homemade cheesecake for dinner and homemade breads and jams at breakfast. Our room was roadside which meant although not busy, the passing traffic was quite apparent. I also thought the cost of the evening meal was more than I would have paid had I popped down into town but for convenience, I expect to pay a little more.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kevin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Perranporth
1.7 mi away
Rose in Vale Country House Hotel
2.3 mi away
St. Agnes Hotel
St. Agnes Hotel
#3 of 4 in St Agnes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Driftwood Spars B & B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#5 of 38 in Newquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,273 reviews
2.8 mi away
Beacon Country House Hotel
6.5 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St George's Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St George's Country House Hotel

Property: St George's Country House Hotel
Address: St George's Hill, Perranporth TR6 0ED , England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Perranporth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Perranporth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — St George's Country House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The St George's Country House Hotel is a small B&B located in top of the hill overlooking Perranporth and the countryside. We have wonderful panoramic views and the Southwest Coastal Path is just a hop away. We offer a full English Breakfast. We also offer home cooked dinner for travellers who wish to dine in. All the rooms are en suite and have free wifi. We have a full bar and lounge with comfortable seating. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your St George's Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Georges Country Perranporth
Hotel St Georges Country
St George's Country House Hotel Perranporth, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing