We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“paying for the sea view only!”
Review of The Seiners Arms

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Perranporth
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Seiners Arms
Ranked #2 of 11 Perranporth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 June 2014

we were staying for a wedding and booked a ground floor room but when we arrived were told we were on the 1st floor! a bit annoyed as my partner has difficulty walking. We were very surprised with the quality of the room for the price of £85. Everything is very tired looking, the bedside tables were flaking with paint, the shower screen had come away from the bath & had 3 cracked tiles behind the taps, the toilet seat was flaking as was the bath panel. The wardrobe handle was loose & we felt that spending some time on these rooms would help as they just felt neglected. Somebody has made a start on a beach theme for the room but it wasn't finished or matched with the rest of the décor. The rubber mat was worn out & marked. We feel the room is worth about £40 & you are only paying for the spectacular view across the beach. At night it was very noisy, inside & outside. In the morning we made a coffee in the room before breakfast, the coffee was a cheap brand & couldn't drink it. The cup was dirty & had to wash it before using. Breakfast is in a upstairs restaurant, could help yourself to cereal, juice etc which was very good. We ordered a full English which consisted of 1 helping of each including barely cooked bacon (1 rasher) deep fried half a piece of bread!!! The staff were very attentive & worked hard but they were short staffed & breakfast couldn't begin on time. this venue is superb for a wedding but it definitely wasn't worth the money we paid. we only hope the honeymoon suite wasn't as bad. Such a shame as this could be made into a fantastic place.

Room Tip: worth the extra money for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Katie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (509)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

247 - 253 of 509 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2014

This is a VERY typical English style Guest House that's not been brought into the 21st century. In some ways that's a good thing...the pub. In other ways it's a bit annoying...the quality of the rooms.
The location is absolutely spectacular which is probably how they can get away with the room charges which are a bit pricey for the standard. They've not been renovated for years and there's plenty evidence of quick repairs, plugs missing, tiles cracked and so on. All the fittings are as cheap as can be and to be fair, someone (I'm guessing a woman) has had a go at little bits of colour co-ordination and matching accessories here and there to make the place more homely. I can imagine that their target market is weekenders and folk looking for cheap accommodation as close to the huge beach as you can get, so there will be no real motivation for the owners to spend any real time and effort on decor, which is a shame, because they could have a truly great restaurant or much better food offering that people would pay more for. But for a weekend it's perfectly fine. I wouldn't want to spend a week there though.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TallScotsGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Lovely location on the beach. We were there for 3 nights for a wedding and the Seiners does these really well. I only have one complaint and it relates to the room we were staying in (number 29). The mattress was terrible not only is there absolutely no wadding on the springs but the springs themselves are on the way out. It was the worst 3 nights sleep I have had for years. I would definitely go back again but would ask about the bed first. No one else had as much of a problem as we did so other rooms may have newer beds. I did email them when I returned but have not had any response. There is also a very bright light outside this room which was an issue for my partner who is a much lighter sleeper than I am.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pinkpookie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

This hotel really knows how to put on a wedding, superb Ocean views. Fresh local food and plenty of it, great staff who excel at their jobs. From the moment you arrive you are put at ease by the overall welcome.
Yes the rooms are a bit dated, yes parking is a bit hap hazard, there are plenty of sterile box type hotels out there where you are just a number. The Seiners makes you part of the family, don't miss Thursday nights Quiz night. Its not for the to serious and Lisa will get you all doing crazy stuff to earn extra points. We will all be going back 76 of us.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TBone147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

Just returned from our wedding here at the seiners. We couldn't have asked for a better venue. Lisa and dan are really fantastic and made sure that everything ran smoothly. The food was outstanding and all the guests have commented so. If you are looking for a beach wedding in Cornwall then look no further!! Very reasonably priced. We have been to perranporth on holiday for the past 5 years and always pay the seiners a visit. Couldn't recommend enough!!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elza15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

When we saw the Seiners Arms, we where a little cautious, there was no need to be concerned, a great welcome from the staff and a complementally coffee while the paperwork was filled in, a very good room and very clean, not only that a BATH, we ate in the bar that evening and the meal was excellent

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frederick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Maybe a little disorganised and the rooms could do with updating but it's good for what you pay, there's a great view (except for the horrible new pub that's now been built on Perranporth beach - what were they thinking?) and the staff are very friendly.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bentonstoke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Perranporth
2.4 mi away
Rose in Vale Country House Hotel
5.0 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
5.7 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
St. Agnes Hotel
St. Agnes Hotel
#3 of 4 in St Agnes
219 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Driftwood Spars B & B
5.8 mi away
Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Seiners Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Seiners Arms

Address: The Beachfront, Perranporth TR6 0DP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Perranporth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Perranporth
Price Range: £40 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A family run bed and breakfast with a traditional Cornish bar and restaurant overlooking Perranporth beach. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Seiners Arms Hotel
The Seiners Arms Perranporth, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing