We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent accommodation, immaculately clean and...”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
21 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Perranporth, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
helen n
thrapston
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent accommodation, immaculately clean and very well provisioned.”
Reviewed 3 July 2017 for a stay in June 2017

We found the annexe perfect for us two, although a sofa bed in the lounge allows for an extra person(s). We found the standard of cleanliness outstanding and the accommodation is beautifully and tastefully decorated. Everything you need for a very comfortable stay. Yes there is no washing machine, but its certainly outweighed by the other great features and facilities of the property. Jo and Mike are friendly and welcoming, yet allow you your privacy. It is located in a very picturesque coombe with lovely walking opportunities. In such a secluded and quiet spot, the access road is narrow but please don't let this put you off! No one would want a busy road outside and so this quiet cornish lane is charming. Perranporth very close, but for us St Agnes and Trevaunance cove (walk from car park in village if u dont mind a walk down stippy stappy, or the walk up!) is our favourite (check out the Beachcomber cafe overlooking beach, car park nearby). Great walks up to St Agnes Beacon (access from Beacon drive just short of Chapelporth and also park up on the large car park opposite near the cliffs for outstanding view and cliff top walking going for miles each way.. Chapelporth cove next to St Agnes (national trust) a beautiful little gem Thanks again for such a very good place to stay and hope to come back at some point for more gardening chats!!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
29 Jun 2017
Thank you for your review, we're pleased you enjoyed your stay here! Maybe we'll see you again .... x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
John R
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“Superb accommodation in idyllic location.”
Reviewed 29 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Far enough away from Perranporth to give you peace and quiet but near enough for it's beach, facilities and the SW coastal path. There's a great local pub, 'The Bolingey Inn' ten minutes along the road. There's also a decent bus service from Perranporth to Truro and Newquay so, if like me you are a SW coast path walker, you can connect to do other bits of the coastal path.
The property itself had virtually everything I needed, (all high quality and working properly) and a nice little front garden to sit in. I say 'virtually' because for me whilst I knew in advance there was no washing machine, personally I'd rather have one of those than a dishwasher because of the amount of walking gear I got through. But, each to their own. There's otherwise loads of room in the property for one (like me) or two people with ample wardrobe space in the bedroom and a comfy bed and it's so quiet there, it's easy to sleep!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Jun 2017
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. We're so glad you enjoyed your break, you certainly made the most of your time here! We look forward to you staying again some time ...
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacquelin...
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“Great location, exceptionally clean, friendly hosts.”
Reviewed 7 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016

I picked this accommodation after doing a little research and also reading other reviews which listed it as a really excellent accommodation.... and we were not disappointed! It was just my husband and I and the annex was spacious, very clean and catered for all our needs.
Jo and Mike (plus family and animals) were very friendly and provided us with a warm welcome. Nothing was too much trouble, but they respected our privacy too.
The cottage is well furnished and comfortable with a really good powerful shower in a double enclosure which gives you a little extra space. (Previously we have found some showers to be tiny.)
Jo also provided extra clean bed linen and big fluffy towels after our first week which I thought was a lovely and welcome addition; over and above our expectations. . (We were there for two weeks.)
I think this sums it up really, Jo and Mike have gone the extra mile to make your stay as pleasant as possible with nothing too much trouble. We will be back next year!
Oh.... and you must visit the Minack Theatre, Porthcurno beach, and the local Bolingey Inn which served the most amazing food.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The attention to detail and cleanliness.
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElaineF19...
Market Harborough, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent accommdation and base for holiday”
Reviewed 10 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We have had the most amazing week in Cornwall!

The quality of the accommodation and hospitality of the owners, Jo and Mike is some of the best we have ever had. The 'Old School Annexe' was comfortable, clean, fresh and very well equipped with everything catered for. What really makes the difference is the quality of what is provided and the special extra touches that were included! From crisp bed linen and fluffy towels to fresh flowers, a welcome hamper and homemade cake, we were immediately made to feel welcome and part of an extended family. Nothing was too much trouble!

The quiet rural location was perfect, whilst allowing us to get out and explore Cornwall and being blessed with good weather we were able to get out and really explore!

We would truly recommend the 'Old School Annexe' to anyone.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Hospitality and friendliness of owners
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stephen s
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic accommodation in a relaxing location”
Reviewed 25 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

After recently returning from a relaxing 4 night break at The Old School Annex we can honestly say the accommodation has the “wow” factor and has been finished to a very high standard.

The Old School Annex really feels like home from home and when we arrived Jo had even provided us with a lovely cream tea, which she left in the fridge, along with some milk, tea, bread, and eggs. This was a lovely gesture, which was really appreciated, after our long journey.

On arrival Jo and Mike gave us a very warm welcome, along with some ideas of places to visit for dinner. The Miners Arms at Mithey, the Bollingey Inn (just a short walk away) plus the Italian Restaurant in Perranporth are certainly eateries you should try to visit if you can.

The Old School Annex is in a picture postcard location with a bubbling brook running alongside the house. There are lots of walks you can take directly from the Annex along with places further afield such as Perranporth Beach (which is over 2 miles long), Carbis Bay, St Ives (not to be missed) and Padstow.

There is nothing negative we can say about The Old School Annex; Jo and Mike even had the foresight to leave some maps in the Annex, which made planning our daily trips much easier.

Finally I would like to say a big thank you to Jo, Mike and their family for making our stay so enjoyable, we will certainly be recommending the Old School Annex to our family and friends.

Caroline & Steve

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The warm welcome by the owners
Liked least: There was nothing not to like about The Old School Annex
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
heyre
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Absolutely beautiful!!!!!”
Reviewed 24 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016
3
people found this review helpful

We arrived late in the dark , fairy lights guided us to our weekend retreat. The annex is beautifully decorated, everything has been thought of. Fresh bread ,butter, milk, teabags, coffee, sugar,milk scones jam & clotted cream even bacon & eggs were waiting for us .A lovely surprise seeing as we'd left our food at home . The annex was immaculate, crisp fresh bedding & fluffy bath linen. Wish we'd stayed longer. A lovely place to stay. The owners are discrete yet friendly & approachable. The pub down the road is a must *Bolingey* Take a touch for the walk home its not far but its very dark..We will definitely be going back .Thankyou Jo and Mike from Dave & Haidee

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing