We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good B&B, friendly atmosphere”
Review of The Old Mill House

The Old Mill House
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Old Mill House
Ranked #2 of 2 Polbathic B&B and Inns
Reviewed 11 August 2013

Stayed here for two nights this week. Firstly don't be put off by the front. Really doesn't look like much from the road but the view from the back more then makes up for it. Lovely view over fields and a river. The hosts where excellent, offering to carry our bags and tending to our every need. The room was very spacious, decor a little old fashioned but clean and had everything we needed. well priced, defiantly would stay again if in the area. Nice and close to lots of places but away from the business.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank daydreamer743
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (12)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 12 of 12 reviews

Reviewed 30 July 2013

We travelled from Scotland for sons Passing Out Parade at HMS Raleigh and had a friendly welcome from Paul. My first impression of the B & B was that it was in desperate need of modernisation and a good clean. There was a rather unpleasant smell in the family room on the top floor caused I believe from the 'muncher' which breaks down waste from the toilet as not plumbed directly into the sewage. The beds were not very comfortable and the bedding and decor was very old fashioned and 'tired'. Breakfast was average.
The best thing was the homely atmosphere with dogs and cats wandering about and Paul and LIz were very friendly and hospitable plus a beautiful view from the back of the house.
The worst was the level of cleanliness which was appalling (see photos).

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gerry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2012

Came down from Edinburgh by train for a Passing out function at HMS Raleigh. One of the owners kindly picked us up from the station and also took us back to the station at the end of our 2 day stay and refused any payment. The accommodation was spacious, the room was clean, comfortable with beautiful views down the river. The breakfasts were delicious. The owners were very friendly and attentive. If we ever come this far south again we would stay there again.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lindsey A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2012

Stayed for 2 nights. We found the rooms to be comfortable and clean. The hosts were very friendly, and tended to all our needs. The english breakfasts were very tasty and filling, with the hosts accommodating to our breakfast requests each morning. We will definately be returning to stay with Liz and Paul again, and we would recommend them to our friends.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank May S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2011

This b&b had a lot of potential but some problems that blighted our stay. It doesn't look encouraging from the front but the river and fields at the back are lovely. Our hosts were very welcoming and the breakfasts were very good and the room we had, a triple, was reasonably well fitted out. Now the bad news - the guest washroom we used on the way upstairs had not been cleaned - sink full of dust and grime. The loo and shower mats in our ensuite were truly revolting, just filthy. The sink didn't have a u-bend, or whatever they're called on sinks, so horrid smells came up the drain. The shag pile carpet on the stairs and in the lounges was dirty. I'm allergic to cats, so I went through the lower rooms, which they used, at a brisk trot.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank 3yetties
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank RTundo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Martina Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to The Old Mill House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Mill House

Address: | Torpoint, Polbathic PL11 3HA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Polbathic
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Polbathic
Hotel Class:3 star — The Old Mill House 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
The Old Mill House Polbathic, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing