We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing long weekend”
Review of Talland Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Talland Bay Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Porthallow
Certificate of Excellence
Totnes
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Relaxing long weekend”
Reviewed 8 November 2013

Another trip to this wonderful hotel.

Everything was as expected: that is damn near perfect. Great food, excellent staff, and a really nice suite with access to the garden so our dogs could enjoy the hotel too.

I can not recommend this hotel highly enough

Room Tip: stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stefinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

864 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    734
    91
    22
    10
    7
See reviews for
148
582
8
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (262)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Took advantage of the "Romantic Getaway" promotion to celebrate our 30th wedding anniversary on the 5th November. It was also 30 years since we were last at the hotel as we spent the first night of our honeymoon at he hotel in 1983.
While trying to arrange the surprise visit for my wife the hotel staff were very helpful in trying to work out what room we had for our honeymoon. I passed on as much as I could recall and left it to the hotel staff.
As the owners were not in charge back in 1983 and they had no records to assist they tried hard with the little information I could pass on to the hotel staff.
What did I expect when we arrived? Not what was waiting for us!
The hotel had been totally transformed and the room we had, Room 9 was of a very high standard. We had been upgraded from the 'Romantic Getaway' room offer to a first floor sea view room with a balcony.
The food in the restaurant was of a very high standard with a different menu everyday. The staff were polite and very helpful the grounds were well looked after and the whole hotel was decorated to a high quality with some very quirky features as stated by others.
We will not be waiting 30 years before our next visit.
If you are not staying in the hotel but are staying locally or live locally the restaurant is well worth a visit day or night.

Room Tip: Room 9 is well worth the money and in the summer months the balcony would be an extra delight.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank William K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

I can only agree with the recent reviews of this hotel. Difficult to fault from reception to rooms to restaurant and a superb location. You need to visit to understand the quirky touches in both the hotel and the grounds but combined with the excellent service it al works. Dog friendly rooms are available and some exhilarating cliff walks along the coastal path.

Room Tip: Some lovely sea view rooms. Room 28 is a good choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnnySouthampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 21 October 2013

We have visited Talland Bay Hotel twice now during late summer and have already booked for mid summer next year and we hope to visit in the spring too. The hotel and it's setting are magical. The hotel reception rooms, dining rooms. brasserie and bar are luxurious and comfortable. The food is out of this world. The owners and all staff gave us a very warm welcome and made us feel that we were there private guests in their home, rather than paying guests in their hotel. The bedrooms are all luxuriously appointed, so it is really difficult to choose ones favourite - but we have now settled on a Junior Suite with french doors onto the beautiful garden overlooking the sea, which is my ultimate dream. The Talland Bay Hotel is situated near a cove with a small beach - which is within walking distance. The peace and tranquility of this place sets it apart from any other hotel we have ever visited - and we can hardly wait to go back.

Room Tip: All rooms are exquisite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Briar2705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, CA
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

The rooms, the view, the breakfasts all exceptional!
Great access to the coastal path. We have recommended this place multiple times after our visit and will return in the future.
We had our 4 month old daughter and were accommodated nicely.
A glass of sparkling wine out on the lawn over looking the sea...priceless.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WPCRobins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

All adjectives are overused in trip advisor. No superlative words can adequately describe Talland Bay Hotel! I therefore offer a different insight. It is truly remarkable that all the staff work as a team to create the ultimate satisfaction for each individual guest. Every moment of time spent at Talland Bay Hotel is a joy to behold, a joy to witness the enthusiasm and pride that each of the staff has in knowing they are providing the very highest level of customer care. What has been achieved at Talland and delivered consistently day in day out does not happen by accident! To ensure such satisfaction requires an understanding of what quality is for each element of a customers’ need. Each need must have been dissected and reconstructed to ensure that every element is as perfect as it can be. What each guest encounters, what you see, touch or consume has Quality and Attention To Detail in abundance.

Room Tip: Pay extra for a seaview room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GFandLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013 via mobile

Staff were very friendly, rooms clean if a little small, dog mat, dog towel and biscuits provided. Quite a few rooms also have access to the gardens even our 1st floor room. Pets are welcome everywhere except the dining room and can join you for breakfast in the conservatory. Dinner was very well cooked but we both thought some portions were small with limited carbohydrates and my potato was served stone cold. Disappointed that after dinner coffee was not included in the DBB price. We still felt a little hungry after dinner and recommend making most of the bread. Our one night stay cost £280 (including £10 for the dog). You are unlikely to go elsewhere for your evening meal as there is nowhere else very close to eat (beach cafe closed at night) so most will probably stay for the evening meal. Good to see no surcharges on the menu. Breakfast was very good too, wonderful scrambled eggs and lovely sea views. Interesting gardens with some great ornaments. Our dogs loved our stay but if not for a gift it is a little too pricey for us to go again especially as it is only 25 miles away.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank gbevans66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Porthallow
10.8 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
1,563 reviews
1.2 mi away
Trelaske Hotel & Restaurant
6.4 mi away
The Fowey Hotel
The Fowey Hotel
#3 of 3 in Fowey
1,364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.8 mi away
The Alverton
The Alverton
#1 of 4 in Truro
876 reviews
6.5 mi away
Fowey Hall
Fowey Hall
#1 of 3 in Fowey
672 reviews
13.4 mi away
The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Talland Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Talland Bay Hotel

Property: Talland Bay Hotel
Address: Polperro Heritage Coast, Porthallow, Looe PL13 2JB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Looe > Porthallow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Porthallow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Talland Bay Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in a magical location overlooking the bay this is a very special hotel privately run with caring attentive owners and staff whose aim is to please. We have an elegant 2 star AA rosette restaurant with sliding doors where, weather permitting you can sit on our terrace and enjoy the views. You’ll know you’re somewhere special as soon as you arrive at Talland Bay Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Talland Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Talland Bay Looe
Hotel Talland Bay
Talland Bay Hotel Porthallow, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing