We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best B&B ever experienced. Can't wait for the Jacuzzi!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Redruth
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Old Railway Yard B&B
Ranked #2 of 10 Redruth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Yeovil
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The best B&B ever experienced. Can't wait for the Jacuzzi!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2013

We have just returned from a wonderful stay at the Old Railway Yard. The hospitality was first class and the accommodation outstanding with views of the sea from the roof terrace where you can also watch the sun go down with a glass of your favourite vino. When we were there the owners were deciding where to position the new jacuzzi which I had a bit of input in. Sue and Graham are an incredibly warm and friendly couple who made us feel part like old friends. We cant wait to return in a few months. Highly recommend a stay here for just a short break in one of their lovely rooms within the main house or for a longer period in the adjacent 2-bed holiday let also done out to an outstanding standard which I understand can be rented over the winter period at a cracking rate (£650 per month).

Room Tip: The house is on a quiet road so all rooms are quiet. The premium room downstairs where we stayed ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gini N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    161
    6
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
42
71
12
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2013

Can fault nothing with our stay. Very accommodating hosts, excellent personal touches to the rooms such as super fluffy dressing gowns!! Breakfast was delicious and we would recommend without any hesitation.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bradley2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2013 via mobile

From the time I booked this B + B for my parents the owners were very helpful. They offered to pick them up from the station and were of assistance anytime. The rooms were very clean with great facilities. Breakfast was ample with good choice of foods. Location was great for sight seeing. My parents are very hard to please but loved it and would recommend it highly.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Essexbirds25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camborne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2013

A warm welcome fron graham and sue , this was a absolutely fabulous stay here in lanner (redruth) . Its my top recommended accomodation in this area clean rooms of a very very high standard . i will be back without any hesitation.very happy.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pastyboy64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrahamSuzanne, Owner at The Old Railway Yard B&B, responded to this review, 8 April 2013
A big "thank you" to all our guests for taking the time to post such glowing reviews. We hope this will inspire confidence in our future guests for the coming season. Here's looking forward to seeing you all very soon ....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2013

I recently visited Redruth as I am thinking of moving to the area. We selected the Old Railway Yard because it was close and looked very nice, we were not disappointed!
Sue and Graham are a great couple, very friendly, enthusiastic and rightly proud of their lovely B&B.
We had the newly fitted out downstairs room which has a great king size bed and stunning en-suite.
Nothing was too much trouble and we had a really good cooked breakfast which included some very nice homemade marmalade (made by one of Sue's friends)
If we are back in the area my wife has insisted we go back to the Old Railway Yard.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Simon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
saltash
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2013

We have just returned from a short stay in Lanner and chose this b&b as it was conveniently close to the coast for are hiking holiday,as well as being near the old tramlines for some inland walks,Which are right out side the front door and have world heritage status, hence the name The Old Railway Yard. We stayed in the double room,carnbrea which had a balcony with sea views to the north coast in the distance . Breakfast was cooked by Graham, on our second night we decided to eat in as evening meals are offered and that was cheaper than eating out! Even packed lunches for our days hiking. Sue and Graham make great hosts and made us very welcome looking after our needs, We will definitely be back for a longer stay next time.

Room Tip: The down stairs room is self contained
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank graham h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2012

The image that was referenced in the review is one of mine and I can state quite categorically that it is not as stated "the view". On the other hand the views of Carn Marth and the engine house are spectacular.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank john d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Redruth
1.4 mi away
Penventon Park Hotel
Penventon Park Hotel
#1 of 2 in Redruth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,184 reviews
3.9 mi away
John Francis Basset Hotel
4.6 mi away
Premier Inn Camborne Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
The Alverton
The Alverton
#1 of 4 in Truro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 803 reviews
14.9 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#7 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 975 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Cedars B&B
The Cedars B&B
#1 of 10 in Redruth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Railway Yard B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Railway Yard B&B

Property: The Old Railway Yard B&B
Address: The Old Railway Yard Tram Cross Lane | Lanner Hill, Redruth TR16 5TZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Redruth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Redruth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Railway Yard B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Railway Yard B&B is AA Four star Gold and 2015/16 winner of The friendliest B&B of Great Britain, highly recommended bed and breakfast set in the heart of Cornwall with sea and countryside views. Built in 2007, it offers a double room with balcony and en-suite shower room, a twin room with private bathroom all rooms have TV, Wi-Fi tea/coffee making facilities. A guest lounge is also available with extra facilities including TV, fridge, iron etc. Full English (AA Best breakfast certificate 2015) or Continental breakfasts are available and evening meals (AA Best evening meal certificate 2015) A delicious complimentary cream tea is offered on arrival or during your stay. New for 2012 we have a ground floor superior double or twin room with en-suite bathroom with walk in shower. This room has the advantage of having a small kitchenette area. In the grounds of our property we also have 'Tramways' our holiday let offering self catering for two. Kitchen/diner, lounge area, shower room, spiral staircase to open plan mezamine double bedroom. New for 2014 is our complimentary Hot Tub in the garden for all to use so after a hard day relaxing on holiday revive in our tub. Suitable for all year round use. Set in the garden with glass sides and roof. So enjoy a drink while watching the stars. Seats up to five. Or climb the spiral staircase leading to our roof garden have a seat and enjoy the far reaching views to the coast. New for 2015, we are registered to sell alcohol for our guests and friends whilst staying or visiting us. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Old Railway Yard B&B Redruth, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing