We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best B and B EVER”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Redruth
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Old Railway Yard B&B
Ranked #2 of 10 Redruth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hailsham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best B and B EVER”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Stayed here for four nights in June 2014 and have never been to a better B&B !!! Sue and Graham provide a service that far exceeded our expectations From the first moment we arrived it was a delight and we soon felt they were our friends rather than people providing a service Nothing was too much trouble for them The whole house is inviting well presented and spotlessly clean throughout Bubbly Sue is to be complimented on this Grahams cooked breakfasts are awesome and his local knowledge a true bonus We will be back again and hopefully again ! Thanks to them both Alan and Rosemary from Sussex and Syd and Jeanne from Australia

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graham C, Owner at The Old Railway Yard B&B, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Thank you Alan, Rosemary, Syd and Jeanne for a lovely review. A great title to get our message out to other guests visiting the area. Sue and I are glad we made your stay a pleasant one. We hope you enjoyed your onward journey and made it home safely to Australia.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

182 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    175
    6
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
45
79
15
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Although I only stayed one night I was made to feel very welcome by the owners, the room was immaculate, but cosy at the same time, and although there was no en-suite it wasn't a problem at all. The breakfast was excellent, and I will certainly return but maybe for a longer stay next time.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graham C, Owner at The Old Railway Yard B&B, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Thank you Jackie for the review. We will hold you to ransome for a longer return trip! Taking the time to post a review means a lot to Sue and I as it helps us to think it is all worth the effort!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We just had our third stay with Sue and Graham at the Old Railway Yard. It was as superb as ever. A perfect location for us, really laid back atmosphere, and really engaging and helpfull hosts.
My wife had an electrical problem with her Cpap machine, told Graham, and he was soon up in the loft and found a fix for the problem! We wouldnt hestitate to recommend this place to any one, who wants a quality, reasonably priced stay in the central south area of cornwall. We will certainly be back again!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graham C, Owner at The Old Railway Yard B&B, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Hi Steve & Helen, Many thanks for taking the time to write a review and for coming back a third time. A glutton for punishment!! Sorry the weather was not so good but we hope you enjoyed your stay with us again. Glad I was able to supply a makeshift connector for Helen's machine. We look forward to seeing you both again. Best regards, Graham & Suzanne
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

This was my second stay at the Old Railway Yard. I had the garden room again with the fab bathroom! My stay this time was every bit as good as my first visit. The facilities have been enhanced and Sue and Graham are now offering use of their recently installed hot tub.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graham C, Owner at The Old Railway Yard B&B, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Hi Angela. Thank you for coming to stay with us again. We have had so many return guests this year it is unbelievable. It reassures us we must be doing something right! We are glad you enjoyed your return visit and a big thanks for taking the time to post a review. Best regards, Graham & Suzanne.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Received a very warm welcome, room was lovely, had everything I needed including toiletries. Breakfast cooked to order - delicious! The hot tub was an added bonus! Would definitely recommend and stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graham C, Owner at The Old Railway Yard B&B, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Thank you Sarah for taking the time to post a review. Glad you enjoyed the hot tub. We are pleased to have made your stay a pleasant one for you and you will visit us again in the future. Best regards, Graham & Suzanne.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Yer tis, heart lush, 3 lovely days at sue and grahams, cream tea, lovely room, lovely people, clean everything you can think of, WiFi good size telly, not that I used it much, too busy enjoying the,portion, wine and banter till gone 11, 2nd time here back next year, when you can pop up to Bristol, more wine!!!

Room Tip: Garden room super along bed and more
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graham C, Owner at The Old Railway Yard B&B, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Hi Susan & Emma. Thanks for the review and thank you for staying with us again. I know it was the hot tub that really lured you back! Hope you enjoyed it and we will certainly visit you if we are passing by your way. Keep in touch, Graham & Suzanne
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

I simply can’t recommend staying here highly enough. I traveled from Ireland for my first ever trip to Cornwall last month and was so delighted as staying at the ‘the old railway yard’ with the two TOP hosts Sue & Graham totally enhanced my whole experience of Cornwall.
Upon arriving we sat down to homemade scones and clotted cream and jam (YUM!) and had our first chat with the lovely and ever so bubbly Sue and soon after we met Graham who treated us to a super breakfast both mornings.
The house and gardens are beyond gorgeous and our bedroom and bathroom were STUNNING – absolute immaculate and very luxurious. But even more special was the treatment we got there. Nothing was a problem. Flight boarding tickets with printed, fast-track tickets to the ‘Eden project’ were booked and ready for us (and Graham even drove us to the pub for the night of our friends birthday bash). It felt like staying with friends or family! .. and I haven’t even mentioned the hot-tub experience yet. It’s is an absolute must!

Sue and Graham are absolute gems and after a short 3 days, leaving I felt I wanted to return to them as much as to their beautiful Cornwall! Thank-you SO so much for a trip to remember! Dee – Ireland. xx

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graham C, Owner at The Old Railway Yard B&B, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Hello Dee,

Thank you for such a nice review. Probably one of the best we have ever read. We hope you enjoyed the Eden project on the way home. Your compliments are greatly received and will hopefully reasure our guests they are guaranteed a pleasant stay with us here in the West Country. Suzanne was touched by your comments and she said it makes all the hard work worth the effort! Best regards,

Graham & Suzanne
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Redruth
1.4 mi away
Penventon Park Hotel
Penventon Park Hotel
#1 of 2 in Redruth
1,225 reviews
3.9 mi away
John Francis Basset Hotel
8.2 mi away
The Alverton
The Alverton
#1 of 4 in Truro
857 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
The Oceanic Hotel
The Oceanic Hotel
#1 of 23 in Falmouth
173 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Inn For All Seasons
The Inn For All Seasons
#5 of 10 in Redruth
98 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Cedars B&B
The Cedars B&B
#1 of 10 in Redruth
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Additional Information about The Old Railway Yard B&B

Property: The Old Railway Yard B&B
Address: The Old Railway Yard Tram Cross Lane | Lanner Hill, Redruth TR16 5TZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Redruth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Redruth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Railway Yard B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Railway Yard B&B is AA Four star Gold and 2015/16 winner of The friendliest B&B of Great Britain, highly recommended bed and breakfast set in the heart of Cornwall with sea and countryside views. Built in 2007, it offers a double room with balcony and en-suite shower room, a twin room with private bathroom all rooms have TV, Wi-Fi tea/coffee making facilities. A guest lounge is also available with extra facilities including TV, fridge, iron etc. Full English (AA Best breakfast certificate 2015) or Continental breakfasts are available and evening meals (AA Best evening meal certificate 2015) A delicious complimentary cream tea is offered on arrival or during your stay. New for 2012 we have a ground floor superior double or twin room with en-suite bathroom with walk in shower. This room has the advantage of having a small kitchenette area. In the grounds of our property we also have 'Tramways' our holiday let offering self catering for two. Kitchen/diner, lounge area, shower room, spiral staircase to open plan mezamine double bedroom. New for 2014 is our complimentary Hot Tub in the garden for all to use so after a hard day relaxing on holiday revive in our tub. Suitable for all year round use. Set in the garden with glass sides and roof. So enjoy a drink while watching the stars. Seats up to five. Or climb the spiral staircase leading to our roof garden have a seat and enjoy the far reaching views to the coast. New for 2015, we are registered to sell alcohol for our guests and friends whilst staying or visiting us. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Old Railway Yard B&B Redruth, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing