We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent B&B”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Redruth
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Old Railway Yard B&B
Ranked #2 of 10 Redruth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We stayed at The Old Railway Yard at Lanner for one night. The house is decorated to a very high standard, extremely clean and tidy, I could not fault anything at all about this lovely house. Sue and Graham were very friendly and helpful. I can honestly say it is one of the best B&B's I have ever stayed in and we will be visiting again at some point.

Highly recommend.

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Cardyerwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graham C, Owner at The Old Railway Yard B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Hi Carol, Although you only stayed for one night we would just like to say thank you for taking the time to post a review. We are pleased to know it was one of the best B&B's you had stayed in. We hope to see you again in the future. Best regards, Graham & Suzanne.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (188)
There are newer reviews for The Old Railway Yard B&B
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

116 - 122 of 189 reviews

Reviewed 27 June 2014

What A lovely couple run this B&B. Beautiful pristine house with a grand view from the balcony. The first thing I said to them was that I could see why it was a four star property. If you are lucky you get to sit at the naughty table in the kitchen for breakfast!!!! a helpful couple, proud of their property and the way they run it. 10 out of 10.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JPB187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graham C, Owner at The Old Railway Yard B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Hi guys, thank you for the cheeky review. We hasten to add the kitchen table has been called lots of names, mainly the cheap seats! but not the naughty chair!! That was a busy weekend. We are sure it will raise a few laughs. At least you got to see us cook your breakfast nice and fresh. Best regards, Graham & Suzanne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Jump on the train from Gatwick ( book in advance ) one easy change will bring you to Redruth and a bus ride to Lanner. Having already booked yourself in at the Old Railway Yard be prepared for a British B and B experience which shows the very best of what you can expect. Take the bus for the day down to Falmouth and walk the coastal path , take another day to explore the Tin mine trails. Now you are ready to consider a car rental and the rest of your visit to the British Isles but be warned the bar has been set very high. The couple of ill informed early reviews need to be erased by Trip advisor.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Janet L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graham C, Owner at The Old Railway Yard B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Thank you Janet for a very honest and to the point review! Thanks also for the comment to the early reviews to our standards. We try so hard to welcome everyone in to our home to make our guests feel that they feel at home also.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We only stayed for one night but were glad to see a comfortable, clean and bright room with an equally clean en suite. Sue and Graham greeted us with a cream tea and were courteous and friendly throughout our stay. We chose to take a dip in the hot tub before we went out for dinner and Sue kindly brought us iced water while we were enjoying the facilities. We had a restful and good nights sleep followed by Graham's excellent full english breakfast. I would happily recommend the Old Railway Yard to our friends. A thoroughly enjoyable relaxing stay.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank swaffette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graham C, Owner at The Old Railway Yard B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Glad you enjoyed your dip in our hot tub and THANK YOU for taking the time to write such a complimentary review. Although your stay was for one night only, you will want to come back for longer next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Stayed here for four nights in June 2014 and have never been to a better B&B !!! Sue and Graham provide a service that far exceeded our expectations From the first moment we arrived it was a delight and we soon felt they were our friends rather than people providing a service Nothing was too much trouble for them The whole house is inviting well presented and spotlessly clean throughout Bubbly Sue is to be complimented on this Grahams cooked breakfasts are awesome and his local knowledge a true bonus We will be back again and hopefully again ! Thanks to them both Alan and Rosemary from Sussex and Syd and Jeanne from Australia

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan R P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graham C, Owner at The Old Railway Yard B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Thank you Alan, Rosemary, Syd and Jeanne for a lovely review. A great title to get our message out to other guests visiting the area. Sue and I are glad we made your stay a pleasant one. We hope you enjoyed your onward journey and made it home safely to Australia.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Although I only stayed one night I was made to feel very welcome by the owners, the room was immaculate, but cosy at the same time, and although there was no en-suite it wasn't a problem at all. The breakfast was excellent, and I will certainly return but maybe for a longer stay next time.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jackie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graham C, Owner at The Old Railway Yard B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Thank you Jackie for the review. We will hold you to ransome for a longer return trip! Taking the time to post a review means a lot to Sue and I as it helps us to think it is all worth the effort!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We just had our third stay with Sue and Graham at the Old Railway Yard. It was as superb as ever. A perfect location for us, really laid back atmosphere, and really engaging and helpfull hosts.
My wife had an electrical problem with her Cpap machine, told Graham, and he was soon up in the loft and found a fix for the problem! We wouldnt hestitate to recommend this place to any one, who wants a quality, reasonably priced stay in the central south area of cornwall. We will certainly be back again!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stevetewkesbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graham C, Owner at The Old Railway Yard B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Hi Steve & Helen, Many thanks for taking the time to write a review and for coming back a third time. A glutton for punishment!! Sorry the weather was not so good but we hope you enjoyed your stay with us again. Glad I was able to supply a makeshift connector for Helen's machine. We look forward to seeing you both again. Best regards, Graham & Suzanne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Redruth
1.4 mi away
Penventon Park Hotel
Penventon Park Hotel
#1 of 2 in Redruth
1,261 reviews
3.9 mi away
John Francis Basset Hotel
3.9 mi away
Tyacks Hotel
Tyacks Hotel
#3 of 5 in Camborne
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
The Oceanic Hotel
The Oceanic Hotel
#1 of 24 in Falmouth
200 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Cedars B&B
The Cedars B&B
#1 of 10 in Redruth
170 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Inn For All Seasons
The Inn For All Seasons
#5 of 10 in Redruth
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Railway Yard B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Railway Yard B&B

Address: The Old Railway Yard Tram Cross Lane | Lanner Hill, Redruth TR16 5TZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Redruth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Redruth
Price Range: £40 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Railway Yard B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Railway Yard B&B is AA Four star Gold and 2015/16 winner of The friendliest B&B of Great Britain, highly recommended bed and breakfast set in the heart of Cornwall with sea and countryside views. Built in 2007, it offers a double room with balcony and en-suite shower room, a twin room with private bathroom all rooms have TV, Wi-Fi tea/coffee making facilities. A guest lounge is also available with extra facilities including TV, fridge, iron etc. Full English (AA Best breakfast certificate 2015) or Continental breakfasts are available and evening meals (AA Best evening meal certificate 2015) A delicious complimentary cream tea is offered on arrival or during your stay. New for 2012 we have a ground floor superior double or twin room with en-suite bathroom with walk in shower. This room has the advantage of having a small kitchenette area. In the grounds of our property we also have 'Tramways' our holiday let offering self catering for two. Kitchen/diner, lounge area, shower room, spiral staircase to open plan mezamine double bedroom. New for 2014 is our complimentary Hot Tub in the garden for all to use so after a hard day relaxing on holiday revive in our tub. Suitable for all year round use. Set in the garden with glass sides and roof. So enjoy a drink while watching the stars. Seats up to five. Or climb the spiral staircase leading to our roof garden have a seat and enjoy the far reaching views to the coast. New for 2015, we are registered to sell alcohol for our guests and friends whilst staying or visiting us. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Old Railway Yard B&B Redruth, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing