We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely, would definitely go back !”
Review of Tricky's Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tricky's Hotel
Ranked #4 of 10 Redruth B&B and Inns
Reviewed 27 May 2013

Just got back from a 2 night stay at Tricky's, we were down in Cornwall for a family party. The rooms although basic were clean and comfortable, the cooked breakfast was all cooked to order and really lovely, the staff were really friendly and helpful, we would definitely stay there again

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leannewalton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
travexLondon, Owner at Tricky's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review us on trip advisor and for your positive comments. We only purchased Tricky's in November 2012 and have made a lot of changes since we took over. All 18 lodge style bedrooms have all been redecorated and new beds, new TV's, new soft furnishings added in to make the rooms comfortable and up to date. All the public areas have also been redecorated and we are working on replanting the areas outside the Lodge to improve the surroundings.
We will pass on your comments to our team and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (158)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

147 - 153 of 158 reviews

Reviewed 24 May 2013 via mobile

Stayed here on a business trip and must say I was pleasantly surprised.
Think its called Trickys as its tricky to find and to be honest it doesn't look much when you arrive. But the staff were very friendly, the room was large, well decorated, clean and comfortable.
Meals in the adjacent bar were good with generous portions and again, friendly staff.
Overall a nice stay in a little place that is clearly trying hard to get it right. Well done to Trickys!





  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WainwrightBagger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
travexLondon, Owner at Tricky's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review us on trip advisor and for your positive comments. We are sorry you had difficulty finding us - probably the perils of sat nav which does seem to send people in a strange route to our postcode! Our friendly team can always give directions which may be clearer!
The name Tricky's came from the original owner - a chap called Richard but known locally as Tricky Dicky hence the name!
We purchased the property in November 2012 after it had been in administration and have invested heavily to bring it up to date - we really appreciate that you noticed the changes we have made.
As a local business we work hard to compete with the national chains in the Lodge sector of the hotel trade and feel that with free parking, free wifi, breakfast included etc that we offer a point of difference and value for money. We source all of our food locally and everything is homemade so as well as supporting us you support a lot of local companies which we feel is important to the local economy.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2013

From telephone booking to arrival to my your stay - every need and possible need is catered for. The staff are fantastic , extremely helpful and courteous the rooms are amazing and cater for your every need , right down to the little things such As there being more than 2 cartons of milk and the phone being next to the bed. Cleanliness 10 out of 10 beds very comfortable decor 9 out of 10 - everything has been though of and actioned. Food in the Restaraunt is fantastic , service is great. And just what is needed when eating out of the home to get the dining experience wanted.
The bar staff are great , happy vibrant attitudes helpful and knowledgable of the area and the history of the Restaraunt. Health spa and gym on site that offer both men and women hair services and manicure and massage ,all this is in one place. I normally stay in more expensive hotels but the service and amenities and more to the point customer service is second to none and Tricky's will get our business everytime.

Room Tip: Call ahead each time , all rooms are away from the main bar so you will never be disturbed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
travexLondon, Owner at Tricky's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review us on trip advisor and for your really positive comments which we will pass onto our team. We do try to give good levels of service and value for money in the 'Lodge' sector of the market we are in. The national chains have a tendancy to charge extra for anything they can - our policy at Trick'ys is the opposite and breakfast, WIFI, tea and coffee facilities are all included in our room rates so there should be no hidden extras!
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Lvely stay. Staff were friendly and helpful. The rooms were a little small but comfortable with a lovely comfy bed. The bathroom was a disapointment as there was no bath, and the shower was of the wetroom variety (not keen on paddling to the loo after hubby has had a shower).
The food was very nice, but a limited selection for vegetarians. Breakfast wasour main disappointment. The fried breakfast wasn't the best. My husband had smokedbacon on day 1 and wasn't asked if he liked this My toast tastdofte smoked bacon (not pleasant for a veggie). Day 2 was better for the cooked breakfast, but my scrambled eggs were burnt, and it was some time before they were replaced ith fresh eggs.
A most enjoyable visit, but a shame about the breakfasts.Our visit was for our niece's wedding and the food at the reception was good, and it was a lovely atmosphere to celebrate and to catch p withfamily and friends.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
travexLondon, Owner at Tricky's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review us on trip advisor - we are pleased that you enjoyed most aspects of your stay.
I'm sorry about the bathroom but we do clearly state on all the booking information that we have en-suite wet rooms so we do not feel that we have misled anyone. Bath mats are provided in each room which if used would solve the paddling problem!
Our breakfast, which is included in the room charge gives a choice of cereals, toast and preserves, full english, fruit, yoghurts, hot beverages. The only items that are not suitable for a vegetarian would be the bacon and the sausages, we apologise if you found this selection restrictive. Toast is cooked on a pass through toaster by our customers so not really sure how this would taste of anything other than toast. Sadly I'm not aware of any establishments that offer a choice of bacon.
We are really pleased that you enjoyed the wedding, the Garden room is a great, modern room and looks stunning when laid out.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Booked into double room for three night stay. We have a dog, who I may add, was made most welcome. There was somewhere for him to have a short run and even a toilet stop. Tricky's could improve this if a dog bin was provided near by, but having said this. it did not pose too much of a problem. Enough about the dog. Our room was clean and towels changed every day. Bed comfortable and area quite, therefore achieved very good nights sleep. We were made most welcome by, staff who were friendly and helpful. Received a good breakfast and the pub restaurant had good atmosphere, generous portions, which was good value for money. All round very good and enjoyable weekend, which I feel was very good value for money. Just like to add it is within walking distance to Redruth, however if returning in the dark would suggest a touch as lane is dark.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sophia h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
travexLondon, Owner at Tricky's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2013

Thank you for posting a review on trip advisor and for your positive comments which we will pass on to our team.
We are glad that you and the dog enjoyed the stay. We do have a bin as suggested but have tucked it away discreetly but should have told you where!
We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2013

Tricky’s is not the sort of place I would normally choose to stay at, but I was in the area for two days on business and this was very convenient for an overnight stop.

Chatting to the lovely lady on reception, I discovered that the hotel changed hands at the end of last year which I assume accounts for the great improvement in recent Trip Advisor reviews!

My room was big (it was classed as a family room) and the bed probably the most comfortable I have ever slept in, other than my own! The wet room-style shower worked well and the whole place was clean and well presented. Views were boring (area of grass), but it was surprisingly quiet.

The restaurant is big, this place obviously caters for a lot of parties - and the food was good pub-style, with generous portions. I had fish and chips that was fresh and good. Staff were bustly and efficient and friendly.

I slept well and, had one of my neighbours not had a work colleague hammering on his door at about 5am telling him he was late and to get up with all speed (although, sadly, not in quite those words!) I would have enjoyed an uninterrupted night’s sleep.

The breakfast room was amazing - high-ceilinged and light and must be a great venue for weddings etc. The breakfast itself was fine, if unremarkable.

Tricky’s lacks charm and is nothing to look at, being a rather odd collection of buildings in the middle of nowhere, but it’s extremely convenient. The beds are wonderful, the food is good and the staff are efficient and friendly. So while you can’t have everything, you can have quite a lot of the things that really matter.

Room Tip: Ask for one 'at the back' as this was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DartmoorDiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
travexLondon, Owner at Tricky's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on trip advisor and for the broadly positive comments you have made.
Lots of investment has been made since we purchased the complex in November 2012 and their is lots more to come - we have started with refurbishing the inside areas and will gradually turn our attention to making the entire grounds work. The advantage f having a collection of buildings as you put it is just how quiet this makes the site!
We are glad you liked the new beds, everyone is saying how comfortable they are!
We hope to welcome you back soon when you are next on business in our area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2013

Has to book double room for 1 night at short notice to attend funeral. On arrival met by a very helpful receptionist. Room excellent, facilities very good. Asked if we could take mattress home so comfortable. Food in Main restaurant was very good. Have eaten here before and still fond the staff polite, friendly, and always had time to look after their visitors. Would recommend this hotel/restaurant to anyone. Do not understand the negative comments I have read. Must be the new management. Outside3 could do with a lick of paint.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank medical23997366
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
travexLondon, Owner at Tricky's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review us on trip advisor and for your positive comments. The beds were all replaced in spring 2013 and everyone is saying what a huge improvement they are, this, along with the new TV's, curtains etc and newly redecorated rooms and public areas has made a real difference.
Our aim is to provide good value for money with no hidden extra charges and it is nice to know we are heading in the right direction.
We hope to welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Redruth
0.6 mi away
Penventon Park Hotel
Penventon Park Hotel
#1 of 2 in Redruth
1,271 reviews
2.9 mi away
John Francis Basset Hotel
7.8 mi away
The County Arms
The County Arms
#4 of 4 in Truro
453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Travelodge Hayle
Travelodge Hayle
#2 of 3 in Hayle
256 reviews
2.9 mi away
Tyacks Hotel
Tyacks Hotel
#3 of 5 in Camborne
257 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Inn For All Seasons
The Inn For All Seasons
#5 of 10 in Redruth
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tricky's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tricky's Hotel

Address: Tolgus Mount, Redruth TR15 3TA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Redruth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Redruth
Price Range: £83 - £87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tricky's Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tricky's Hotel, Restaurant & Bar situated near historic mining town of Redruth, Cornwall. Just off the A30 with Cornish Beaches & attractions all easily accessible. Pub style Bar serving local ales and cosy restaurant with varied menus. BBQ/Hog Roast area. Extensive Gym (FREE for Guests). Serenity Hair & Beauty Suite. FREE Wi-Fi in hotel rooms plus TV, Tea & Coffee facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Tricky's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tricky's Hotel Redruth, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing