We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding reception”
Review of Tricky's Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tricky's Hotel
Ranked #3 of 10 Redruth B&B and Inns
Redruth
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wedding reception”
Reviewed 6 October 2013

We cannot rate them high enough. We got married on the 31st of August and had our reception and evening do there. The service we received from the start through all the planning was amazing (they suggested things we had not thought about) all included in the package. On the day it was fantastic. The service , food, drinks and venue fantastic. No complaints from anyone, plenty of food to go round and all of the staff were happy, polite and nothing was a problem. All of the staff were very attentive. Thank you to everybody at Trickies for completing our day.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracey R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
travexLondon, Owner at Tricky's Hotel, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post this review on trip advisor - we are really pleased that you chose Tricky's and the Garden Room for your special day. It is a fantastic venue and it is great to hear that all aspects of both the pre-wedding planning and the day itself went so well. We wish you all the best for your married life together.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    54
    14
    5
    6
See reviews for
24
41
1
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Daventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013

Our room was clean. A little bit odd smell in the room. They could put some kind of freshener there and could be much much better. We find only one plug socket (what was awkward) so we could only charge one phone on time.Bed was very comfy. Breakfast was superb. Highly recommended but only for stay for two people as price is only 75£ with breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aggietripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
travexLondon, Owner at Tricky's Hotel, responded to this review, 21 September 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on trip advisor and for your positive feedback. All of the bedrooms do have more than one power socket + the kettle and hair dryers are 'hard wired' to save taking up sockets. If you can't find something in your room please always ask at reception or in the bar for assistance.
We are delighted that you found us good value with free parking, free unlimited broadband, free breakfast, free use of the on-site gym etc we agree that £75/room is a good deal!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 18 September 2013

I have been looking for somewhere around Redruth to stay for business and now I have found Trickys I wont need to look anywhere else. The room was warm and clean. The reception was very welcoming and the food in the evening was superb. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosiecrumble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
travexLondon, Owner at Tricky's Hotel, responded to this review, 19 September 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review us on trip advisor and for your positive feedback, we are delighted that everything was to your liking and we are pleased to have won your repeat business - thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chudleigh, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

i stay at tricky"s quite often and have found the staff to be friendly and helpful.the rooms are always clean with nice towels.the beds are first class for a good nights sleep .their is a nice size tv in the room not the small ones you get in some other hotels .you also get free wifi with no time limits .breakfast is a range of fresh cooked or other items.the bar in the main building has a good atmosphere and the meals are first class .this is a good value for money place to stay

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
travexLondon, Owner at Tricky's Hotel, responded to this review, 13 September 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review us on trip advisor and for your positive, constructive and informative comments. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leatherhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

having arrived late we picked up keys from the bar in a separate building which housed a bar , stage , dance-floor . there was a good atmosphere with a duo singing , people dancing , eating and drinking. we received a very warm welcome. when we opened the door to our room in a separate building we were very disappointed. it was very small room mainly taken over by the bed with hanging area without door. the bathroom consisted of a shower toilet and sink in a line with shower gel and shampoo resting on top of the toilet cistern ! it reminded us of a butlins chalet we stayed in years ago.

but then we got into a bed with clean sheets and duvet which was more comfortable than our expensive bed at home and we had a peaceful nights sleep.

the full english breakfast was superb , the staff were excellent , well presented and very professional. the tables chairs linen cutlery etc were top notch. they could do with a new toaster but apart from that breakfast in pleasant surroundings was excellent.

one evening arriving back we had a meal in the bar . the food was superb , plenty of it and good value , once again the staff were polite , friendly , welcoming and professional.

the bar area and facilities are clean and well presented giving a pleasant atmosphere to enjoy an evening.

it looks to me as if they are striving to improve their facilities and have invested a lot of money time and effort. i would think the accommodation is next on the agenda.

we really enjoyed our stay and are pleased we didn't over react to our first impression of our room.

so well done trickys and thankyou for making our stay so pleasant - we will definitely be seeing you again.

gary margetts

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank gary m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
travexLondon, Owner at Tricky's Hotel, responded to this review, 13 September 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review us on trip advisor and for your detailed and constructive review. We purchased Tricky's out of administration in November 2012 and have been investing ever since! To clarify a few points you have mentioned the guest bedrooms are 'lodge style' and have either a king sized double or standard twin beds - all of these were replaced in spring this year and the feedback on their comfort has been excellent. We have also purchased new, decent sized flat screen TV's, new curtains and have quality linen and towels. Each room has an en-suite wet room with power shower, basin and WC. Whilst not the most glamorous wet rooms they are immaculately clean and functional. It is true that the rooms are not huge but we choose to have the bigger beds as we felt this was important to our guests level of comfort. There is an open hanging area for clothes, a work top, tea and coffee making facilities, free wifi, hairdryer etc. Hopefully everything a guest would need! We do have two larger rooms which offer more space and are ideal for families and also have wheelchair friendly wet rooms and access. If guests are looking for a little more space these are the rooms to go for.
We are delighted that your first impressions were quickly turned round by our excellent team and that you enjoyed your stay and the meals in the restaurant. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcs
Level Contributor
90 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2013 via mobile

Usually stay at the Pen but wanted a less fussy alternative. Collection of unattrative buildings don't give a great first impression but the rooms are clean if simply fitted out. Staff both in the hotel and nearby pub are great. Good meal ( I had the crab salad special freshly caught from nearby St Ives with fab home-made chips about £11, pint of Tribute was £3 a pint). Breakfast was very tast also. Good business location and would recommend.

Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank ChrisAscea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
travexLondon, Owner at Tricky's Hotel, responded to this review, 14 September 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review us on trip advisor and for your positive feedback - it is nice of you to pick up on the good service, food and suitability of our lodge style rooms for your travel needs. We hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2013

We used Trickey's as a stop off to break up a long journey to Cornwall. Two adults, two children and a dog. Room was spotless with loads of white fluffy towels tea coffee etc. we had a large family/disabled room with a great wet room. Lots of surrounding fields to run in just mind the cows. Had dinner in the adjoining pub/restaurant which was really nice service was good even though they had a couple of large parties. Wine menu was fairly extensive but much of it was out of stock ended up with our 4th choice but that turned out to be house wine and not the Pinot we ordered. The manager was informed but not really forthcoming with an apology. Breakfast was a feast great choice toast cereals fruit yoghurts and cooked to order full English and anything the children wanted.
We chose Trickey's as they are dog friendly.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank DebandJeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
travexLondon, Owner at Tricky's Hotel, responded to this review, 14 September 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review us on trip advisor and for your positive feedback. The family rooms are huge and still have plenty of space even with four people staying! We are also pleased that your dog enjoyed the visit as well! Please accept our apologies about the mix up with the wine - we have recently upgraded our wine offer and the team are still getting used to the great new wines we now stock.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Redruth
0.6 mi away
Penventon Park Hotel
Penventon Park Hotel
#1 of 2 in Redruth
1,206 reviews
2.9 mi away
John Francis Basset Hotel
2.9 mi away
Tyacks Hotel
Tyacks Hotel
#3 of 5 in Camborne
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Lowenac Hotel
Lowenac Hotel
#4 of 5 in Camborne
123 reviews
8.6 mi away
Merchant House
Merchant House
#2 of 4 in Truro
403 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Inn For All Seasons
The Inn For All Seasons
#5 of 10 in Redruth
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tricky's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tricky's Hotel

Property: Tricky's Hotel
Address: Tolgus Mount, Redruth TR15 3TA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Redruth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Redruth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Tricky's Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tricky's Hotel, Restaurant & Bar situated near historic mining town of Redruth, Cornwall. Just off the A30 with Cornish Beaches & attractions all easily accessible. Pub style Bar serving local ales and cosy restaurant with varied menus. BBQ/Hog Roast area. Extensive Gym (FREE for Guests). Serenity Hair & Beauty Suite. FREE Wi-Fi in hotel rooms plus TV, Tea & Coffee facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Priceline so you can book your Tricky's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tricky's Hotel Redruth, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing