We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Since our last visit”
Review of Treasure Park - CLOSED

Treasure Park
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Treasure Park, one of Cornwall’s leading free attractions, offers shopping experiences and activities to entertain the whole family. Enjoy the beautiful gardens or dine in the Cornish Pantry, followed by an ice cream or speciality smoothy from Cafe Ice.Keep the Kids entertained with an array of activities from creating a furry friend at Cornwall’s first Bear Works, pottery painting at ‘Create and Paint’ or enjoy the Gem Scoop, Panning for Gold, Crazy Sand and don’t forget the 9-hole crazy golf course. For the Thrill-seekers try the Tolgus Tin 4D ride.The Cornish Goldsmiths boasts an extensive collection of jewellery available to buy or commission your own piece. Visit Cornwall Silver, Pearl or Gold outlets. Treasure Park is the home of Cornish Jewellery so join us today for a great day out.
Hayle, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
1,080 reviews
559 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 585 helpful votes
“Since our last visit”
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Well unless they are in the midst of a massive refurb; this place is in trouble. The amount on view is minimal and what their is is way over priced.
Lets hope it bucks up for the season.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank RoyL65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew R, Manager at Treasure Park, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Dear RoyL65
I’m sorry that you didn’t enjoy your recent visit to us. You did however notice that we are in the midst of a massive refurbishment and are about the launch the new brand of Cornwall Gold. There are very few weeks in the year for a retail attraction to carry out work of this scale and it looks as if your visit was during this time. The aim of this massive refurbishment is to enhance the customer experience and to celebrate our 25 years of trading. We would love for you to visit again soon during the season to see all of the new refits in place. Many thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

189 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    44
    46
    16
    18
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Truro, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A very dull experience”
Reviewed 2 March 2014

We called in at the Treasure Park on our way home as we had not been there for quite a while and just wanted to look araound. Two coaches were in at the time, it would seem to use the cafe and toilet facilities.
Nothing much had changed and even making allowances for it being a typical day in winter, I could only feel sorry for the occupants of the coaches. The only good point for them was that it was a stop-off to stetch their legs and the cafe area of the complex was warm. The whole place looked grim & I cannot think that many of them would want to spend long there by choice. Although entry is free, all of the activities had to be paid for. I think if a family with children wanted to do any of the extra things, the cost would make a visit expensive. For adults, the whole place is based around very expensive jewellery outlets which would be of hardly any interest to anybody. The staff in the various shops looked gloomy & cold , the menu for the cafe lseemed expensive for what it was and the Treasure Park in general looked a very dull place, even for a brief visit.
I take the time of year into account for my rating and the fact that some of the areas were closed and hopefully the place is livelier in summer. Overall, however, I would not suggest that it would make a good day out and could prove expensive for a family, despite the 'free' entry.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephanie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camborne, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“great little place”
Reviewed 2 March 2014

we went back to Treasure Park as we were staying at Porthtowan, Although the Goldsmiths were being refurbished at the time ,
Me and my wife had a lunch at the Cornish Pantry and thought it was good value , hot and very nice.
We pruchased a few items from the Gem store as there were some really different ornaments and jewellery to buy.
We seem to arrive out of season when everthing is closed , not their fault , we will be returning again but next time when everything is open.
And its free entry, whats not to like.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank pastyboy64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
falmouth, cornwall
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Umm.....it's free”
Reviewed 19 February 2014 via mobile

This place isn't what I'd call an attraction, it's a jewelery shop with a few artefacts, and so calls tissue an attraction. It has a few side shows which cost a high premium.
It advertises free entry, which is very loose, yes entry is free but the activities are all priced very expensive except for looking round the jewellery shop.
Ok to look around if passing but I wouldn't go out of my way to visit.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank rwarwicker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Free attraction what do you expect!!!!”
Reviewed 4 January 2014

The title of this review really says it all

we have just visited this park and on arrival we thought the park is very well kept even in the winter, apart from the outside loo on the opposite side of the river across from gold shop this really does need a revamp. but apart from this the park is free entry and although a lot of the shops are closed this is after all winter and they must have the people coming to the park to keep it all open and out of season. but the shops that we visited have lovely friendly staff and the food in the restaurant is good value for money, one thing we did find a little uncomfortable is that the staff in the gold centre stand there with their hands behind their backs and this does look very much like being in the military, maybe they need to look at this approach as you don't get this from the other shops on site. there was a party of children from the bear shop running around the park and they were having a great time so they clearly get used all year round.
as we said it is free and we enjoyed our visit overall

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank julie f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Treasure Park also viewed

Redruth, Cornwall
Portreath, Cornwall
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing