We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A comfy Cornish base”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Redruth
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Lansdowne Guest House
Ranked #4 of 10 Redruth B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A comfy Cornish base”
Reviewed 17 January 2014

I arrived in Redruth from the Night Riviera sleeper train and was very grateful of a warm early welcome at the Lansdowne. My room was clean and positively luxurious with a grand bay window overlooking the quiet and attractive Clinton Road. The guesthouse has a real family feel, with helpful tips about Redruth and Cornwall, and a choice of ideal breakfasts. It's a perfect base for Redruth, and Redruth is a great base for West Cornwall. Thanks!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Swonzee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    105
    15
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
32
29
22
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

I spent two nights at the Lansdowne Guest House whilst in Cornwall for work. The Guest House is well located, easy walking distance from the station and Redruth Town Centre. I had a warm welcome and was well looked after by Mark, the proprietor. My room, overlooking the street, was clean, comfortable and sufficiently spacious. En-suite shower. The road is quiet and there was no traffic noise. The bed was very comfy. There is a good selection for breakfast including any combination of cooked breakfast which was really nice. Centrally located for much of West Cornwall, I will certainly stay at the Lansdowne again when next down on business.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nickster1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgwater, England
1 review
Reviewed 16 December 2013 via mobile

Staying at the Lansdowne whilst working away is like home from home! The guest house is a beautiful building and is very well cared for. Mark and Marnie are fantastic hosts always offering a warm welcome and well looked after rooms. I came here based on a recommendation from a colleague and would definitely pass this gem of a guest house onto anyone looking to stay in the area.

Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank DaveyDogg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

I have stayed here twice now, each for three nights, and on every occasion there was a warm friendly welcome; a clean, comfortable bedroom; super breakfast; and facilities to have an evening meal. Having a microwave and fridge in the dining room made my business stay so much easier, and they kindly cleared up after me! I would thoroughly recommend this establishment.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 December 2013 via mobile

This guest house is best I have ever stayed at. The rooms were beautiful. There was fresh towels and an en suit that was brilliant. The owners of this guest house are incredibly friendly. In the mornings they cook you a really nice breakfast. I personally had a fry up and it was very very nice. I will be staying there again when I return to Cornwall! Brilliant!

Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Reece S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halesowen, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 29 November 2013

Recently stayed for six nights as I was visiting family in the area.My en-suite room was very comfortable, well-equipped, very clean and all at a reasonable price. Breakfast was delicious with lots of choice. Marnie and Mark were very welcoming and made my stay most enjoyable. The Guest House is conveniently situated close to Redruth in a pleasant road . I hope to stay there again next time I visit Cornwall. I would highly recommend it,

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JMC819
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

A place where I feel like at home. Mark and Marnie are adorable. Great breakfast. Tastefully furnished, clean spotless, well equipped, great price! and very generous with their time to have a chat or give directions to best places to eat and visit the area. really looking forward to be back!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GloriaRodriguezVeiga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Redruth
0.5 mi away
Penventon Park Hotel
Penventon Park Hotel
#1 of 2 in Redruth
1,205 reviews
3.6 mi away
John Francis Basset Hotel
1.9 mi away
The Cedars B&B
The Cedars B&B
#1 of 10 in Redruth
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Collins Arms
Collins Arms
#6 of 7 in Redruth
14 reviews
1.2 mi away
Tricky's Hotel
Tricky's Hotel
#3 of 10 in Redruth
140 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Inn For All Seasons
The Inn For All Seasons
#5 of 10 in Redruth
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lansdowne Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lansdowne Guest House

Property: Lansdowne Guest House
Address: Lansdowne 42 Clinton Road, Redruth TR15 2QE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Redruth
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Redruth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lansdowne Guesthouse offers its guests high quality Bed and Breakfast accommodation and service with a warm “home from home” feel. An Impressive Edwardian town house, recently refurbished and extended to a very high standard, Lansdowne provides modern comforts set within a stunning period property. With country views to the rear, but just a 5 minute walk from Redruth Town Centre, with its Bus and Rail Links and other amenities, Lansdowne can offer the best of both worlds. Centrally located and within a World Heritage Site, Redruth is an ideal touring base to explore West Cornwall, with its breathtaking scenery and iconic engine houses. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lansdowne Guest House Redruth, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing