We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impressive bit of Industrial History”
Review of East Pool Mine

East Pool Mine
Ranked #1 of 27 things to do in Redruth
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Swanage
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Impressive bit of Industrial History”
Reviewed 11 October 2013

We nearly went away as the signage was confusing - the site is divided into two, with the main part being set behind Morrison's car park, with opening hours 10.30 - 5.00. We arrived at 11 am at the more obvious site next to the main road to see a sign saying it was only open from 12.00 - 4.00. We had a look at the other part on the off-chance and found it open, then by the time we had seen the film and had the tour, the other bit had opened up, so we saw it all in the end. It was really interesting and had some very keen and informative volunteers who talked to us about the engines and the industrial past. They did have some interactive stuff for the kids, but I felt that it was really more for slightly nerdy adults (like us). The huge beam engines, one of which was moving, were really impressive.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Janice T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    36
    10
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
cornwall
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“A real surprise”
Reviewed 24 September 2013

I hadn't really expected much, just somewhere to go as an NT Member ( though paying public can enter as well) but it was really good with something for everyone. As has been said it's a bit tricky to find as it's on 2 sites. The bigger site is reached from Morrisons car park while the other is on the road opposite and has shorter opening hours. There's a working beam engine there which was interesting to see. On the bigger site there's a very good film, exhibits and a preserved pumping engine. There's also things to keep children of all ages well occupied inc a sort of brass rubbing trail and Engine house inspection involving dressing up and checking things are working. Quite often there's guided tours of the site which are well worth doing. The guides here are terrifically knowledgeable and add so much to a visit, really friendly staff. We ended up spending 2 hours there. You can get drinks on site but no cafe sadly though Morrisons is handy by.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank smanamana_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Industrial history brought to life”
Reviewed 19 September 2013

I was delighted to find that the National Trust had taken on this very different project which has preserved one of the world's largest pumping engines. The engine was used to lift water from the mine which until 1954 was lifting tin, copper, arsenic and tungsten. As such this is a first-rate introduction to the industrial history which shaped this part of Cornwall.
An film does much to emphasise how mining took over the area. A short aerial clip shows engine house after engine house dotted across the landscape.
We joined a tour of the mine site conducted by a well-informed and amusing volunteer. Through him we gained insights which we might have missed. How else would we have heard a background story about the aerial ropeway which was used to transport ore for processing? It seems that at lunchtime one of the carriers was packed with pasties which were sent up the line for workers. Local boys worked out a spot where they could loiter to snatch a pasty as the bin went past.
It was fascinating to see the Taylor's engine house and realise that a series of overgrown brick beds once housed five Cornish boilers to power the pumping.
A local Morrison's store now stands on the site of one of the mine's shafts but beyond that, about 10 minutes' walk from the main site, is Michell's Engine which used to pump another shaft before a collapse. This has been rigged to work (on electricity) and so show how the gears, ratchets and beams would have been nodding in the mine's heyday.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Retiredtraveller0071
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Interesting and enjoyable”
Reviewed 31 July 2013

An excellent place to visit on a rainy day

The location is a bit strange as you get to it through Morrissons car park but its worth persevering as the guided walk (20 minutes or so) was very informative and presented in a nice lighthearted way. There is also a film which was good.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Bit of an odd NT property”
Reviewed 25 July 2013

We been to visit quite a few properties around the area and this was definitely the most odd.
First there is a film to watch which is very interesting and gives lots of information about the tin mining industry in Cornwall - it gave a positive spin to the decline which I thought was very clever, applauding the original ingenuity and then also applauding that a heritage industry remains to celebrate what have happened here.
The guides were very keen to share their knowledge but the information was full of numbers. I tried to find out about the people who were involved in handing the mine over to the NT and was made to feel as though I had asked a difficult question (the machine pumped out 4.3 swimming pools of water per day you know....../ the shaft is 500 meters down....../ etc).
It was good to think about the feats of engineering that were achieved here but I think that I just couldn't get too excited.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank JanieU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed East Pool Mine also viewed

 
Redruth, Cornwall
Redruth, Cornwall
 

Been to East Pool Mine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing