We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fascinating place”

Shire Horse Farm and Carriage Museum
Ranked #8 of 28 things to do in Redruth
Attraction details
Dorset, UK
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fascinating place”
Reviewed 21 July 2013

This place is a little gem. Yes it may seem a bit unkempt and maybe even dirty, but please remember that it is a working farm with real animals and that is what farms and animals do. Look a little deeper and appreciate what is going on here. They are striving to maintain part of our heritage, both with the beautiful heavy horses many types of which are endangered now, and with a fantastic collection of old carriages many of which have been lovingly restored.

They also provide homes for older horses here, some of whom have had interesting lives working pulling beer drays and having other roles. Also found on the farm are an assortment of other animals many of these having had interesting lives. Hence the turkey in the gents that another review commented on!

You need to have an open mind about this place- appreciate it for what it is, a very real piece of our heritage. Chat to the people here, they are only too happy to share their knowledge and stories. It certainly isn't a plastic and artificial fixed exhibit in a museum. It's a real living and breathing thing to be explored and valued. Appreciate what it is trying to do and support it. It will be worth the little bit of effort. We're certainly going back!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank Francis L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    7
    2
    1
    17
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
126 reviews
57 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“A real working farm - I loved it!”
Reviewed 28 June 2013

If you are the sort who get hung up on health and safety and sterilise your kid's hands every 10 seconds then this is not the place for you. If howerver you love horses and love meeting 'characters' then fill your boots! This is a real working farm, run by real people who care for their horses. You are met in the car park by an old dog who, like Lassie, barks to get you to follow him to the entrance - honesly, he showed us in! Yes the place is untidy but that is part of it's charm, there is real history here. It doesn't look like it had changed since it was mechanised at the end of the last war! We had a wonderful morning and were sorry to leave. If I lived closer, I would volunteer there to help get the place back on track.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank AKA_Wiccan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“shire horses near redruth”
Reviewed 27 June 2013

Found this place by chance.Had a wonderful afternoon.Staff very friendly and helpful and totally commited to the horses.Yes it is run down and could be a lot better presented but it all takes money.It is a lifes work of the owner who is elderly but loves all the fabulous horses.Any visitors help to support the animals so please go and have a look.These wonderful heavy horses should not be allowed to fade from our landscape and I am sure every little helps. The carriage museum is not set out in pristine conditions but that makes it more interesting as you discover lots of vehicles from bygone days.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank clairerick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edenbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Worst first impression ever”
Reviewed 16 June 2013

This place has leaflets, brown tourist signs etc. We thought it might be a tourist attraction...
Got there, place was deserted, except for a scary dog barking at us. There was a sign saying 'please pay here', but I couldn't see any entry prices displayed.
Went with our gut instinct, turned round, and left.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Kentowl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abbots langley
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Highlight of our holiday”
Reviewed 8 June 2013

NOT!!!!!. We were also looking forward to seeing the Shire horses and found a run down farm. But we were shown round the farm and carriages by Mike. Who was very entertaining. The carriages were great, but needed some TLC. There was a turkey in the ladies toilet and a sheep in the gents. For entertainment value it got 10 out of 10. Would we go back? Probably not.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank jquarman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Shire Horse Farm and Carriage Museum also viewed

 
Redruth, Cornwall
Redruth, Cornwall
 

Been to Shire Horse Farm and Carriage Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing