We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Class - Thoroughly recommend”
Review of The Cedars B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Cedars B&B
Ranked #1 of 10 Redruth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 August 2013

We booked the family room at the Cedars for four of us having read other reviews on Trip Advisor and were absolutely delighted. The accommodation was immaculate, spotlessly clean and all newly renovated. The location was peaceful and ideal for visiting many of Cornwall's key attractions and areas of interest, we visited everywhere from the Eden project to Lands End and Falmouth to Padstow. Breakfast was excellent, the full english easily kept us going all morning and that was without tucking into the cereals, toast and yoghurt on offer. The owners could not have been more friendly and helpful with information about the local area. Would definitely not hesitate to rebook ourselves or recommend to friends and family.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joanna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (173)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

145 - 151 of 173 reviews

Reviewed 26 August 2013

I booked a room at The Cedars after reading the great reviews on Trip Advisor. My Boyfriend and I were not disappointed. The B&B was beautiful, and peaceful. I wish we stayed longer than one night. Our room had lots of space, with a king size bed and fold out sofa bed, with a lovely view of the garden.

The breakfast was really good value, and we ate like kings! We felt welcomed and relaxed as soon as we checked-in. I would definitely recommend this B&B.

Room Tip: Our room over-looked the garden, which was a beautiful view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emma L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

We stayed at the delightful Cedars B&B for 2 nights to attend a family wedding. We booked the double bedroom and my daughter, SIL and grandaughter had the other double with the comfy sofa bed for our 6 year old.
All 5 of us agreed that this is a wonderful place. Considering Janet and Dave have not even completed one year as B&B owners you would never ever guess as they seem complete 'pros' at this. I won't go through everything in detail as other reviewers who have given it 5 stars share my opinions on all the things you look for in a great place to stay. Its all just brilliant. Just expect every aspect of your stay to be FIRST CLASS as this is what you will receive.
Nothing at all is too much trouble for Janet and Dave and not only do they run a wonderful B&B but they are lovely people too.
Don't look anywhere else for a delightful stay in this part of Cornwall. Just book it now!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helspage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2013

A really charming B&B. My 92 year old mother-in-law and her 99 year old sister had a wonderful welcome and were very well looked after on their visit to us in Cornwall.
I had been worried whether the stairs would be too much for them but they are low and wide with a sturdy bannister and they managed them with no problem. Their room was spacious with a lovely ensuite and tea and coffee facilities. The beds were extremely comfortable, and the room spotlessly clean. Breakfast was excellent and cooked to their choice.
This B&B is beautifully arranged in delightful gardens in a quiet road in the village of St Day, central to all the area. I would certainly recommend it.

Room Tip: My family stayed in room three which is a very spacious room with two comfortable single beds, a sof...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anyeshka W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2013

'The Cedars' combined the sheer professionalism of a classy hotel with the familiar atmosphere of a country B&B. The hosts were very friendly and extremely helpful throughout our stay and our room was comfortable, spacious and spotlessly clean. Breakfast was superb with a very wide choice and self-service for fruit juices, yoghurts, cereals, toast, jams, tea & coffee, while the generous cooked breakfasts were done to perfection!

Extensive information about many local attractions was also readily available and 'The Cedars' is ideally situated for exploring a Cornish heritage heartland of mining and Methodism with Gwennap Pit and Billy Bray's Chapel very close by.

We would heartily recommend 'The Cedars' as one of the very best B&Bs we have stayed at.

Thank you Janet and David!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matthew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2013

A brand new B&B in a great location to explore Cornwall via day trips. Janet and David are a lovely couple who gave us a warm welcome upon arrival and provided for all our needs. The family room with 4 beds was more than fully adequate for our family. We can strongly recommend this B&B. We had a wonderful time, thank you!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Baron V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

This has to be one of the best B&Bs we have used, if not the best. All the rooms are individually and tastefully decorated and furnished. I couldn't recommend any one in particular as they are all spacious and attractive with beautiful en-suites and adequate wardrobe space. We had Room 5 which overlooked the most attractive garden. The room had a sofa bed so would take 3 people but there were just two of us so don't know that it was worth the extra £10 per night as all the rooms we saw were equally as good. Breakfast was beautifully prepared and presented with more than adequate quantities so set us up for the day. There was a very attractive Guest Lounge with comfortable sofas and a large TV. Janet and David were happy for guests to bring back take-aways in the evening and make use of the conservatory/dining room or garden. There were heaps of books and DVDs for guest use. Safe, off road parking was brilliant. All in all, this is a gem of a B & B. Janet and David deserve success with this, their new venture. They have obviously put a lot of thought and hard work into making their B & B attractive and comfortable for guests. When people go on holiday, they want nice, comfortable accommodation to make it special. The Cedars is that special place.

Room Tip: All rooms are tastefully decorated but it was nice to have a room overlooking the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MaggieSomerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Redruth
2.3 mi away
Penventon Park Hotel
Penventon Park Hotel
#1 of 2 in Redruth
1,271 reviews
5.5 mi away
John Francis Basset Hotel
6.5 mi away
The Alverton
The Alverton
#1 of 4 in Truro
904 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Mannings Hotel
Mannings Hotel
#3 of 4 in Truro
593 reviews
5.1 mi away
The County Arms
The County Arms
#4 of 4 in Truro
453 reviews
8.3 mi away
The Oceanic Hotel
The Oceanic Hotel
#1 of 24 in Falmouth
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cedars B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cedars B&B

Address: 22 Church Street | St Day, Redruth TR16 5JY, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Redruth
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Redruth
Price Range: £74 - £104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Cedars B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautifully rural and picturesque bed and breakfast set in the heart of Cornwall close to Truro, Falmouth and Redruth.At The Cedar B&B we pride ourselves on attention to detail and work hard to create an environment, which is luxurious, tranquil and perfect for relaxing in. All our rooms have been individually decorate to the highest standard. Each room has a flat screen TV, tea & coffee making facilities and an en suite (including shower). Start your day by enjoying a hearty full English breakfast or help yourself to the breakfast buffet which hosts a variety of alternatives including cereals, fruit and juices. The dining hall is situated in our light, spacious, conservatory, which overlooks picturesque views of the garden. Unwind after a full day enjoying all that Cornwall has to offer by curling up on our big comfortable sofas in front of the warm glow of an open fire and read a book, play some board games or watch a film in our indulgent relaxation room. Within the surrounding locality are many amenities: 2 pubs, a fish & chip shop, post office and general stores. We are more than happy for you to bring food back to The Cedars B&B. There is even a Chinese take-away in the neighbouring village of Caharrack. The glorious, natural beauty of St Day and the surrounding countryside will satisfy even the most hardened of walkers or cyclists. Check our “Walking and cycling” page for more information. There is a secure lock up for keeping bikes safe over night, a porch for storing all weather clothing and muddy boots plus a generous secure car park. Cornwall is host to a diverse range of tourist attractions, from the awe-inspiring views of Lands End to the adrenalin rides at Flambards, Cornwall really does have something for everyone. To find out more information about the local attractions check out our “Local attractions” page. Alternatively, if you are tired from a long journey or just need a rest day in the middle of an action packed week then why not spend a day relaxing in our idyllic, private garden? We operate a no smoking, no pets policy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, Odigeo and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your The Cedars B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cedars B&B Redruth, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing