We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stithians Triathlon July 2013”
Review of Stithians Lake

Stithians Lake
Ranked #3 of 27 things to do in Redruth
Attraction details
Reviewed 19 September 2013

Stithians Lake is an excellent venue for a lake based triathlon - if a little challenging due to the undulating hills and the off-road run!

Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (62)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

57 - 61 of 62 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2013

Hired a double Kayak for an hour - £16! for an hour! Massively overpriced. Staff at counter didn't seem to know what they were doing. Poorly managed in my opinion. Instructor staff motoring around unnecessary in inflatable dinghys with outboards making no regard to children and others in canoes causing large wash waves that nearly dumped our children in the water. Appeared to be showing off! I am local but won't be visiting this place again!

5  Thank Polhigey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naish1111, Manager at Stithians Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2013

At Stithians Out Door + Active Centre we pride our self's in our professional approach to all things water watersports. Our staff are all dedicated to making sure everyone has a great visit to the centre, whether on or off the water.

We do our best to keep our prices low and we run many reduced rate activity sessions for both locals and visitors.

Our staff use powerboats on the Lake for coaching and safety, all staff are qualified RYA Powerboat drivers and adhere to a strict code of conduct. There are occasions where wash is created from the boats, unfortunately this cannot be helped. We have a great safety record and highly qualified instructors, this is why we have so many returning customers to our centre.

Keep a look out in the local papers, Facebook and our website for special offers throughout the year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2013

Clean showers, although many are communal. Great cafe. Very friendly and helpful staff. Camping is a bit on the pricey side but if you're in to windsurfing, it's no myth that it's one of the windiest and best inland venues. Pick decent weather and you won't be disappointed.

Loads if beautiful scenery, beaches, bike rides for those who don't sail.

Highly recommended.

Thank Winchester57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2013

I was challenged to do a 5 mile walk and a friend suggested Stithians Lake. It was ideal. and a beautiful day out. Will be going back again and taking a picnic next time.

Thank debmac34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

We went (2 adults, 3 kids) to take the children kayaking it was £15 each for a 2 hour hire of any equipment. The kids are 11,12 and 13 so went out by themselves. They had great fun, all equipment (wetsuit, helmet and life vest) included in hire. Very easy, receptionist and all staff very helpful and patient ( we tried nearly all helmets to get the right size), the only issue was that 2 hours for that age was too long, it's a shame there wasn't just the option for a 1 hour slot. However we had a nice time watching them from the cafe, the coffees were very nice. Another great thing was the showers to warm the kids up. All in all very easy from parking to, hire, to changing facilities.

1  Thank Hannah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naish1111, Manager at Stithians Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2013

Hi,

We are really glad you enjoyed our fantastic facilities. It sounds like you took advantage of one or our special half term offers for equipment hire. It is also possible to hire Kayaks from £10 per hour.

We hope to see you on the water soon.

Regards

The Outdoor + Active Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Stithians Lake also viewed

 
Redruth, Cornwall
Redruth, Cornwall
 

Been to Stithians Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing