We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Penventon Park Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Redruth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Me and my friend stayed here for a weekend away. On arrival we were greater by a lovely man on reception, he was very friendly and upgraded our room. We booked the hotel through group on which was an amazing deal. The massage we had was the best ever! The room was lovely and clean and fresh looking. Well worth the money we paid. Staff were really friendly and food was also very nice. The local town was 10min walk away but better to go shopping in Truro (bigger town), with lots of shops. Overall very nice stay :-)

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gemma S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penventon, Manager at Penventon Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2014

Thank you so much for taking time to review.

You’re quite correct, we are well placed for touring Cornwall, and the city of Truro is a must for shopping and/or a show at our famous Hall for Cornwall.

We’re pleased that you also enjoyed our leisure and spa facilities, a must after a day’s sight-seeing or indeed shopping.

We have some great offers on our website, do come back and see us again soon; it would be our pleasure to welcome you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,301)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

708 - 714 of 1,301 reviews

Reviewed 10 March 2014

Myself and my boyfriend stayed here at Penventon Park Hotel over the weekend that has just passed. We were greeted by warm, friendly staff who had reserved our table for our evening meal that night which was lovely to have arranged beforehand. Although we arrived at 7pm and our table was reserved for 7.30, we were told to take our time and to settle in the room and to come down when we were ready. Our weekend was booked through a groupon voucher where our 3 course meal was included on the first night. The menu was very extensive and we were able to mix and match between their 3 course set menu and the A La Carte menu. The food was divine and the restaurant was beautifully set out with a pianist playing beautiful music. Our room was absolutely superb and we had even had a complimentary upgrade. Thoroughly clean and immaculate, plenty of tea/coffee/hot chocolate on offer in our room. We used the spa on Saturday afternoon with full use of pool, jacuzzi and sauna. We received complimentary towels, slippers and dressing gown. The spa was lovely and the pool was at the right temperature! We ate at the hotel on the 2nd evening and again enjoyed beautiful steak with fresh vegetables and enjoyed a second night of piano music. The breakfast on both mornings were superb and I highly recommend the eggs Benedict! A full range of cereal, dried fruit, pastries, yogurt and plenty of juice , tea and coffee available.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would most definitely return to this hotel again which I am hoping will be possible in the not too distant future.
Staff were wonderful and made you feel very welcome.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank SallyPhillips85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penventon, Manager at Penventon Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2014

What can we add? … you’re review says it all!

It is our aim for your stay to be complete relaxation, indulgence and enjoyment; we’re so pleased that this was the case for yourselves.

Do come and see us again soon, we have some great offers via our website, and our online booking is so quick; you could have your next stay booked in just 3 clicks!

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2014

Stayed here in a single room on business. First impressions--lovely old mansion with lots of nooks & crannies. Decor a bit dated (still got the old mahogany faced doors and green carpet) but the room itself was good and looked as if it had recently been updated. Staff & service excellent. The restaurant is a bit formal and you only have a choice of a three course set menu or the a la carte menu which is on the expensive side. Having said that the food was very good but I would have appreciated a simple bar menu where something like fish & chops or steak pie were available to eat in the bar/lounge area. Overall a good value hotel with excellent and helpful staff.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steviec1211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penventon, Manager at Penventon Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2014

Our single rooms have been re-furbished and offer raindance showers and Hypnos beds; we’re pleased that these additions made for a good stay for you.

We do pride ourselves in providing fine dining and gracious hospitality; but we do understand that you may wish for a more casual dining experience.

Our “Spice of life” bar offers a more informal atmosphere, and we are happy to serve food in this area; our room service menu is available which offers individual dishes, such as home made burgers, pasta and Fish and Chips.

Thank you for taking time to review, we will look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Stayed at this hotel with Groupon offer. Two nights bed and breakfasts with evening meal on first night. Stayed in a garden room. Room was spotless and large and warm. Comfortable bed lots of storage and patio doors leading out onto garden. The evening meal was excellent with fantastic service. The Spa was very nice with a warm pool Jacuzzi sauna and steam room. On the second day I bought two coffees from the bar. All the staff were attentive. I wanted to take them back to the room and a member of staff carried the coffee back to my room for me as I could not carry them both.
The style of the hotel is traditional and in good decorative order. For me this gave the hotel an opulent, romantic feel. The whole package was excellent value for money. As i have friends in
the area I hope to return in the future. Compared to other hotels I have stayed in I would rate the standards at the hotel at four star.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank giniEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penventon, Manager at Penventon Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2014

Your review is an absolute joy to read, and confirms to us that we’re right to keep to tradition.
We’re so pleased that you enjoyed your stay.

Penventon really is that place for relaxation with your partner and/or fine dining ambience with friends and family; what ever the reason for your stay, we’ll always welcome you with a smile and gracious hospitality.

Thank you so much for taking time to review, it is so appreciated.

Do come back and see us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2014

I stayed here on business and had hide expectations based reviews and colleague experiences. I had booked a single room and it was very small - I have had larger single rooms in London. It appeared to have been recently refurbished, especially the bathroom, which had a very whizzy shower. There was barely room to swing a cat in the room; there was hardly any storage. The room was also very dimly lit and one of the bedside lamps did not work. Cobwebs were visible in the ceiling corners. The bed was very uncomfortable, it seemed to slope to one side. I had a poor night's sleep due to this, the rain dripping against a gutter outside and a constant whirring generator noise. However the service in the restaurant and at breakfast was exceptional as was the food. The pool area looked very well appointed. I did not use this but I did use the gym which was small with generally one of everything. There is very little choice in Redruth so I will probably stay here again and not have such high expectations

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maggie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penventon, Manager at Penventon Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2014

We have many room types available.
In an effort to keep prices reasonable for corporate guests, we did decide to keep our single rooms and upgrade to include “whizzy” showers etc.; rather than convert to double rooms to give more space, at twice the price.

However, we can’t deny, corporate singles are compact.

We do offer a special rate at this time of year, which you may be interested in.
Corporate overnight stay: a standard double room, inclusive of Bed and Breakfast, one course dinner and two drinks from the bar, all for just £99 for the evening. Do ask next time on booking. I’m sure that this will provide you with a more suitable room and the benefit of an inclusive corporate stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2014

Great deal via one of the voucher companies. Warm friendly staff , hotel decor needs to seen to be believed. However ,absolutely fabulous food and superb beds and bedding. The spa was OK reasonable pool and jacuzzi , if somewhat wierd lighting.

The Hotel's Georgian architecture is sharp contrast to downtown Redruth. Overall a great for a base for for visiting St Ives etc.

Room Tip: Hotel happy to upgrade even on voucher deal , Garden rooms have small patio area outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rod D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penventon, Manager at Penventon Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2014

We’re really pleased that you enjoyed your stay.

At this time of year, here in Cornwall it’s Storm watching and romantic dinners, rather than surfing and alfresco lunches; thus our current great offers and deals.

Via our online booking, we also have some value ‘Hot deals’ including complimentary 3 course dinner included in your B&B rate!

If we are quiet and have upgrade rooms available, we will gladly provide a free upgrade; although, please don’t be disappointed if this isn’t possible, as even at this time of year, some nights we’re still fully booked.

We do hope that you will visit again soon; your review is a pleasure to read, thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Booked an indulgence offer at the penventon, this included a double room, full use of the facilities, pool, gym and steam room. Our package also included a cream tea, cocktails, 3 course evening meal and breakfast. The food was excellent. Breakfast delicious with such a large choice and all from local sources. Will definitely be returning one of the best around

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ginnyoliver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penventon, Manager at Penventon Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2014

Indulgence… our best offer ever!

You’ve not really experienced Penventon, unless you partake of all that is on offer, and indulgence allows this.

We considered naming this offer “celebration stay” or “birthday surprise”, but have found over the years that guests use this offer as a treat, just because! at such good value, why wouldn’t you?

Current rate for March is £139 per couple per night.
We hope that you’ll be tempted to return, as it will be our pleasure to welcome you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Redruth
8.7 mi away
The Alverton
The Alverton
#1 of 4 in Truro
960 reviews
8.7 mi away
The Greenbank Hotel
The Greenbank Hotel
#3 of 24 in Falmouth
1,238 reviews
13.6 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.3 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
23 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
1,630 reviews
10.5 mi away
Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Penventon Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penventon Park Hotel

Address: West End, Redruth TR15 1TE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Redruth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Redruth
Price Range: £73 - £138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Penventon Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Georgian Mansion, just minutes from the A30 boasts Guestrooms, Aphrodite's Leisure Spa & Dining Galleries Restaurant. Guestrooms are appointed to a very high standard offering single and double ensuite accommodation. We have twenty newly built Garden Suites with beautiful Spanish Marble bathrooms. The majority of all other bedrooms are completely refurbished to a very high specification. All rooms have colour TV, including Sky TV, direct dial telephone, controllable central heating and tea / coffee making facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Booking.com, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Penventon Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Penventon Park Redruth
Hotel Penventon Park
Penventon Park Hotel Redruth, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing