We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great improvement”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Penventon Park Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Redruth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 April 2014

We have just got back from a week at the penventon park hotel,We stayed there last September and it was the worst hotel I had ever been in then but we were given the chance to go again we were informed our experience would be a better one, so we decided to give it a second chance
We are so pleased we did the room we were given was far superior and we had a glimpse at others when the chamber maids were doing the cleaning and there were a lot more rooms that were of a good standard
The food was good with a good choice most of the time the staff were at their best when the dinning room was busy
When the dinning room was less busy the staff tended to disappear Nigel the manager is aware of this and is improving things we were informed that there is a new a general manager starting and a new Chef so things can only get even better
The staff in the health and fitness suite are very polite and although the place could do with a lick of paint the swimming pool and sauna and jacuzzi are more than adequate and a nice way to either start or finish the day most days it opens at 7am and closes at 9pm so ideal to start or finish the day
The bed we slept in was lovely and firm a far cry from the disgrace we had last time the towels were clean and soft and there was always new toiletries left out if they needed replenishing
The bath was nice and deep for a good soak
There obviously things that can be improved but this we have discussed with Nigel and I am sure given time this will happen we would like to go back later in the year and see the snagging items have been rectified
I suggest you ask for a garden room down by the decking or directly above and things will be fine
The breakfast choice is great although the service could be better at times same for evening meal times
With the new Chef lets hope the choice for dinner will be even better
The hotel is dog friendly and the garden rooms have direct access to the garden please owners just help by being a responsible owner and clean up when needed so it will stay dog friendly
The hotel is ideal base for Penzance St Ives and lots of national trust areas and lovely sandy coves
Well done on your improvements but please Nigel get the snagging points implemented and it will be a top place

Room Tip: Any garden room with wooden decking or directly opposite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank farrington1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penventon, Manager at Penventon Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Please be assured that we always welcome guests’ feedback and act on guests’ comments where ever possible.

Thank you for returning and giving us the opportunity of welcoming you back, and providing a stay as it should be.

We do hope that you will continue to visit, as it will be our pleasure to welcome you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,312)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

704 - 710 of 1,312 reviews

Reviewed 20 April 2014

We have just stayed at this hotel for four nights for my nieces wedding. We were a large very mixed party, ranging from 5 months to 76 and we were all catered for.
Nothing was too much trouble. We asked for a fridge in our room, which soon caught on with all parties that had children, so due to a lack of fridges available they actually went out and bought fridges and put them in all our rooms. We asked for a microwave a high chair in the room all delivered, nothing was too much trouble. We were not the easiest of parties...:)

The wedding food was incredible, service was all with a smile.

Friday night 16 of us had a meal in the restaurant and again the food was outstanding!! Service again brilliant.
There was not a member of staff at this hotel without a smile and a can do attitude...I cannot thank you you all enough for a fabulous week.

Would I stay again? DEFINITELY!! Thank you Penventon Team you are outstanding!!! I wish I could mention you all by name!!!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sianywoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penventon, Manager at Penventon Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

It is our aim to meet and ideally exceed guests’ expectation of their stay; we’re pleased that this was the case during your stay.

We have been hosting weddings, family gatherings, short breaks and romantic getaways for over 45yrs now, and are pleased that whether young or mature in years; we appeal to all and hope to continue this quality for many more years to come.

Do come and see us again, it would be our pleasure to welcome you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

This is my second stay at the hotel. The first was with a friend for a spa stay and I was so impressed that I returned with my husband for a relaaxing romantic break. We had a lovely time even though I am not feeling 100% at the moment. Thankyou to all the staff who were pleasant and courteous. We are looking forward to a return visit - just the place to recharge. Thanks again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deserie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penventon, Manager at Penventon Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2014

We try to provide service and an experience that caters for all the varied requirements of our individual guests needs.

Thus, it’s lovely to hear that you enjoyed your stay with a friend, and equally for a romantic break with your husband. It just goes to show that traditional hospitality is universal for all!

We do hope that we continue to be your desired staycation hotel for many more stays in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Used to stay every 6 weeks about 20 years ago on business. Enjoyed it then, food was excellent and still is. Inventive with special requests catered for, just brilliant and able to get delicious 'Hogs Pudding' with a yummy breakfast. The evening meals are plentiful, delicious and special. Garden twin upgrade 161 excellent as visited with a friend this week, again excellent. All those years ago I would book a single so cannot compare. The staff are ALL courteous and most pleasant and helpful. The lovely Paola is utterly charming which obviously radiates throughout this whole and rather special hotel. The decor is a delight. So pleased I made it back, a long drive from the Midlands but worthwhile. The only sad bit for me, was having been in the music trade, the Zone nightclub, which was truly 'wired' seems to have passed its' best, a sign of the monetary times I guess. That apart, a fabulous stay, thanks to all at the Penventon for making it happen.

Room Tip: Suites great because of the extra space for a separate table and seats and large TV. Also for smoke...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sheila A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penventon, Manager at Penventon Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2014

For more than 45yrs, and even now, Paola Pascoe still ensures that she is around to greet guests, particularly those who have been visiting for some years; return guests become our friends.
And it’s true; her presence does encourage our team in providing that family hospitable level of service.

Some hotels are continually trying to provide something “different”, we prefer to stick to traditional good hospitality, service, and food; and we’re so pleased that this was the case for during your return stay.

Do come and see us again soon, it will be our pleasure to welcome you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014

Rooms excellent ,bar we'll stocked overall this hotel is run by highly motivated well mannered staff
We stayed in room 162 garden suite clean and very comfortable
We only had breakfast in the hotel but it was fantastic
I would just like to say a big thank you ,for all the hard work your staff do

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank kevinc728
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penventon, Manager at Penventon Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2014

Our Junior Suites are simply the best, and ideal for a long stay or special getaway.

We try to offer the best we can in food and service, so even if only taking breakfast, it’s the best breakfast we can offer. We’re pleased that this was the case for during your stay.

Do stay for dinner during a future stay’ with an ambiance set by the melodies from our resident pianist, there really is no better place to enjoy fine food and wine.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014

I've just returned from a four night stay at the Penventon Park Hotel as a member of a group of about 30 ladies. This hotel is the best I have stayed in for a long time, the public areas are traditionally furnished and immaculately clean. The bedrooms were huge with lovely furnishings and bathrooms and the little extras such as shampoo, shower gel, shower hats and sewing kits, which was the norm some years ago but have now vanished from the major chains, were all provided and replenished daily. the towels, also, were changed on a daily basis. The food in the restaurant was excellent both at dinner and breakfast. We had a tour menu which is often not always the best when large groups are being catered for all at one time but this menu and the quality of the food could not be improved on. Finally the staff - ALL of the staff appeared to be very happy in their work, they were efficient, friendly and very accommodating, nothing was a problem to them and they made our group feel very welcome. Thank you.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Barbara Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penventon, Manager at Penventon Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2014

“the best I have stayed in for a long time”

We are a traditional hotel, and thus provide traditional good hospitality and service, and hope to do so for a long time into the future.

We’re so pleased that you enjoyed your stay, and do hope that you will return in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Another amazing overnight stay/spa day at Penventon. 4 of us ladies had a lovely pamper day and then gorgeous meal and cocktail. The staff simply cannot do enough for you and we absolutely love staying there. It was my birthday and they made it extra special, with special little birthday touches :) Thank you all at Penventon. Amazing breakfast as well.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AuntieCece
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penventon, Manager at Penventon Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2014

It’s lovely to welcome guests, even more so when returning.

You experienced all that Penventon has to offer, fine food, wine and also the all-important spa relaxation.

team enjoy looking after you as much as you enjoy your visits.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Redruth
8.7 mi away
The Alverton
The Alverton
#1 of 4 in Truro
971 reviews
8.7 mi away
The Greenbank Hotel
The Greenbank Hotel
#3 of 24 in Falmouth
1,266 reviews
14.3 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 mi away
Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate
13.6 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
11 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
Tregenna Castle Resort
#10 of 21 in St Ives
2,773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Penventon Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penventon Park Hotel

Address: West End, Redruth TR15 1TE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Redruth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Redruth
Price Range: £83 - £151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Penventon Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Georgian Mansion, just minutes from the A30 boasts Guestrooms, Aphrodite's Leisure Spa & Dining Galleries Restaurant. Guestrooms are appointed to a very high standard offering single and double ensuite accommodation. We have twenty newly built Garden Suites with beautiful Spanish Marble bathrooms. The majority of all other bedrooms are completely refurbished to a very high specification. All rooms have colour TV, including Sky TV, direct dial telephone, controllable central heating and tea / coffee making facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Penventon Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Penventon Park Redruth
Hotel Penventon Park
Penventon Park Hotel Redruth, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing