We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Penventon Park Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Redruth
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good hotel, good location”
Reviewed 15 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 weeks for work. Food good. Hotel has its own pub with sky, pool and darts plus drinks promos. Only downside I can think of is rooms could be updated. Dont get me wrong my room was comfy and clean but decor felt as if it could do with a revamp.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penventon, Manager at Penventon Park Hotel, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Many of our guests don’t realise that we have our ‘Spice of Life’ bar; this addition to the hotel is ideal for our corporate guests.

Whilst beautiful architecture, Penventon is an old lady of a building; as with all gracious buildings, there is always a refurbishment plan, ongoing, with the least disruption to guests in mind.

We’re pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, and are hopeful that we will be your destination hotel for future business visits to Cornwall.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,242 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    746
    319
    121
    34
    22
See reviews for
218
542
57
204
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (349)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Camelford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Spent 24 wonderful hours at this lovely hotel and couldn't fault anything - beautiful room leading out to gorgeous gardens; friendly, helpful staff, delicious food and the most amazing "back to life" massage therapy. Most impressed by the fact that my elderly mum dropped a precious and much loved sapphire and diamond ring give to her as a 45th wedding anniversary present. It was found under the table by a member of staff who delivered it safely to our bedroom the next morning. It could so easily have just "gone missing" or been hoovered up.

Room Tip: The garden suites are beautiful with French windows leading directly out onto lovely mature gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penventon, Manager at Penventon Park Hotel, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Attention to detail is really important to us, and we’re so pleased that this was apparent during your stay; and we returned your Mum’s ring safely to her.

Hospitality and your experience is important to us, so I’m sure it’s no surprise that we’re really pleased to hear that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay.

Thank you so much for taking the time to review, it is much appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Family of two adults and one twelve year old just picked this from a list as were going to a wedding elsewhere, near Mylor harbour. During the week it is mainly for retired people, then at the weekends the weddings come in. So make sure you have a room away from the party areas if you are not at a wedding hosted there - we asked for one and got it, so good start. The service generally was pretty good. We arrived late after a 5 hour drive from London and there was no problem in getting a good sandwich. First impressions of breakfast service were not great as they ignored us when we first walked in, but it improved. The cooked breakfast was consistently good but the tea and coffee they serve with it are really awful - worst canteen-style stuff. The common parts are traditional, olde-world charm, but with some quite nice twists - in need of refurbishment though. The room was a good size, including two beds and a sofa and tv, with reasonable size en suite bathroom. Had not been refurbished as some of the other rooms we saw had. The staff on reception are all pleasant but some of the younger ones have absolutely no idea about the area, so pointless asking them anything. Redruth itself is ok but you will need a car to get around to other places - and in fact the position for both north and south coasts is very good (everything accessible within a 40 minute drive). We used the spa once and it was perfectly decent. All in all, a good place for a family stay with the advantage of being in a good geographical position for visiting everywhere in Cornwall.

Room Tip: Did not see the garden suites people go on about, but this standard large room well away from the re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HassledLondoner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penventon, Manager at Penventon Park Hotel, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review. Guests’ comments and suggestions are welcomed and help us in identifying and making strategic decisions to our offering with the guest in mind.

The quality of tea and coffee we provide has historically been good, therefore I will investigate with our team and supplier to understand why this has occurred.

We have many room types that allow the location of guests appropriately in accordance with the purpose of their stay; we’re pleased that we got this spot-on for your stay and that you enjoyed the ambience and facilities of the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Truro, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Had a wonderful day at Penventon and enjoyed the Leisure Centre and a light lunch,which was lovely and not expensive. The staff were really friendly and I enjoyed my stay in the warm friendly environment. Thanks to the Team!

Room Tip: wonderful hotel, sure will be paying more visits.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank djw1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penventon, Manager at Penventon Park Hotel, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Your review is short, but says all that we’d hope for.

It’s our aim to provide a guest experience, as if our friends; we’re so pleased that this was apparent during your stay.

We will look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camborne, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

i haven't stayed at the hotel but regularly use the facilities. We have regular spa treatments which are fab. The staff are fabulous ..polite ..courteous.. well mannered they can never do enough for you. I have eaten her often as well and whether a intimate lunch/dinner or a function the food is always amazing

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank miche999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penventon, Manager at Penventon Park Hotel, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
We try to tailor our offering of facilities, food and ambience to suit the purpose for our guests’ visit, whether it be for leisure, special occasion or business. We’re so pleased that this has been your experience, consistently, during varying reasons to visit.

We’re a family run hotel, and community and local guests are as important to us as those that visit from afar; we hope that you will continue to frequent Penventon into the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camborne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 May 2014

3 stars is a massive under rating for this very special venue. When planning our wedding I was against a hotel wedding as I didn't want to do the same as everyone else. The Penventon really didn't feel like that. From the first time we sat down to talk about our wedding plans we felt like we were the only people getting married there. We were treated like individuals and that our day was as important to them as it was to us. Every time we visited we had complimentary drinks and never felt like we were using up there time with our little questions. We initially started planning with Louise and then Amy took over when Louise went on maternity and the transition was very smooth and Amy did a fantastic job. The food on the day was amazing and worthy of its reputation. All the guests commented on how fantastic it was. We honestly believe our day would not have been as perfect if it wasn't for Amy's skills and calmness on the day. All staff at the hotel were outstanding and catered to all our guests needs who stayed over the weekend and made the whole experience effortless. This review has only touched on how happy we are with the Penventon and how pleased we are that we chose this venue to hold our big day. Lastly another huge thank you to everyone who participated in our truly perfect day and we can't wait to celebrate our 1st anniversary there.

Room Tip: All rooms are quirky and unique! We would stay in any of them!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Catherine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penventon, Manager at Penventon Park Hotel, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
We enjoy greeting guests for all types of stay, we’re a family run hotel and therefore it’s even more so a pleasure to welcome those celebrating and family event; particularly a wedding.

We will ensure that Louise and Amy have sight of your comments; both of which, we’re sure, will be thrilled to hear the success of your wedding planning and day.

We too will look forward to your 1st Anniversary stay; it will be our pleasure to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Austell
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

We are currently staying at the Penventon for our first wedding anniversary. Just being here brings back so many amazing memories.
We looked high and low for the perfect wedding venue. Literally all over the county. Don't get me wrong if money were no object there are some amazing venues in Cornwall... But for most "normal" working class people money has to be an object. We had a budget and we had to stick to it... I cheated a little as I'd already been to the Penventon for a wedding as a guest and I knew the service was good, the food was excellent etc, etc... But out of everywhere we went to have a look at we were made to feel the most welcome and appreciated at the Penventon ... We were actually quite surprised how some places we visited were so nonchalant, we got the feeling they didn't really need our custom, let alone want it. Most people barely seemed interested. All that changed at the Penventon though. From the offset we were made to feel at home, we were given the tour, treated to lunch, we had our 6 month old daughter with us aswell at the time and one of the housekeepers even took her for a little walk around so that we could actually sit and chat about wedding plans... And on top of that the owner of the hotel gave her a stuffed toy to keep! All in all we were made to feel special, like what we were about to book was as important to the staff as it was to us...and on top of that here we are sat in a beautiful building with all the glam and grandeur of a top hotel and yet here we are actually being able to afford a full 3 course, sit down meal AND we got a free stay on our wedding night ... That was it. We'd made our decision. After booking we met with Amy (the Wedding Planner)several times before the wedding and immediately warmed to her. She's knowledgeable, passionate, realistic and sympathetic to budget etc. Nothing was too much trouble. She had a way of guiding us through the whole planning process as if we were the first and only wedding she'd ever done. We her devoted attention from day one.
On the actual day of the wedding one of my most vivid and touching memories of the day was walking out of the Master Suite and down the staircase in my dress. I was so overwhelmed to see all the staff... Receptionists, waiting staff, chamber maids all lined up to wish me good luck before I walked downthe aisle...I don't know if they do that all the time or if it was just by chance but wow was that emotional! I walked down those stairs earlier today and got butterflies just thinking of it!
On the day everything was handled brilliantly- Amy guided us through the day perfectly. The service was spot on, the food was exquisite. All the guests commented on how good the food was... All in all we had a magical day. Made all the more magical because of the warm and welcoming staff.
Honestly if you're looking for somewhere to get married and haven't visited the Penventon yet it's definitely worth a visit because they might just knock your socks off!
Okay so it's not the most romantic location in the world and it doesn't have sprawling sea views, but who cares when you're treated like royalty, the hotel is beautiful, the food is amazing and it's such good value for money?! It's a no brainer!
Thank you Pv for giving.us such an amazing day, one we'll never forget.

Hayley and Mike x

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Thomphay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penventon, Manager at Penventon Park Hotel, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
We totally agree with you. We have sea views, they’re just 10mins down the road; and therefore what we do have is beautiful gardens, impressive Georgian architecture and more car parking than most hotels have put together!

Plus we’re central; some say ‘a gem in the heart of Cornwall’

Hayley and Mike, making memories for us, for you, is what it’s all about!

Thank you for taking time to review; it is so, so appreciated.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Redruth
8.7 mi away
The Alverton
The Alverton
#1 of 4 in Truro
874 reviews
20.4 mi away
The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate
23.0 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
1,561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.0 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
Tregenna Castle Resort
#10 of 21 in St Ives
2,660 reviews
8.7 mi away
The Greenbank Hotel
The Greenbank Hotel
#2 of 24 in Falmouth
1,137 reviews
13.6 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Penventon Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penventon Park Hotel

Property: Penventon Park Hotel
Address: West End, Redruth TR15 1TE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Redruth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Redruth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Penventon Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Georgian Mansion, just minutes from the A30 boasts Guestrooms, Aphrodite's Leisure Spa & Dining Galleries Restaurant. Guestrooms are appointed to a very high standard offering single and double ensuite accommodation. We have twenty newly built Garden Suites with beautiful Spanish Marble bathrooms. The majority of all other bedrooms are completely refurbished to a very high specification. All rooms have colour TV, including Sky TV, direct dial telephone, controllable central heating and tea / coffee making facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Penventon Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Penventon Park Redruth
Hotel Penventon Park
Penventon Park Hotel Redruth, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing