We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (139)
Filter reviews
139 results
Traveller rating
110
20
6
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
110
20
6
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews games room play area great campsite camping trip dog walking field seasonal pitch small indoor pool tumble dryer pub standard welcoming bottle of wine excellent order nice quiet site free showers washing line major attractions electric pitch great central location
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 139 reviews
Reviewed 1 September 2018 via mobile

This was our third year coming to Langyon and may well be our last. We were in the lower field which had travellers caravans pitched up. They drove around the site drunk, the children were wild (one punched me son twice in the face! My son is a very placid 6year old) they drove around late at night reving car engines and had cars, trucks and work lorries coming and going. The kids left rubbish around which we were picking up and they were noisy.
We spoke to the owners who didn't seem bothered and said it was unfortunate and there was nothing they could do but were checking on them 3times a day as they had also had another complaint about a child running in front of cars. I feel more should have been done as we are paying for a nice relaxing holiday. Due to this we spent very little time at the site as it was unpleasant.
Another night they were shooting air rifles until 1am. (Not great when you have a 3 and 6year old trying to sleep).
We understand that not all travellers behave in this manors and that they can't stop them from booking but if the are causing trouble they should be asked to leave, or we should have been offered another pitch in a different field or refund if they couldn't do this.

(A local farmer made them leave after he threatened to called the police as they had been shooting the air rifles at his cows and farm house) unfortunately this was our last night at the park not at the beginning of our stay)

The site it self is good and the toilet blocked are cleaned regularly and the showers are nice and hot. (We did ask to have the use of the family bathroom when booking but they put us in a different field which was annoying). The food is nice and a good price (they have a nice upstairs area to eat as down stairs it dated).
The play park is tired as well as the games room.
The pitch sizes are good with hedges and the grass etc is well maintained.
The position of the campsite is great if you like exploring.

The grounds keeper is really good and clearly works very hard.

The wifi never worked for us.

The pool is clean but small for the size of the campsite.

I emailed our complaint about being unhappy with how our complaint was managed (they did nothing) and gave the site 10 days to reply before leaving a negative review but they didn't respond which was very disappointing but also not surprising as they didn't deal with it when we stayed.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank zoekjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lanyon_and_Laurels, Manager at Lanyon Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2018

Hi Zoe,
Sorry you did not enjoy your 3rd stay with us having previously had great times before.
It was an unfortunate and unpleasant situation that occured due to a certain type of guest booking with us that completely disrespected us, the site, local wildlife and other guests.
It is by no means a common occurence but is tricky to manage once guests have paid and arrived on site.
We were very much bothered that other paying guests such as yourselves were being disturbed and got involved as soon as we were notified of their unruly behaviour and were monitoring the situation however we had no clue about the ball bearings being fired from pellet guns until our friend who lives in the house opposite our site informed us.
We were completely full on site at that time and had no other pitches that we could relocate anyone to.
We appreciate the comments about the cleanliness and that you find the location of our site great. The playpark has had a full revamp for this year so im not sure how it is tired looking.
I must clarify to all reading that when you sent the complaint email you were replied to straight away and offered 50% off a future stay with us due to the nature of the complaint and many apologies - i emailed you again this morning with a copy of the reply timed and dated and you said you had not recieved the original reply so im not sure where that ended up!
Again we can only apolgise for what occured and assure you it was handled in a very thought about manner.
We do hope you can take us up on the offer and once again enjoy a wonderful family holiday here at Lanyon.
Best Wishes
Jayne,Jamie and the Whole Team at Lanyon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2018 via mobile

I am not an experienced camper so I was very nervous when we booked four nights to stay at this site. Now I feel like we can go camping again and I want to go back to this site again. We camped together with our friends and found the whole site and the staff really lovely. It has a small pool but big enough for kids to splash around and have fun. Grass was regularly cut, as soon as tents were mov d there was somebody on a ride on mower to make sure the site was ready for the next group of people. Toilets and showers were well maintained. We had lots of fun taking part in bingo night.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank katyariley82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lanyon_and_Laurels, Manager at Lanyon Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2018

Amazing review - thanks so much Katherine! It is fantastic to hear you all enjoyed yourselves and took advantage of the on site entertainment in the bar.
We really look forward to your return trip - hopefully you have the camping 'bug' now!
Best Wishes...The Team at Lanyon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2018 via mobile

I booked here at relatively short notice for a last minute break for my daughter and I. On arrival everything went very smoothly and soon found my pitch - a very well kept area with hedge boundaries, with plenty of room for even a tent as large as mine.
The site was immaculate, and there was a heated indoor pool, play area and play park. All areas were clean and tidy, and it was obvious that significant effort goes in to the site to make sure it is always so well presented.
I can not fault the site, all the staff were incredibly helpful and friendly, and I would definitely look at using the site again for another trip to Cornwall in the future.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Phillip614
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lanyon_and_Laurels, Manager at Lanyon Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2018

Thanks Phillip! We are delighted you and your daughter had such a great stay at Lanyon and found the pitches large, staff friendly and all the facilities clean and tidy.
We look forward to your return!
Best Wishes...The Team at Lanyon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2018

We chose this site due to reviews, plus i lived in a village nearby many years ago so it was a bit of a journey down memory lane. Arrived at the site early but staff were great and lodge was ready so we were allowed to settle in early. All the staff we met were friendly and helpful. The site itself is small, quiet, clean and family run. The lodge was unfortunately a disappointment. The double bed was so hard, and i mean like sleeping on a park bench, we ended up having to put x 2 single mattresses on from the other rooms, just so it was softer. The shower was over the bath, the glass screen was no real help in keeping the water from splashing all over the floor, we ended up buying a mop. Second day we sprung a leak. Reception was closed so we ended up finding it ourselves after some detective work, ( toilet overflow), easily fixed.. The gas cooker wouldn't ignite ( oven ), so we had to buy one of those long igniters so we could cook. Despite this, it was nice to be in the dry, as weather was not so good when we went. We love going to Cornwall but would not return to Lanyon Holiday Park, and for the cost of the lodge we know we could have got better accomodation else where.

Date of stay: August 2018
Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lanyon_and_Laurels, Manager at Lanyon Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2018

Hi Chris,
Sorry to hear you did not have a great experience with one of our lodges. All but one of the problems you encountered could have been easily rectified by notifying a member of staff - even if reception is closed there is ALWAYS a telephone number on the front door of a manager who lives on site so there is never a time when there is nobody to help.
I must say this is the first time we have had any mention of hard beds.
You say all staff were friendly and helpful which is fantatsic to hear however we cannot help with a problem we do not know about.
Hope you enjoy many more Cornish holidays to come, sorry they will not be with us.
Best Wishes....The Team at Lanyon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2018 via mobile

We arrived on site, got set up and began exploring. We are a family of 5 and we found something on site for us all to do. The indoor pool was great with nice warm water, the play area was good for the kids and the Bar/Entertainment area for the evening was a lot of fun.
Highly recommended.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Andrew John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lanyon_and_Laurels, Manager at Lanyon Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2018

Thanks Andrew! Lovely to hear that you and your family enjoyed the site facilities including the bar and swimming pool.
It will be great to welcome you all back...Best Wishes...The Team at Lanyon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews