We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“5 star comfort in a B & B”

Solcett Bed & Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Redruth
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Solcett Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #7 of 10 Redruth B&B and Inns
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“5 star comfort in a B & B”
Reviewed 18 September 2010

We stayed at this outstandingly good B & B twice in September 2010. The second time, we were joined by an Australian friend. The rooms are very comfortable [one twin room and one family room]. Both are equipped to a standard that one would normally associate with a 5 star hotel [comfortable beds; bathrobes; beautiful towels and face flannels; hairdryer; facilities for making hot drinks comprising both a kettle and a filter coffee machine; refrigerator; flat screen TV with built-in DVD player; a range of good quality bathroom soaps, shampoos, shower gels and moisturisers; and even a set of clippers etc for nail cutting!] The owners have also provided packs of cards and board games should they be required.

Breakfast is taken in the large comfortable dining room, which overlooks the lovely fish pond and trees, and it meets the same high standard as the bedrooms. Where appropriate [e.g. bacon, eggs, sausages, hog’s pudding] food is locally sourced.

The comfort and convenience of the guests comes first and nothing is too much trouble for the owners, Janet [incidentally an excellent cook!] and Malcolm Dunstan.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frank1914
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
3
3
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 14 September 2010

I've now been to Solcett several times and always get a friendly welcome. It is very clean, neat, very well provided with toiletries, guest sitting room, TV, tea/coffee etc, great breakfasts and hosts who are friendly, informative and helpful.
I have used Solcett when on business trips in the Penzance, Helston, Falmouth and Truro areas as well as Redruth and Camborne.
I will happily use it for holiday purposes in the future.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ExploringTheWorld64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redruth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2010

We arrived after navigating the small quaint roads, one needs to look out for the sign as it is a little hidden. Once we found it, Solcett was a haven away from all the hustle and bustle of travel.
Malcolm and Janet welcomed us into a lovely relaxing home with all ammenities and everything just so. House is surrounded by lovely, well kept, gardens and large fish ponds. The bedrooms were at 5 star level of comfort and facilities, with each room being self contained. The communal lounge has basic Sky and has a sun room attached, WIFI is available but you may need to move to the house lounge to get a good signal.
We came to base ouselves for 2 nights to break up further travel and our hosts made us feel very welcome and looked after. Even booking us into to the local pub for food and showing us how to find it :D
If you want to stay somewhere with everything laid on and hosts who are lovely to talk to, I heartily recommend the Solcett.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElDuKe71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wodonga
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2009

If you are looking for quality, high standards, comfort, friendliness, cleanliness, quiet environment, generous servings and variety of food and special attention to detail and guests' specific needs then look no further than Solcett. Jan and Malcolm were top hosts and their B&B is outstanding in every way. The B&B may be tricky to find without clear directions but we found the printed copy off the Solcett website to be very useful in finding our way there. We highly recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SusannahWodonga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
southampton
1 review
Reviewed 31 August 2009

Solcett was an excellent base when staying near friends at the Tehidy caravan park. Janet and Malcolm were both friendly and nothing appeared to be too much trouble for them, The directions were perfect, we had no problems finding the B and B and although it is off the beaten track it is easy to reach the A30 from here. The family room was comfortable and the facilities excellent. Good value for money and would definately recommend people to stay there.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bandbvisi2r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
midlands
1 review
Reviewed 5 June 2009

I stayed here with a colleague and nothing was to much trouble for the couple who own it a little difficult to find but our stay over shadowed the location,all in all a fantastic experience,11/10

  • Stayed February 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paulypo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
canada
1 review
Reviewed 3 October 2008

We spent 2 nights at Solcett and although we had difficulty finding the place, we were thoroughly satisfied with both the accommodation and the hospitality of the owners. Nothing was too much trouble for Janet. She washed my sister's jeans and rescued some precious cards I had left in a gift shop at St. Ives, making the trip by bus !! Solcett is first class all the way -just like the owners!

  • Liked — cleanliness and friendliness
  • Disliked — difficult to find
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank kathleenCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Redruth
1.1 mi away
Penventon Park Hotel
Penventon Park Hotel
#1 of 2 in Redruth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,199 reviews
2.5 mi away
John Francis Basset Hotel
3.3 mi away
The Cedars B&B
The Cedars B&B
#1 of 10 in Redruth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Tricky's Hotel
Tricky's Hotel
#4 of 10 in Redruth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
1.5 mi away
Collins Arms
Collins Arms
#6 of 7 in Redruth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Inn For All Seasons
The Inn For All Seasons
#5 of 10 in Redruth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Solcett Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solcett Bed & Breakfast

Property: Solcett Bed & Breakfast
Address: West Tolgus | Illogan, Redruth TR15 3TN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Redruth
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Redruth
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Solcett Bed & Breakfast Redruth, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing