We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Saved us from the rain”
Review of Blue Tomato Cafe

Blue Tomato Cafe
Ranked #3 of 13 Restaurants in Rock
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$25
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Situated on the bank of the Camel Estuary, with amazing views across the water to Padstow. Child friendly, Dog friendly. Kids and dogs menu's! Extensive range of coffee's, tea's, wines and food. Something for everyone, from tea cakes to lobsters........
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
385 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
“Saved us from the rain”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

This restaurant seems to be one of the more popular in Rock. The menu is varied and we were all satisfied with what we ordered. The thing that made this place special, was that it offered us shelter from the pouring rain! The staff was very friendly and attentive, even though it became very crowded. It is a smallish restaurant, so the noise level grew quite a bit, but overall, a lively, pleasant place for a bite.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Calypso007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

642 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    284
    193
    73
    44
    48
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Whitstable
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great unpretentious little place serving great food with a smile!”
Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

We revisited after 2 years and were not disappointed. Served by very attentive friendly waiter and the view over the bay was wonderful. We both ordered salads which were well made with superb ingredients and a delicious rosé. I hope to return and find it unchanged some day. Keep up the good work.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Foodiefan143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porthcawl
Level Contributor
77 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Great food, service & views!!”
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Had lunch with my family yesterday, and was very pleased overall with the food quality and service.
Nice atmosphere too!!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Julian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hitchin
Level Contributor
73 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Great Service”
Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

We had dinner here while on holiday and were very impressed with the service. The food was very good, some may consider costly but it's comparable with the area. What made the meal for us was the waiter, a lovely fella from Slovakia. His professionalism, excellent manners and all round service skills were worthy of note even with our over excited dog. He is a great asset to the establishment!

Helpful?
Thank Mick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Coffee and sandwich were great, but appalling service”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

If you want to wait and wait and wait to be served with a nice view, Blue Tomato is your place. Even when you ask can you take my order (after 10 mins), it will be a response that your server will be with you shortly. 10 mins later we order and then wait to be served. Really is a shame, this place should be fantastic, and needs to be with the competition developing around it - plenty of staff, many great, but let down by just one or two.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Hampshire_Nige
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Blue Tomato Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Blue Tomato Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing