We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Arresting Food at Outlaws”
Review of Outlaw's - CLOSED

Outlaw's
Price range: US$39 - US$59
Cuisines: Seafood, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, View, Child-friendly, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Overlooking the Camel estuary, Outlaw’s at the St. Enodoc Hotel is the perfect place for a memorable meal, showcasing modern British Seafood cookery and locally sourced meat. In fine weather diners are able to enjoy their meal whilst taking in the fantastic view from the terrace.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Arresting Food at Outlaws”
Reviewed 27 August 2014

I would imagine most celebrity chefs are pretty hard to spot in their own establishments so I was delighted to see Nathan chatting to his front of house staff when we arrived for our early evening reservation.

We started with a pre-dinner cocktail made of gin, cucumber, basil syrup and Champagne - an excellent combination and must count as one of my 5-a-day! The staff were very friendly and attentive throughout our dinner and our food was absolutely fab. The menu has some noteworthy 'Nathan Outlaw' specials including his 'great british menu' Plaice, main course - stunningly good! You would imagine the portions might be a little dainty but following starters and mains we had no room for puddings - not the norm for us I can assure you.

It's not the cheapest food available in Rock or Padstow but I honestly think it's some of the best value… £35 for two courses of this quality is pretty damn good!

Will we return? You bet we will.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cowap1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

385 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    240
    74
    44
    20
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
BIRMINGHAM
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Treat”
Reviewed 25 August 2014

We had a two course lunch, the only outstanding course was the desert, it was amazing. I thought the ethos of the staff would be to promote all areas of Nathan Outlaw, sadly not.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank LYNNEG262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level 6 Contributor
769 reviews
420 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 299 helpful votes
“Expensive set menu”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Lovely location with a view outside of the estuary. We were staying at the hotel but only ate at this restaurant - the michelin starred restaurant has a long taster menu which would not suit our family. This restaurant serves a set menu - two courses are £35 which was quite expensive for a family of 5 although i appreciate that you pay a premium for eating in Rock. The food was good but it was not exceptional for this price. Not a particularly memorable meal.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LAW64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Fantastic food very casual diners”
Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

This is well worth a trip. Every course we had was beautiful, attentive staff and a nice setting. The website says casual but we were surprised at how far fellow diners had taken that with a constant stream of people walking through to get to the pool. This was a bit of a shame but perhaps that was only because we were on the terrace rather than inside. If you enjoy good food you will not be disappointed we will certainly be back.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Lived up to expectations”
Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

The whole family had been looking forward to our holiday in Cornwall, and specifically our visit to Outlaw's.

The restaurant did not disappoint. Great evening, very attentive staff, great food and, given the location and quality, pretty good value.

We have all said we'd love to go back!

Well done to all at Outlaw's.

Helpful?
Thank MartinMiles63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Outlaw's also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing