We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“lovely view and food to match” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tides Restaurant - CLOSED

Tides Restaurant
Price range: US$24 - US$41
Cuisines: British, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Tides restaurant at the Mariners in Rock, offers stunning pannoramic views of the Camel Estuary and delivers carefully prepared contemporary dishes made from the finest Cornish produce. The Chef describes his food as using influences from European classical and modern cuisine to produce fresh, honest and flavoursome dishes.
chester
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“lovely view and food to match”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2013

We were initially the only people at this restaurant, which was a little odd for a Friday evening. The waitress was very attentive and further diners did arrive. We had the steak which was cooked just as we had ordered it. The view on a lovely summer's evening was a bonus too.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank cheshiretraveller_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    4
    2
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tintagel, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Appalling attitude of staff”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2012

We joined friends who were holidaying in the vicinity and who had booked this restaurant for a very special celebration; the two of us were running 15 minutes late and had rang the restaurant in advance to let them and our friends know of our delay. We were told by the restaurant that it was not a problem as they were not very busy (Sunday night in August). We arrived to find that there were only two tables booked in the restaurant and our four friends sitting with distraught faces and untouched drinks in front of them. The other four had arrived at 7.20 for a 7.30 booking and before even getting to the table and basically still in the entrance, had been told that the majority of the fish dishes were not available ( as they did not cater for many people on a Sunday night!) some of the meat dishes were also not available and some dishes had only one or two servings left: the choice that remained was small by any standards. This might have been overcome had the attitude of the surly waitress been a little better both towards our friends and also to us when we arrived ( yes I admit we were 15 minutes late..but they were hardly run off their feet with only one other table occupied!) we were told we needed to place our order immediately and when our friends said they were having a little difficulty making a selection from such a small selection this was again greeted with a shrug of dismissal. One of my friends was by this time virtually in tears and I offered to go and see if we could get in somewhere else at this late stage....I was successful and returned to find the owner/mamager talking to them and to give him credit he was just offering to ring around and find them an alternative restuarant ( this was virtually an hour after they had arrived by this time) and we were able to say that we had made our own alternative arrangments. We left and on walking through Rock were told that one of the party was just setlting the bill, yes they had even been charged for the four drinks that remained virtually untouched! We had been so pleased that they had chosen beautiful North Cornwall for their celebration and so embarrassed on behalf of our regioin to find that they had been so pitifully treated.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank vivienne m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Private Dining”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2012

We were the only customers at this lovely restaurant. Cant think why. The food is as good as any top London restaurant - fresh ingredients, beautifully presented. Every dish was excellent and light on the stomach. The wine was very good and the price extremely reasonable. Service was obviously excellent without being intrusive. All in all this is as good as any of the grander restaurants in North Cornwall. Maybe it just needs better marketing!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk uk
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Decent food but too slow ,”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2012

Restaurants should always get the basics right before they start adding the extras that make some where special and different .
Don't get me wrong , the food here is pleasant with some lovely touches such as home made warm bread with starters and marshmallows and honeycomb with coffees. The drinks were kept flowing well too . Sadly this is let down by low quality steaks , slow service and a strange approach to customers . The menu is limited and we almost felt as though the chef would rather we had not arrived here as we were a table of 8 and we were even told in a rather pert manner that it was our fault he had run out of steak because our children ordered it ??!!
Overall an odd dining experience , service too slow and somewhat unwelcoming . Food promising and well presented but too slow to apoear even when preordered and if you need to lay steak knives then you need too look at what steak your using

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SaraMurphy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath
Level Contributor
143 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting, very good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2012

You have to book here and parking is not easy, but the ambience, setting and food are very good indeed. inventive food with local produce, though fresh peas and radishes not to everyones taste, delicious beef and interesting fish dishes, a variety of inventive puddings though the strawberry souflle looked fab was bland, my peach and raspberry had lovely flavours it just needed a few more peaches and rasberrys, Overall very good

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank alexBath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tides Restaurant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing