We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent dinner”
Review of No.1 Rock Road

No.1 Rock Road
Ranked #7 of 13 Restaurants in Rock
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Excellent dinner”
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We recently stayed in rock and wanted to go out for dinner minus the kids. We chose this place partly due to the view, the recommendations and its pricing.

The food and service were excellent and all three courses were sufficiently detailed to justify the prices. Predictably seafood and fish were excellent choices and there was no disappointment amongst the party with regards to these.

The service was initially a little brusque but became pleasant by the end of the evening. We would definitely come back! Keep up the good work

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MonkeyMagicLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    139
    86
    31
    24
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
167 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Terrible Hot Chocolate - Great Views”
Reviewed 21 June 2014

After a walk around Rock we wanted a drink, I noticed a nice sun terrace over-looking the beach with Padstow in view, so we stayed here.

The service was good however our three hot chocolates with whipped cream & marshmallows were awful, after the toppings were eaten :) the drink was bland, tasted like they used the cheapest hot chocolate they could source, and for £3+ each it definitely wasn't worth it.

However the redeeming factor was the view, I would probably come here again just for the view, though I'll order something different.

Date of visit: 29th May (approx. 4pm)

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gMaesterUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wadebridge, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
“its a wonderful life”
Reviewed 19 June 2014

first visit to no1 but it certainly wont be our last, ,it was a stunning sunny evening and the view is to die for, so is the food. attentive service lovely relaxed atmosphere..I highly recommend the crispy duck salad starter and for main the pork belly from the specials board, the portion size is good and I think very good value for money as they obviously use quality ingredients.
My wife and I are certainly looking forward to going there again in the near future.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank thepitymein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halesworth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great place”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

This ticked all the boxes - fabulous views, delicious food and attentive service. Lots of choice on the menu, with all four of us coming away having had a really good meal and a really enjoyable evening. HIghly recommended.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Patricia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect Sunset”
Reviewed 13 June 2014 via mobile

After a few days as guests of friends we invited them to join us for supper. A lovely sunset allowed us to sit on the deck for drinks. Attentive staff, delicious food and a fantastic outlook across to Padstow. Perfect!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed No.1 Rock Road also viewed

 

Been to No.1 Rock Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing