We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel in peaceful location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The St Enodoc Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rock
Certificate of Excellence
England
Level Contributor
52 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Very good hotel in peaceful location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2012

This hotel is an excelllent base for those looking for a quiet location with easy access to some great beaches, the Cornish Coastal Path and activities such as surfing,sailing,etc.
Our room was at the front with a good view of the Camel Estuary. Although small, it was light, extremely clean and quiet. The tea making facility did include cartons of UHT milk but there was a note to say we could ask a reception for fresh milk. The bathroom was good but greater power from the shower head would have been appreciated. The pipes from the toilet in one of the nearby rooms vibrated on flushing but it did not disturb us or detract from the enjoyment of the property.
The pool was well heated and was enjoyable after a day walking.
We ate twice in the evening and had breakfast on each of our four days in the bar and grill. The breakfasts were excellent. We don't mind if there is a small selection of buffet items if the cooked selection is of the standard you get here. The range provides for everyone. The first evening meal was okay but the second meal was excellent.
This is a hotel with something for everyone.

Room Tip: Get a room at the front. The views are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank acontributor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    231
    76
    16
    7
    3
See reviews for
42
229
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2012

Spent 4 nights at the St. Enodoc. Super, spacious and comfortable room with an amazing view over the Camel estuary. Excellent and relaxed service, understated quality in the facilities and attention of the friendly and helpful staff. As you would expect the food at Nathan Outlaw restaurant and the Seafood & Grill was outstanding. Not a bargain break but this level of quality and service does not come cheap, looking forward to going back next year.

Room Tip: Rooms on the top floor have amazing views and are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dorsetdriller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
west country
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2012

Didn't actually stay at the hotel, although it does look quite nice. We booked and then cancelled, before I had seen all the booking correspondence, so had not seen that they have a 21 day cancellation policy! This in my opinion is excessive most hotels only demand 24 hours. When booking, we were told that the restaurant was fully booked, very disappointing considering that was the reason for going. Surely hotel residents should have priority. May or may not try again in the future, but there are plenty of other Michelin restaurants around.

Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank travelbugWestCountry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, UK
Level Contributor
123 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2012

The St Enadoc has two good tricks and the ace of spades, when playing against rival hotels.

The location is glorious, overlooking the Camel Estuary, so that one wakes up to a fine view of sand, sea, boats and – if lucky – blue sky. Secondly, the food is outstanding. The resident chef, Mr. Nathan Outlaw, receives star billing in pretty much everything to do with the hotel. Whether this is an attempt to trump Rick Stein of Padstow (‘Padstein’ to a disgruntled local) across the bay, I cannot say. However, Outlaw and his team can cook. We ate at the Grill rather than the ‘posh’ restaurant, because your reviewer has never finished a ‘tasting menu’ without a deep consciousness of misplaced effort in the kitchen. Dinner was fish soup, sea bass and ray’s wing, all perfectly executed. The breakfasts were up to the same high standard. To get the morning scrambled egg cooked to ‘dinner’ level is quite something.

The ace, in my pack, is the pervading atmosphere of peace and calm. There was almost no noise, although the hotel was about three-quarters full, Calm does not manifest itself in hotels unless the staff are working well, and happy in their work. They are quiet, affable, professional and proactive.

The lounges, grill room and terrace all face out to the garden, a pleasure in itself. There is a sauna and a small outdoor swimming pool.

Our room was furnished with (cliché warning!) elegant simplicity. The bed was the most comfortable I’ve enjoyed for ages. One would have liked a blind that excluded more light and a bidet in the otherwise excellent bathroom.

If the rest of life had so little downside, how happy we would be. Strongly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TarquinJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northumberland
Level Contributor
42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2012

We decided to go here for lunch after looking on Tripadvisor and checking that they had an all day menu. Arriving about 2.30 assuming the lunch time rush would over we were met by a very disinterested lady at the desk who informed us they were too busy to serve us. After noticing our reaction she said she could go and ask the chef if he would make us a sandwich but couldn't be sure !! The place wasn't exactly jumping. Very disappointing. What a welcome !

Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Seasonedraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2012

Booked at the last minute we didnt know much about this hotel. As we came up the drive we were a little nervous as it looks quite old fashioned but the phrase dont judge a book by its cover certainly applies. This hotel is gorgeous feels 5 star from furnishing, grounds, food and the service is incredible. The heated pool was a welcome surprise and the short walk to Rock and its beach was a definate bonus. It felt 5 star but definately not 5 star prices so all in all a great place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SMHasson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2012

Returning to St Enodoc we found the hotel as lovely as ever, friendly staff, beautifully clean room and super breakfast. The location speaks for itself - clear and unspoiled and just a short ferry ride from bustling Padstow. Shame that its getting more popular and some guests were a touch louder than we had previously noticed but thats not the hotel's fault:)

Room Tip: Ask staff to recommend depending on your needs - there's lots to choose from
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nellieontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rock
1.5 mi away
St. Moritz Hotel
St. Moritz Hotel
#1 of 4 in Wadebridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 908 reviews
1.0 mi away
Metropole Hotel
Metropole Hotel
#4 of 8 in Padstow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,379 reviews
4.4 mi away
Treglos Hotel
Treglos Hotel
#1 of 1 in Constantine Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.1 mi away
The Old Quay House Hotel
11.8 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
4.1 mi away
The Longcross Hotel & Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The St Enodoc Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The St Enodoc Hotel

Property: The St Enodoc Hotel
Address: Rock PL27 6LA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Rock
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The St Enodoc Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A classic seaside hotel re-invented. That's the ethos behind St. Enodoc Hotel in Rock with its emphasis on comfort, design and great food. Positioned above the Camel estuary with sweeping views across the water, it is the perfect place to relax by the sea. Leave the car and walk the few minutes to surrounding sandy beaches and the foot-ferry to Padstow. With an endless supply of quality produce in the local area, former Masterchef winner James Nathan and his team will be focusing on fresh, healthy, modern European recipes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and LateRooms so you can book your The St Enodoc Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Enodoc Hotel
The St Enodoc Hotel Rock, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing