We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ate at the bistro/grill”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The St Enodoc Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rock
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 July 2013

A more casual experience than the restaurant as we went over on the ferry from Padstow.
Very easy walk up the hill to the hotel.
We had the set menu, excellent value for £45 each 3 courses, included a glass of Champagne.
Good wine list to choose from and some good quality.
We viewed a sea view room for future possible stay, large and bright, would be good for family as large extra bedroom for children in suite.
Swimming pool looked inviting.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Carol-and-Pete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (377)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

239 - 245 of 377 reviews

Reviewed 29 June 2013 via mobile

For the second year running we stayed at The St Enodoc and could not find fault. The location is ideal close for easy access but secluded enough to feel that bit special. All the staff made you feel that they were enjoying their work at making you welcome.

The hotel is run as two businesses, 1 the hotel accomodation and 2 the catering. Both sets of staff work their socks off in producing top quality service.

There are two restaurants, one is the fantastic 2 star Michelin Nathan Outlaw fine dining. The other is Outlaws al a carte seafood and grill. We were not disappointed in either. The quality and quantity were just right. After a week of eating at most of the top quality food establishments in the area I would not hesitate to recommend both restaurants to you.

Another great stay at a great place.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BumpAndMd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2013

We had a lovely room overlooking the Camel estuary and watched the cows on the opposite hill going for milking. Staff were all very pleasant and helpful. Breakfast specials were good and the porridge with clotted cream was amazing. Easy walk to the ferry across to Padstow.

Room Tip: It is worth paying the extra for a room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pewe51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2013

My partner and I stayed 2 nights in this hotel. It is best described as a 'Boutique' hotel because it has some great features such as its location and good staff and pleasant rooms, but the estuary view room I stayed in was tiny for modern hotel rooms and access for some elderly could be an issue - the car park is some way away frrom the hotel and the rear entrance can involve climbing 3 flights of stairs to your room.
Grafted into the hotel and integral with it are 2 Nathan Outlaw restaurants. One a brasserie type and the other a 'fine dining' . The food was excellent in both. Unfortunately I found that the food in the fine dining restaurant was overshadowed to an extent by the wine and the Sommelier, who seemed to make a production of delivering the wine flight with the tasting menu, but this was a small part of a great experience

Room Tip: Get a room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank disappointed186277
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

I had read the reviews of the Seafood and Grill with interest prior to my booking at the Seafood and Grill and I have to say I was very disappointed. Although the restaurant is lovely and the views gorgeous and the service second to none its such a shame the food was such a let down. Not in terms of quality but in quantity. When people are paying over £80 per head I would expect to feel satisfied after dinner but alas no. Its fortunate that the owner of the restaurant is called Outlaw as that is just how I felt, robbed. Having experienced similar restaurants in the area (including the well known ones in Padstow) I cannot see how in today's world of value for money people can get away with charging the outrageous prices that the Seafood and Grill currently do. Take my advice by all means enjoy the view and have a drink on the terrace and then take the ferry across the river and have the same meal for half the price but with twice the post meal satisfaction.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Dave_6x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2013 via mobile

A smart hotel with comfortable rooms and very helpful staff, particularly on reception. A great location and some lovely little touches. My only quibble was that the breakfast pastries turned out to be cake - I don't do cake at breakfast!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Katethevet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2013

We have just spent one night in a family suite. The room layout was great, walking into a hallway with a bedroom off both sides, assuring my husband and I some privacy. The beds are wonderfully comfortable with soft sheets, a bed you want to stay in. The room is very nice, not the most stylish I have stayed in, but spotlessly clean and well furnished. Besides the food, which was superb in the restaurant, what stands out is the level of service. All the staff were so accommodating, so friendly, and attentive without being intrusive. It is quite a small hotel with a real personal touch, and I look forward to returning.

Room Tip: Got to go for a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank plum1568
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rock
1.5 mi away
St. Moritz Hotel
St. Moritz Hotel
#1 of 4 in Wadebridge
990 reviews
1 mi away
Metropole Hotel
Metropole Hotel
#4 of 8 in Padstow
1,557 reviews
11.8 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
The Longcross Hotel & Gardens
4.4 mi away
Treglos Hotel
Treglos Hotel
#1 of 1 in Constantine Bay
417 reviews
16.5 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
1,643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The St Enodoc Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The St Enodoc Hotel

Address: Rock PL27 6LA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Rock
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rock
Price Range: £121 - £256 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The St Enodoc Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A classic seaside hotel re-invented. That's the ethos behind St. Enodoc Hotel in Rock with its emphasis on comfort, design and great food. Positioned above the Camel estuary with sweeping views across the water, it is the perfect place to relax by the sea. Leave the car and walk the few minutes to surrounding sandy beaches and the foot-ferry to Padstow. With an endless supply of quality produce in the local area, former Masterchef winner James Nathan and his team will be focusing on fresh, healthy, modern European recipes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your The St Enodoc Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Enodoc Hotel
The St Enodoc Hotel Rock, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing