We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (414)
Filter reviews
414 results
Traveller rating
288
98
17
8
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
288
98
17
8
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnathan outlawlovely hotelsnooker tableshower over the bathmackerelgames roomthree nightsport isaacboutique hotelpublic areasoutdoor poollovely roomsuperior roomcooked to perfectionnothing is too much troublecornwallpolzeath
Filter
Updating list...
26 - 31 of 414 reviews
Reviewed 4 May 2018

Stayed here for a week and did not want to leave. Clean, comfortable room with a sea view, attentive staff, wonderful breakfasts and dinner in the restaurant and comfy chairs and a log fire to sit and read by in the lounge. A very pleasant and relaxing stay. Great location for touring this part of Cornwall by car or on foot and away from the crowds in Padstow. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank edm1887
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2018

Stayed here for two nights as we preferred Rock to Padstow. The hotel is located very close to the Rock Ferry which takes you to Padstow. Very well appointed public areas, relaxing lounge and fire with drinks service. We found the garden view room spotlessly clean with everything you could need but a little on the small side. If we needed to open our case fully, the only space big enough was on the bed. For a hotel in this price range no toiletries was a surprise. Shower gel should be available as a matter of course even in the most basic of hotels. The people working in the hotel were superb. Genuinely lovely, always greeted us with a smile and extremely helpful - including offering to change our restaurant reservation time at the Seafood Restaurant in Padstow and printing off our airline boarding passes. Breakfast and drinks staff equally happy to help and accommodating. Lovely terrace outside - imagine this is amazing in summer. Recommend this lovely hotel.

Stayed: April 2018
Thank MrsRLW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2018

Stayed overnight With friends, this hotel was the prefect place for us to have a catch up, we made good use of the lounge area enjoying some lovely Prosecco or two accompany by an extremely good Cream tea, all of us were impressed by the Hotel which was spotless clean, our room like the rest of the hotel was tastefully decorated and well equipped with an amazing view over the estuary, the restaurant food was super good, the service was relaxed and faultless, breakfast was lovely with cooked order hot food and great choice off cereals ,fruits ,croissant's and juices all of the staff were happy and helpful.
I highly recommend this Hotel

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with friends
Thank MrsDavies-ontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2018

we stayed here for two nights in a Superior Room. The check in was fast the receptionist was very nice showed us around etc . The room was fairly spacious very clean bed was comfortable & a great view over the Camel Estuary toward Padstow.
The hotel was not to badly situated as you could get a Ferry from Rock to Padstow & the ferry is a 10 min walk from the hotel.
The staff were on the whole very good chatty & polite .
Breakfast was served from 8am till 10 am we were the first to arrive each morning. We both chose the Full Cornish breakfast on the first morning & it was fairly nice. I say fairly as the breakfast was a bit dry the bacon & sausage was a bit shriveled & dry but we did not say nothing on the whole the service was good that first morning.
The second morning we were again first to eat as we were there at 8am. This time my wife went for the kippers & i chose the Cornish full English again. My breakfast arrived the sausage was dry & shriveled the bacon was cooked to a its death burnt hard dry as was the mushrooms they were burnt !!!!. I had to say to the waitress that it was not acceptable , she replied "ill tell the chef " she then left & came back with two rashers of bacon a bit later!! i said you need to change all the plate as the mushrooms were burnt the sausage cooked to the point of being dried out. She took the plate away NO Apology nothing. After ten minutes a new breakfast arrived this time it was fine . The bacon had just been cooked as had the sausage .They must cook the sausages & bacon & keep them warm i think as we were first at breakfast both mornings & the bacon & sausage looked like it had been cooked hours ago.
This was the only thing that we could say was not GOOD the rest of our stay was excellent.....(Cook your bacon & sausages to order it tastes & looks so much better!!)

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank marksgd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2018

Great welcome by professional staff - brilliant location and views, lovely clean and modern lounge, bar and rooms following a very comprehensive, recent refurbishment. Also a great breakfast, with almost entirely local ingredients (including some fantastic hogs pudding) served by cheery, professional and efficient staff.

Our sizeable room with an almost floor to ceiling river /estuary view (116) overlooked the front terrace and with windows open and customers enjoying drinks, prevented a peaceful siesta! It was also exceptionally warm, even after both radiators had been turned off and did not enjoy the comforts of A/C. Staff very kindly provided a fan overnight but as we did not want to open the windows and chance midges, we had a rather broken and restless sleep.

Our son's room was a similar size to the west side, did enjoyed A/C so he enjoyed a much better nights sleep.

Room Tip: Estuary view but away from the terrace and outside swimming pool
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank RR_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews