We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stuff”
Review of Driftwood Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Driftwood Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Rosevine
Certificate of Excellence
England
Level Contributor
61 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Great stuff”
Reviewed 29 July 2013

The owner was 'dining in' with some friends last night... and the discussion subject as I walked past was TripAdvisor, although I don't think that Driftwood has anything to worry about. It's a very well run and friendly place. Guests range from pale city types to honeymooners to home counties poshies. Morning newspaper count was around 50% Times, 45% Telegraph with a few Daily Mail sorts and one rather forlorn Daily Express.

For real people, Driftwood is a relatively expensive proposition, but only superficially. It's very good value and actually I'd rather stay here for 3 nights than most other places for a week.

The restaurant has a Michelin award and really is terrific. The novelty of eating food of that standard and sublety with a sea view hasn't worn off yet.

There's a wildflower garden with bees, to sit in, a very restful experience.

Room Tip: You get what you pay for. Don't fear the room with no sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scrittib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

462 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    393
    54
    10
    5
    0
See reviews for
54
312
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
68 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2013

This was our fourth visit to Driftwood in two years. It is somewhere to go for that special treat. Everything about this hotel is perfect. The staff are friendly and attentive, without invading your space. The bedrooms are all different, but so far, all those we have stayed in have been very comfortable and have all had great views of the sea. The decor in all of the public rooms has been tastefully chosen. The restaurant provides truly magnificent food, with good and varied choices. The hardest thing is trying to choose what to have as all the dishes sound delicious.
If the weather is good, there are plenty of comfortable chairs and loungers around the grounds to relax and enjoy the views and if it is not, you can view the dramatic weather from the public rooms. The Driftwood is a real gem.

Room Tip: Always choose a room with a view of the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank canneb3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013 via mobile

We loved this little hidden treasure on the coast of Rosevine, run by Paul and Fiona.
From the arrival, till departure, it was great.
The food is truly magnificent, with unexpected but delicious dishes on the menu.
Try the potatoe risotto with truffle, and the smoked haddock with poached egg for breakfast.
You can definetly taste all the quality and pureness of all the ingredients.
Complement that with the staff, who are friendly and have knowledge about their food, and it couldn't be more perfect.

The room was cosy and had a great bed, and was overlooking the ocean....
There are great spots indoors and outdoors, to relax with a magazine or play a board game or DVDs provided by the hotel.
And when going to the beach, there are games and toys to borrow.
You can also get a picnic hamper with lunch, to take with you when going on a little adventure.

After being spoiled here for 3 days, it was time to go.
We want to thank Paul and Fiona and the staff for our great stay, and we definetly want to come back, to this lovely hotel.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank melanie s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2013

Spent 2 nights at Driftwood last weekend and stayed in room 6 which was a lovely double with coastal view. After reading all the good TA reports we arrived with high expectations and were not disappointed in any respect. This place is a true haven consisting of superb accommodation , amiable staff , great food and a wonderful tranquil location in a beautiful part of the county.

Relaxation comes naturally given the location and the current British summer weather afforded the luxury of breakfasting outdoors which was a real treat. The nearest beach is a 5 minute downhill walk from the hotel gardens and a 10-15 minute walk down the road is Porthcurnick beach with its famous hidden hut cafe. Slightly further is Portscatho which is a typical charming Cornish seaside village.

We did not want to leave and will be returning to Driftwood as we wouldn't wish to stay elsewhere on the Roseland Peninsula after this experience.

Room Tip: Room 6 : advertised on the website as a small twin but is in fact a double. Not terribly small eithe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank b737
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2013

With a few disappointing visits to highly rated restaurants in the area I booked a table at the Driftwood with a hopeful mind. At last! From start to finish the evening was superb. From walking in the door the service was immaculate and continued throughout the evening. They were always attentive, very polite, very knowledgeable about the dishes and not in the least bit imposing. The food was more than worthy of the Michelin star it richly deserved. The chef, a local lad who proudly champions the local produce, played a blinder by preparing dishes that were modern, very creative, incredibly tasty and most surprising, quite generous. Besides the three courses we ordered, we happily received complimentary canapes with our pre dinner drinks, amuse bouche and pre dessert. If I had to admit anything that wasn’t perfect, I’d have to say the time it took to show us to the table was much longer than expected but they were rapidly forgiven. It wasn’t particularly inexpensive at a shade under £170 for two including wine but considering the location, service and quality of food, I’d say it would be hard to beat for value anywhere in Cornwall.

Room Tip: Beg for a window seat - the views are stunning
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Earthstrider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tavistock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2013

An absolute gem of a place. Friendly unpretentitious staff who know when to give you space. Beautiful setting with an almost deserted beach on what was the hottest day of the year. And the food well...... Simply divine.
Will be going back asap

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank freddietessa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire, England
Level Contributor
283 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013 via mobile

Travel down narrow cornish lanes to Driftwood. New England style hotel overlooking an expanse of sea with a path down to a lovely beach. The attention to detail by the owners and staff is superb. Breakfasts are excellent, the Eggs Beneditct, home made toasted granola and full english all use local products and are prepared to perfection. The evening meal again shows the high standards and knowledge of how to combine what is fresh and seasonal. We stayed in room 10 which was very comfortable with a large bed and sea views. The room was kept immaculate by the cleaning staff who together with the staff in the restaurant do a superb job. Overall this is a hotel that we feel at home in and look forward to returning next year.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JayneHTB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rosevine
5.1 mi away
The Oceanic Hotel
The Oceanic Hotel
#1 of 24 in Falmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Idle Rocks
The Idle Rocks
#2 of 5 in St Mawes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
16.7 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Rosevine
The Rosevine
#2 of 2 in Rosevine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Lugger Hotel
The Lugger Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portloe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 856 reviews
23.3 mi away
Talland Bay Hotel
Talland Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Porthallow
5.0 of 5 bubbles 821 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Driftwood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Driftwood Hotel

Property: Driftwood Hotel
Address: Rosevine | Near Portscatho, Rosevine TR2 5EW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Rosevine
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Rosevine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Driftwood Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine your perfect holiday - a stylish, privately run Cornish Beach House Hotel, overlooking the stunning Gerrans Bay, near the pretty village of Portscatho, near St Mawes South Cornwall. Driftwood is like no other boutique hotel in Cornwall. Driftwood has the friendly informal service, a michelin star restaurant, and the efficiency you would expect. Where else can you walk down a wooded path, to your own beach and cove? Where else can you lie back on a steamer chair, with a glass of wine, and enjoy an unbroken sea view. Where else can you eat the best, locally sourced food, perhaps lobster caught that morning, or crab from the bay? Whoever you are or whatever your looking for, whether that be a family holiday, a boutique or romantic hotel in Cornwall, Driftwood is perfect for all your needs. At Driftwood, families can be as well looked after as romantic couples or small groups of grown-ups. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, MrandMrsSmith, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Driftwood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Driftwood Hotel Rosevine, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing